We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it.”
Review of Nutcracker Museum

Nutcracker Museum
Ranked #1 of 26 Shopping in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Displaying over 6000 nutcrackers, the Nutcracker Museum is a unique experience for visitors. People have come from all over the world specifically to view this unique collection. You’ll find nutcrackers from Roman times to modern day and nutting stones from the Archaic period. Students will enjoy a “nutcracker hunt”, our version of a scavenger hunt!
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth it.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We started with the 14-minute video & then looked around at the zillions of nutcrackers. Very interesting! Something for everyone there, because there are nutcrackers emulating all sorts of people, from presidents & inventors to Star Wars characters.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ACG0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    69
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We walked past the museum on a recent visit to Leavenworth and since it was open, decided to give it a look. For the cost - $2.50/adult, $1/child it was a fun and different activity. We watched the 15 minute video (recommended) and learned a lot about the history and making of nutcrackers. I had no idea how many different types there were. The museum houses thousands, all neatly organized and labeled behind glass cases. My teenagers even found it somewhat interesting which is high praise coming from them. The museum offers some nutcrackers for sale too so check it out if you are in the market for a nutcracker.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuchibeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marksville, LA
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not my thing”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Maybe this was something that interested someone else....but not my thing....felt like I had stepped back in time and the admission price was way above what it should be. Not impressed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank merrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nutcrackers galore, a fun stop”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I agree that this is a must-see attraction in Leavenworth. First, you must see the film. Notice that the lady behind the cash register is the one who made it all happen. There are ROOMS and ROOMS of nutcrackers. Just when you think that you've seen everything. There is more. Don't miss the numerous historic nutcrackers from ancient times. We thought that it was fun! OK, it is probably not for everyone, but we loved this museum! Although it was just the two of us, we had a great time. If you have young children, I think that they would like this museum too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just go into the shop next door. It isn't worth the admission price. Although military gets in for free, so it would be a way to warm up and pass some time for free while waiting for the lighting ceremony to begin.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nutcracker Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nutcracker Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing