We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Many Nutcrackers”
Review of Nutcracker Museum

Nutcracker Museum
Ranked #5 of 46 things to do in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So Many Nutcrackers”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This museum is well worth a visit. The number and variety of nutcrackers is astounding. The museum even has some very valuable antique nutcrackers. There is a short video which explains the history of nutcrackers. I very much enjoyed my visit to this musuem and I not even partial to nutcrackers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraMD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    67
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great video”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I happen to love nutcrackers, so I enjoyed the museum, my sister was bored. The price is right and the lady who ran the museum was friendly. Probably not for every one.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NancyCooperCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
771 reviews
344 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Worth the visit - vast display”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went with the family and thought it a little touristy but they wanted to go in. I left amazed at the quantity, quality and variety of the display. They had a lot of the standard nutcrackers which I expected, but some of the old mechanical or hand carved ones really made it worth the visit for me. Sure fits in with the Bavarian theme of the town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jotum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“interesting experience”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is something different to enjoy in Leavenworth from the shops and parks. You can see a video at the beginning that talks about the history of nutcrackers; photography is prohibited except with 2 of the giant super-cool nutcrackers they have on display (Karl and Mouse King)
Ticket costs $2.50.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ranajoysanyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More to see that you would imagine”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This attraction really lives up to its name. I didn't think that there could be thousands of nutcrackers in this small museum, but I was proven wrong! Nutcrackers of different designs are displayed, from centuries past, from every continent, from renown craftsmen and from private collections. It is well worth the trip for craftsmen, woodworkers and art aficionados as well.

I have no photos to share, because photography is prohibited.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nutcracker Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nutcracker Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing