We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ahhh, to be a kid again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leavenworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Home Lodge
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My husband and some friend of ours spent the New Years up at the lodge. What a great time. You are taken up on a snow cat as there is a lot of snow at that time of year. The rooms are cozy, the food is excellent and plenty of it. We enjoyed the snow shoeing with some spectacular views, eating a great lunch and then out to the sled hill for lots of laughter. It is by far the best sled hill, and they even tow you back up the hill on the back of the snow mobil. Our friend and my husband and I laughed so much on this trip. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend New Years Eve, I would highly recommend this. The staff is warm, friendly and have a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mountain Home Lodge for a weekend in January, with another couple. The Lodge was everything we hoped for and more. Food was fantastic. Service couldn't have been friendlier or more comprehensive. The facilities (hot tub, snowshoe equipment, sled tubes) that we used were first-rate, and the hosts ever so helpful when it came to selecting the right snowshoe adventure for us. We had such a good time, we've already booked a weekend for next year (with an extra night so we can relax more!) The only thing i'd improve on would be to get a more comfortable mattress--the one we had was very firm. That's probably just a personal preference. When we came back to civilization on Sunday, i felt like we'd been away for a week rather than just 2 days. The remoteness is wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekend_Adventurer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

There must be compelling reasons that we have been drawn to return to Mt. Home Lodge nearly every year for the last ten winters.  Is it the warm, quiet, delightfully appointed lodge?  The stunning view from bed (or the dining room) of the valley and surrounding mountains that continuously refreshs & seemingly reinvents itself between blinks? The wonderfully hearty Breakfast?  Is it the ridgeline snowshoe treks?  The ambiance?  The friendly caring hosts and unobtrusive service?  That ripping sledding hill that beckons after Lunch?  R&R with a lazy read, board game, fireplace, or hot tub?  The wonderful hors d’œuvres and chef’s dinner each evening?  Is it the sense that we’ve arrived someplace that is completely AWAY?  
Of course it’s the sum total of ALL of these elements. Our cares are in another universe as we relax, play, recreate, dine.  In winter, the three wonderful meals are the “given;” it’s our small task to decide our level of activity. 
(Due to the driving distance to Leavenworth, for us a four night stay makes the perfect escape.  We had a great time hiking one summer, but snowshoeing directly out the back door makes winter our favorite. Techno notes:  The WiFi, if you must connect, is fast.  The CD player in the room has iPOD plugs.)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caspmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I heard about Mountainhome lodge 20 years ago from a co-worker. He raved about the lodge and I knew in my heart that someday we would be able to enjoy this piece of heaven on earth. I'm only sad that it took 20 years for us to make it, but we've already made our reservations for next January! This time we've invited friends to join us. The intimate setting and amazing atmosphere are one of a kind, not to mention the food! Our hosts were incredible and made it feel like we were visiting friends instead of "renting a room." We loved the snowshoeing and the sledding activities, but really just enjoyed the tranquil beauty of the lodge and the surrounding snowy mountains. What a magical winter wonderland! Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

My wife first discovered Mountain Home Lodge while working as a travel agent. Since then, we have visited MHL annually for more than 20 years, most often in winter, but also in the other three seasons. Of course we enjoy all the lodge amenities - massive fireplace, creatively rustic furniture, attractive and comfortable rooms, spacious deck for outdoor lounging or eating, mountain meadow setting, majestic alpine scenery, well-maintained recreational equipment, hot tub and swimming pool, marked hiking trails, wildlife viewing opportunities (including the resident dog and cats), and puzzles/games/music/movies (but thankfully no television). However, after all these years, what we appreciate most are the:
1. Genuine warmth, humor, and professionalism of proprietors Brad and Kathy, who eagerly make each guest feel welcome and special, keep careful notes, and gladly cater to special needs or requests;
2. Attentive, but not intrusive care of innkeepers Carlos and Irma who maintain the lodge, guest rooms, and grounds in spotlessly fresh and clean order and keep the fire well stoked in winter;
3. Amazingly tasty and attractively presented meals and hors d’oeuvres prepared by Chef Tom from a seasonally varied menu plan that always offers something new for frequent guests;
4. Opportunities to vegetate or recreate, read or explore, soak or sunbathe, meditate or observe, snooze or sip, remain blissfully disconnected or wirelessly connected;
5. Quiet conversation and shared experiences with an interestingly diverse mix of other visitors.
MHL simply offers a wonderfully comfortable guest-friendly setting for couples, friends, or families to rest, restore, re-energize, and reconnect. As the welcoming sign announces, MHL brings you 1000 feet closer to heaven.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grgarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

...Exactly the thoughts being vocalized by my wife and I as we packed our bags at the end of our absolutely delicious two night stay at Mountain Home Lodge , 1000 feet above the Bavarian Village of Leavenworth, WA.

This little gem tucked up and away on a nice sized slab of scenery is the perfect get away for couples looking to relax, renew and replenish. The proprietors, Kathy and Brad, have created a real piece of heaven and our only regret is that we didn't find Mountain Home Lodge until we went looking to visit our first B&B in celebration of 13 years of marriage.

We reserved (months in advance) the "Sportsman" room for our visit and found the room to be clean, cozy but not cramped, and the queen sized bed was just about perfect. Of course, staying on the second floor of the lodge the view was absolutely stunning! You'll find binoculars on almost every windowsill at MHL, and for good reason! The room itself had no television (you won't miss it), but did have a stereo clock radio with wall hung speakers and an Ipod connection. Wi-Fi is also available throughout the lodge/rooms at no charge.

The main floor of the lodge is a great place to relax, plan your day, play board games and visit with other guests. There is a mammoth fireplace, magazines, boardgames and the like to entertain. Brad and Kathy host their evening appetizer hour in this area and we so much enjoyed the relaxing conversations and great wines (and beers too!).

Outdoor activities available during the winter months. Snowshoeing and X-country skiing (skis and shoes provided by the lodge as needed), sledding on their 1700 ft. run, hiking and for an additional charge, guided snowmobile excursions. My wife and I had a fun, first time ever experience with the snowshoes and can't wait to try it again!

Lastly, the dining experience at Mountain Home Lodge is an event. During the winter months you'll be served a gourmet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. All the meals we enjoyed were flawless and delicious with each evening's three course dinner worthy of putting us both into a well earned food coma-as my wife called it. So good in fact, we kept each night's menu as a souvenir. Thank you Chef!

My wife and I have every intention of making Mountain Home Lodge a yearly event. Try it yourself and I'm sure you'll do the same.

Traveler's note: The lodge is a kid free zone, so leave the little folks with the grandparents. In the winter season guests leave their vehicles at the base of mountain home road in Leavenworth and are transported to the lodge via SnowCat or a modified Van as the road is far too icy/snowy for even 4X4 vehicles. The ride is a blast!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiddlerrpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We had a wonderful 40th birthday celebration in the beautiful lodge. The food was fantastic. We highly recommend the snowmobiling package. Sledding, followed by a soak in the hot tub was rejuvenating and relaxing. The amount of stars in the sky is unbelievable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradfordwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
2.3 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,043 reviews
2.1 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
2.2 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,049 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aspen Suites at The Icicle Village Resort
2.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 19 in Leavenworth
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Lodge

Address: 8201 Mountain Home Rd, PO Box 687, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
#8 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range: £128 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, you've found Washington's finest romantic getaway! Voted #1 setting of any B&B in the western US. On a secluded 20 acre meadow overlooking the Cascades, and surrounded by forest, a luxurious 12 guest room lodge and cabins combines superb cuisine, year-round variety of outdoor activities, and total pampered relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing