We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhhhhhhh.................”
Review of Run of the River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leavenworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Run of the River
Ranked #4 of 22 Leavenworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blaine, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ahhhhhhhhhh.................”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at Run of the River to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and loved it from start to finish. We were greeted with wonderful hospitality, and were delighted to hear relaxing music when we were shown our room. We loved our private deck with porch swing where we could watch the wildlife, and enjoyed the twice daily parade of quail strutting by. Leavenworth is a short trip by car, no more than 5-10 minutes, and what a great little town to visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
177
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Wow! What an amazing weekend. My spouse and I stayed two nights in the Osprey suite. We were given a tour of the quaint inn and then taken to our room. When we entered, it smelled soooo good and clean and there was soft music playing. The heated tile floors in the bathroom were amazing. We've only seen these in Europe before and definitely added a little something special to our stay. On the first day, it was sunny and I enjoyed taking a nap in the porch swing in the sunshine listening to the birds sing as I rocked myself to sleep. The fireplace was also a great touch. One flick of a switch and you have a blazing fire to snuggle up to. My husband and I enjoyed sitting next to the first and playing card games for hours.
The owners had handwritten welcome notes that were left on our bed.
The breakfast was amazing. 5 courses and enough food to make you not even want to eat lunch. Steve was a great host and Jan a great hostess. Can't forget to mention Fanny, the dog. Super friendly and adds a great touch to staying at the inn. Amazing views, very quint and personal feel! Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineausGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Great Northwest suite for 3 nights and were so content there. The massive bed is very comfortable, and I absolutely LOVED the heated tile floor in the bathroom! I do wish the shower was a bit bigger, but it's sufficient, and the bath products provided are outstanding! Really, I smelled so good while staying there. :-) The deck is spacious and includes a sturdy swing, although the bird feeder is not there right now. I also loved the various notes around the room- instructions, greetings, information, etc. I think the coffee maker is a bit of overkill, as is the full-sized laminated paper that gives justification and directions for using the thing, but it's a minor issue compared to all of the good things about the inn. Jan was a very good hostess; we enjoyed her low-key manner and her descriptions of the many good things to do and see and eat around Leavenworth. The breakfasts were high quality and plentiful, and the family style setting is interesting, not really awkward, like I thought it might be.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My wife and I booked a Valentine's Day getaway and my expectations were very high after reading all of the accolades online. I'm pleased to say my expectations were exceeded and then some. Steve and Jan are simply the nicest folks around and really make sure that their guests feel at home and have everything they could possibly need.

We stayed in the Enchantments suite and it was probably the nicest place I have stayed in my life. The rooms are so cozy, the beds are very comfortable and the jacuzzi tubs are spacious. The view from the deck is unparalleled. It is just so quiet and relaxing.

The breakfasts, or more accurately feasts, that Jan masterfully prepares are magnificent. They are organic, healthy and delicious and will fill you up until dinner (or happy hour). They are served family-style and it's fun interacting with the other couples staying there each morning.

We are anxious to return soon and highly recommend anyone who is looking for a getaway in Leavenworth to check out Run of the River.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewlundh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Run of the River is everything you could hope for in a B&B! Beautiful location, amazing suites, and friendly hosts. We celebrated our anniversary, and we had such a wonderful time! The food is over-the-top good, and we had fun getting to know our fellow guests. We are definitely going to return- hopefully in the summer. Fannie the dog is a special "extra"! I highly recommend Run of the River for your stay in Leavenworth!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdogmom36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Words will never be able to describe our perfect wedding at Run of the River, but it was such a great experience that we at least have to try: The Enchantment suite was fantastic from the cozy fireplace to the heated floors in the gorgeous bathroom. The coffee maker grinds the beans right before the pot is brewed, and the balcony is a place where you can spend hours just looking out over the icicle river. The view is quite amazing, and the bird-watching is great when you put out the food that the Inn provides for them. We had not met our officiant Michael before our wedding day, but his calm, quiet and kind demeanor was exactly what we needed when he married us in front of a large window that overlooked the winter wonderland scenery. The decor surrounding us was warm, lovely, and classy. Our elopement ceremony flowed seemlessly, and our photographer Margie-Lou was sweet and encouraging. Taking pictures with her was actually fun. There is NO better place to elope in the state of Washington. Run of the River is the perfect place to marry the love of your life, and we can't wait to come back for our 1st anniversary. Thank you Janna!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirtypaiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My partner and I decided to take a vacation for New Years all by ourselves without the all five kids for the first time ever!!! Best Place we could have ever stayed!!! Everything was perfect!!! He even said that we needed to start doing this at least once a year from now on!!! It was our first trip to a B & B and it was wonderful!!! I cant wait to do it again!!! Thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raggedgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,800 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mountain Home Lodge
Mountain Home Lodge
#9 of 17 in Leavenworth
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Run of the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Run of the River

Property: Run of the River
Address: 9308 E Leavenworth Rd, P.O. Box 285, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run of the River Inn and Refuge is the perfect place to experience peaceful relaxation in luxurious log surroundings. The Inn and Refuge rest on a high water channel of the Icicle River, just a half-mile upriver from the Bavarian town of Leavenworth, WA. Our private outdoor entrances and spacious private decks overlook a wildlife refuge and bird sanctuary with stunning views of mountain peaks of the Cascade Range.Run of the River offers intimate wedding and elopement packages and romantic suites for honeymoons and anniversaries, vow renewals, commitment ceremonies, babymoons -- any time you are looking for a place to relax, rejuvenate and recreate. Each suite features a spa tub and fireplace surrounded by river rock. We are located a short drive from National Forest trails, quiet country roads for biking, and the bustling Bavarian village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Run Of The River Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing