We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts in a splendid setting”
Review of Hotel Pension Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pension Anna
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Not only is the pension picturesque and luxurious, but the hosts and employees are as charming, professional, and helpful as I have ever encountered. Our suite was an absolute fairy tale dream, and the Bavarian breakfast was elegant and diverse, with very personal attention. The "egg cozies" were a family favorite! I must mention that the free parking in the middle of this crowded town was a significant benefit, especially considering the easy walking distance from every place we wanted to go. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneofBurien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for joining us. We are greatful you chose us and had a good experience with us. Our goal is have each stay as good as we can make it for you. Thank you for choosing us and when you come back--the eggs will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pension Anna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

We selected Gary and Michele's cozy 'pension' for a few nights in Leavenworth before Xmas, to get us in the mood for the festive season.

We weren't disappointed - the pine clad room, the traditional breakfast and the 3 feet of fresh snow made for a wonderful experience. The hosts and all their staff made us feel like guests in their home, and were never too busy to chat or to offer ideas for things to do.

The room was comfortable, homely and welcoming and was very close to the real thing, as I have stayed in Bavaria a number of times.

Already are looking forward to staying again this coming Christmas. Would thoroughly recommend Pension Anna to anyone asking! It is the place to stay when visiting the quaint village of Leavenworth.

PS - Michele makes a mean boiled egg, and Gary's legs look great in leiderhosen ;o)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for your comments. We feel when you live in paraidse it always easy and exciting to share with our many fine guests. Thanks for joining and us and until next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This review for our November stay comes a bit late, but is no less heart-felt. This is now a family favorite that was first experienced by my Daughter [born and lived 14 years in Germany] and our Son Inlaw. Based on her wonderful review, we visited and now consider ourselves to be part of the Pension Anna family. Not only is Leavenworth the best of the Bavarian like towns in the USA, Pension Anna is the best of the best. I noticed a review that stated, in a seemily negative way, that it was more like a Bed and Breakfast. We have lived in Germany for 12 years and found small hotels with a Bed and Breakfast environment to be traditional and the best. We found that warm experience and more with Gary and Michele. They were terrific hosts and enjoyed making our experience reminent of our most wonderful German and Bavarian experiences. We also met a couple during their very traditional German breakfast, who we enjoyed a wondering evening out with. PS: All this and we had a very wonderful romantic suite and stay. I rated the Swimming Pool Excellent, because of the wonderful room Jacuzzi [and fireplace (:>)] and the Restaurant Excellent, because of the very traditional German Breakfast Room and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gentlehorseworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

We are so glad you enoyed our mountain village. We have so much to offer and when folks have a good time,,, well, it makes our day!!
Thanks for staying with us and
until next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Pension Anna was our destination for 1/11/13-1/13/13 and it was not our first stay!
We came back to enjoy the incredible warm hospitality an romantic atmosphere that Gary and Michele Thebault provide every guest...every day! They must be the ultimate Innkeepers who have the energy and care to spare and grant to all who stay in their beautiful, well-appointed pension. We always feel we are in a dream, magically transported to some alpine Bavarian spa complete with down comforters and sparkling clean rooms and breakfast hall. Gary in his Liederhosen and Michele in her Dierdel (sorry about the spelling!) attend each and every guest at breakfast complete with offering a boiled egg with each European style meal. Lots of hot coffee continually refreshed make the morning an event not to be missed! We went back and most guests we met had done that at least several times. That repeat business tells the whole story. Don't wait to book this experience soon!
Bill and Mary Ann

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thaks for takinbg the time to stay with us and experience the village. We feel there is so much to offer and we are thrilled you chose us to do so.
Thanks for joining us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Pension Anna the second weekend of December 2012. We were in the Alte Kapelle - Old Chapel Suite, a 100-year-old church that the owners moved to the property. The room was wonderful and was decorated for Christmas, including a tree. The best part of the room was the large jacuzzi, plenty big enough for two people. We used the jacuzzi every night and was perfect after being out in the cold and snow. The location of Hotel Pension Anna was perfect for us. We didn't need to use our car at all. Everything was within walking distance.

Eat at the Fresh Burger Cafe. It's across the street just a little to the right. The Buttermilk Fried Chicken Salad was delicious!

Room Tip: Room is ideal for 4 people. There are two twin beds upstairs, downstairs has a king bed in a separat...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is our second stay at this wonderful hotel and it did not disappoint. We've noticed that often the second stay at a place isn't nearly as good as the first. They seem to drop the ball when you are a returning guest. Not at this place! The breakfast was just as wonderful as ever. The owners are very personable and very nice. They will go out of their way to treat you like a valued wanted guest.
One warning. The TV's are still the smallest I've ever had in a hotel. If you like settling down to watch some TV after a long and tiring adventure in town, you might be slightly disappointed!
Looking forward to our third stay next lighting festival and looking forward to a different suite the next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the Hertzog gives you TWO covered private balconies. If you are going when...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheREALgregma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Alwasy our pleasure to see you back. WE truly strive to give each guest the full measure and then we are the ones who gain in memorable encounters. We thank you for making us your home will in our village-- come aback and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Just simply the best:) Perfect & warm service, authentic Austrian/German atmosphere and Great people! Highly recommend! There are cheaper places available in town, but in most cases you get what you pay for...here everything was included: private parking, High Speed internet, Awesome traditional Breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Christmas in Leavenworth is always a true delight. Goodness ,we live here and we relish each day. Of course, we also have the benefit of great guests such as you to make it even better.
Thanks for joining us and until next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,951 reviews
0.0 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,936 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#4 of 19 in Leavenworth
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 19 in Leavenworth
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Anna

Address: 926 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range: £145 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the most authentic and unique Bavarian Pension in Leavenworth with the only true German breakfast in the village. From decor, to comfort, to service, experience Germany without the airfare or a passport. Our goal is that every guest leaves having had a unique experience and a "taste of Germany" --- without the need of a passport.We also market our sister property--Pension Mischi--across the street.These are some of the very finest suites in our village and include a Bavarian breakfast at Pension Anna.Owners live on-site and offer 24 hour availablity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing