We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for shopping and enjoying the town”
Review of Hotel Pension Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pension Anna
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed at the Pension Anna after Christmas as a side trip from the Seattle area. We were traveling with our grown kids and baby granddaughter. I choose this B&B because of its proximity to the shopping area and restaurants. I wanted to be able to walk only a short distance in the snow with the baby, we stayed one night. It ended up being the perfect location. The owners are extremely personable and hospitable. If you are looking for a small, quaint inn with great service, this is it. You can park right outside your room. The rooms we had were immaculate. The only negatives were that we were on the first floor and being so close in town there was some street noise. Also, the heating system cycles on and off, I used ear plugs and it was OK. I would definitley choose to go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to reach out. Yes, we are situated in a great spot for enjoying Leavenworth. the whole village is at your feet. Our sincere Thank You for joining us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Pension Anna last week, we were offered a suite in a restored church, which was absolutely amazing, the whole hotel is beautifully furnished with authentic austrian or bavarian furniture, the staff are the most corteous, helpful, kind and just wonderful people. We wished we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was served in one of the most beautifully appointed rooms I've ever seen in a hotel. Just a magical experience, as Leavenworth itself is purely gorgeous in the winter, especially around Christmas. Unbelievable treat, I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Leavenworth, even if it's just for one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

It was all our pleasure. This took time as I lost sight of the dates.
Thank you so much for joining us and we are so very pleased we met your expectatons.
Than truly makes our day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days in Leavenworth just prior to Christmas. After reading the many glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, we selected Hotel Pension Anna and the Herzog Suite for our holiday stay. The town looked magical and Alpine with the the thousands of twinkling holiday lights, majestic setting, and over two feet of snow that had recently fallen.

We had a fantastic time while guests at Hotel Pension Anna, exceeding every high expectation.
The owners, Gary and Michele, and the various staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. We found their personal attention outstanding. For example, Gary and Michele visit with each of their guests in the Breakfast Room, which gives you a happy start to the day's activities. Highway 2 was closed between Leavenworth and Steven's Pass the day of our departure, and Gary was monitoring the situation every 10 minutes, which allowed us to plan for an alternate route home.

Pension Anna is a very appealing hotel, spotless and furnished with lovely Bavarian and Austrian furniture and decor. It was beautifully decorated throughout for the holidays, with loving attention to detail. There is also ample and secure on-site parking.

We stayed in the spacious Herzog Suite, with its comfortable bed, attractive furnishings, jacuzzi, fireplace, and two private and covered balconies. We couldn't have been happier with our choice.

The German-style breakfast was delicious and filling, as well, with a wide variety of food choices and excellent hot coffee and tea.

The location of Hotel Pension Anna is great. It is on the quieter Markt Strasse, but only a short walk to everything along the more bustling Front Street and, in the opposite direction, the quieter charms of Riverfront Park.

We will look forward to our next visit to Leavenworth to enjoy its Alpine ambiance and activities,
and will definitely stay at Hotel Pension Anna again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDMWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review-- most importantly, we are thrilled we met your expetations.
We and our sataff are always striving to make a visit memorable and we look forward to your next visit.
Thank you and until we meet again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Recently visited my son in Seattle area for the holidays and took a side trip to Leavenworth to experience this quaint little town during the Christmas season. My husband and I were in Leavenworth for a day, a few years ago during the summer months, and thought it was such a cute place. So glad we were able to come back and revisit during the winter and experience the snow and all the beautiful Christmas decorations in town. This time we were able to stay for a night. So glad my son booked the Hotel Pension Anna for us. It is such a delightful place to stay. It felt very festive and cozy with all the Bavarian decor and the seasonal Christmas decorations throughout the inn. They even had garland and bulbs in our room. We stayed in the Stubaital room which was comfy. The breakfast was very filling with the German cheeses, meats, breads, fruit and cereal. Also, enjoyed having the softboiled eggs. It's been years since I have had those. Loved how they decorated them with Santa hats! They even gave us some tips on how to cook the eggs so they come out perfect. We met Gary, the owner, during breakfast and he was very gracious and kind to us and all the guests in the breakfast room. The Hotel Pension Anna helped make our visit to Leavenworth very pleasurable. Hope to visit another time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

We appreciate your staying with us and our staff, It always makes our day when we are able to present a setting in which you enjoy what we and Leavenworth have to offer.
Thank you!
Until we meet again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed off the beaten path in the red feather lodge but not far from town. It was the last room they had available. They had me follow them in our car to the lodge. Later, our car got stuck in the snow and the owner helped us get unstuck and find a parking spot that was more workable for us. They gave us useful instructions on how to get to the sleigh rides. Somehow my husband got food poisoning, not due to them, and they let us check out late, as he was pretty sick. The lodge was very nicely heated and the bed was comfortable, which was very important in the middle of the winter. We got some nice photos of the area and we had a lot of privacy, which was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Oh! Thank you. And yes, the Red Feather is special. So glad you chose to stay with us and had a great experience. The view from there is terrific and the peace and quiet in the country is always nice. Teh road was pretty slick but you two were great.
Thanks for choosing us and
UIntil next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Another stay at a wonderful Bavarian style Pension. Traditional bed covers and decor. The breakfast room is a delight with a typical European breakfast. Michelle and Gary are truly gracious hosts and are eager to help you enjoy your stay at their hotel and the town of Leavenworth.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

As always, thank you for joining us we appreciate your kind input. We are so fortunate to have a base of such wonderful and appreciative guest. Thanks for joining us and
Until next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I would not recommend staying in this space. This is actually not a "lodge" but a bottom floor in-law apartment in the owners' personal home (the whole of which is pictured in the exterior shot). The owner allows their large dog to urinate in the walkway in front of the door leading into the space making it less than charming when you are picking your way through the snow in and out of the front door. In addition, it does not receive the same quality care as the Hotel Pension Anna must given the reviews. We found a half eaten bag of pork rinds in a drawer, burnt out light bulbs (never did fix the one in the shower), an unplugged bedside lamp, balled up blankets shoved beside the fireplace, and were missing a pillow case. The second day, the garbage was not removed. We paid approximately $1200 with taxes, etc. for three days. It wasn't worth it given the above issues. I agree that the owners are very nice, but I would recommend staying in the main hotel, which must be great given the reviews.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel if at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exp T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

It certainly appears we blew it! We are so sorry that you not did have the best of experiences in one of our very favorite places. We appreciate your input and we have reviewed with the appropriate staff members all of your concerns. Thank you!
We hope yoiu will join us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Suites at The Icicle Village Resort
0.4 mi away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#3 of 19 in Leavenworth
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Anna

Address: 926 Commercial St (Markt Strasse), Leavenworth, WA 98826-1478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range: £157 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the most authentic and unique Bavarian Pension in Leavenworth with the only true German breakfast in the village. From decor, to comfort, to service, experience Germany without the airfare or a passport. Our goal is that every guest leaves having had a unique experience and a "taste of Germany" --- without the need of a passport.We also market our sister property--Pension Mischi--across the street.These are some of the very finest suites in our village and include a Bavarian breakfast at Pension Anna.Owners live on-site and offer 24 hour availablity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing