We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night in Mountain Paradise”
Review of Run of the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Run of the River
Ranked #2 of 22 Leavenworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Night in Mountain Paradise”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is by far one of the prettiest B&B that we've ever stayed at. The grounds surrounding the property are just gorgeous. The hospitality that we received from time we arrived to when we left was unmatched. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
180
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
victoria, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Great Northwest Room and absolutely loved it. The property faces a creek (unfortunately it is somewhat dry and the moment but still beautiful) and has a wonderful view of the mountain. The wrap around private deck was a delight, with birds and squirrels regularly paying visits to the bird feeders.

The room is spacious and the bed is very comfortable with nice linens. I wish we had more time to stay here to make use of the bikes they provide.

The breakfast was delicious and so was the coffee. We had a nice blended yogurt, fresh fruit, Denver scrambled eggs, pancakes and a granola crumble for breakfast.

This place is a piece of heaven with excellent service. Totally recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Great Northwest and it was fantastic. Apparently all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnamkung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed the night of July 10th. We were in awe of the fabulous view from our room (Hit the Trail) and the room itself. The welcome items on the bed were a great touch, as were the special bath salts & bird seed. We were thinking that we would need to make this the location for an annual getaway.
Then came breakfast - everything was served cold and was marginal at best. We have been to several bed & breakfasts and always look forward to the fabulous, multi course breakfasts. This however was a deal breaker for us. Disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTHMANOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janna B, Owner at Run of the River, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Andrea and Tom,

The staff here at Run of the River would like to thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the inn. As a group, the management and staff review all comments and carefully consider each one. Imagine our surprise when we noticed your comments on TripAdvisor, concerning the temperature of the food served at breakfast.

Our breakfast is always brought to the table piping hot. We do not have warming lights and do not “hold” food. All food is prepared fresh and to the Washington State, Chelan County, USDA and CDC Food Safety guidelines. Hot items are served to temperature, directly from the stove and/or oven. Cold foods are kept cold until final preparation. Quite often, our servers must wear oven gloves to serve and offer hot pads for passing the food. Our kitchen is very temperature conscious.

We tried to reach you by telephone but were unsuccessful. We spoke to others who enjoyed breakfast with you that morning; however we were unable to attain a similar review from them. We do apologize.

It is our hope that if a situation occurs or an issue arises during any stay that the guest will bring it to our attention straight away so we can correct the concern before they check-out. If this is not possible, we hope that the problem would be mentioned upon check-out or the comment card in the suite. If all else fails, please pick up the telephone and give us a call. As they say, “we can’t fix it, if we don’t know it’s broken.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I love Run of the River. The prices are higher than we normally go, but it is absolutely worth every penny. Stay as long as possible. Go during any season. It is always wonderful here. Also, every room is great. Seriously, the differences between them are minuscule so don't worry about getting a bad one. "Up the Creek" has become our favorite. This is most likely due to that fact that we stayed in this room first.

This place is the definition of relaxation. It is wonderfully decorated with great little details everywhere. Also, if you are arriving late, just shoot them an email. They will arrange everything for you. Once you arrive in your room then the fun begins! There is a huge comfy bed, a personal jacuzzi, giant sofa chairs, a lovely bathroom and shower with heated floor tiles, and the list goes on. No need to bring a bathing suit. They put thought into everything. For example, they leave a little bag of seeds out to feed the birds. You can then sit on the porch swing and watch the little guys feast. Of course there is already a blanket prepared for you if it's cold out. Also, there are candles and smelling salts for jacuzzi. They even leave little treats in the common area downstairs for everyone to share. There are games and DVDs down there too.

The breakfast is also wonderful. Don't be late! You get plenty of food. They will also accommodate people with dietary restrictions if you give them a heads up. Fanny, the Bernese Mountain Dog, also waits outside the dining area looking for a cuddle buddy. She is super cute.

Then of course you have Leavenworth. You can walk to town, shop, hike, etc. RotR is a great place to stay after hiking the Enchantments or nordic skiing in the fishery trails. If you need any advice on what activities to do just ask them. They are very helpful.

Last time we visited RotR it snowed. It was absolutely breathtaking. I highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed. Go for a visit! Sign up for their membership program too. There is nothing to lose.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingElderberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I loved our stay in the 'Hit the Trail' room. The pictures do not do it justice! Loved all the extras the room had to offer. We did not get a chance to take a hike while we were out but there is some gear provided. Loved the porch & swing, you look right out at a river and the wild. We saw many deer, birds and even a bear! The bed makes me want a new bed at my house! I am not so much a morning person but breakfast was delicious both days. We will be back to stay again. :)

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are delightful! I will try a different one next time we visit :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful, romantic getaway then Run Of The River will be a perfect choice. The setting is lovely - so beautiful and peaceful! The rooms are amazing with lots of little "special touches" that will make your stay one to remembers. The two of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jan and Steve have gone above and beyond to make Run Of The River absolutely incredible. We will definitely be returning....many, many times!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ravenwood Lodge for a week and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful escape, especially couples. Each morning we were greeted with a beautiful sunrise, wildlife, and delicious breakfast privately in our lodge. Jan and Steve were excellent hosts with great advice about the area and activities available. They even went above and beyond scheduling a fishing guide for us who was exceptionally skilled and fun to be around. Ravenwood Lodge is beautifully outfitted with every detail you need to feel right home and is just minutes from town and hiking trails. We loved riding the bikes provided into town for coffee - such beautiful views! We will most certainly come back again!

Room Tip: Stay at Ravenwood Lodge if you're looking for a private getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 17 in Leavenworth
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
#10 of 17 in Leavenworth
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Run of the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Run of the River

Property: Run of the River
Address: 9308 E Leavenworth Rd, P.O. Box 285, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run of the River Inn and Refuge is the perfect place to experience peaceful relaxation in luxurious log surroundings. The Inn and Refuge rest on a high water channel of the Icicle River, just a half-mile upriver from the Bavarian town of Leavenworth, WA. Our private outdoor entrances and spacious private decks overlook a wildlife refuge and bird sanctuary with stunning views of mountain peaks of the Cascade Range.Run of the River offers intimate wedding and elopement packages and romantic suites for honeymoons and anniversaries, vow renewals, commitment ceremonies, babymoons -- any time you are looking for a place to relax, rejuvenate and recreate. Each suite features a spa tub and fireplace surrounded by river rock. We are located a short drive from National Forest trails, quiet country roads for biking, and the bustling Bavarian village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Run of the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Run Of The River Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing