We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adrift Hotel and Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$156
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Long Beach Inn(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
US$170
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chautauqua Lodge(Long Beach)
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anchorage Cottages(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$116
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,937)
Filter reviews
1,937 results
Traveller rating
913
546
234
127
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
913
546
234
127
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspickled fishlive musicwest buildingshuffle boardfree bikesorganic coffeefourth floorbike rentalsgreat restaurantbonfire packagefree coffeemain buildingbeach cruisersdiscovery trailping pongocean viewget away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,689 - 1,694 of 1,937 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed in room #222 from April 11 through 14, 2013. The room was standard size, with a decent view of the water from the large (huge) upholstered "bench" that spanned the large window. We brought our Border Collie and she also had a fabulous time. The bathroom is a little "smallish", but the soaps and other products were good. The room (and hotel) decor is "minimalist" but very functional, and fits in well with the Oceanside atmosphere (the building is 3.8 minutes from the beach and surf). The room had a mini-fridge, and there was a microwave in the common room nearby. The room also had free (and fast) "Wi-Fi".

This is not the "Westin", not does it try to be. It is a fun, functional, and oddly eclectic place that works if you have the right attitude (and an open mind about what a "dog friendly" hotel by the ocean would be). You could not have carpets in these rooms (with wet dogs, salt water and sand), but they are still cozy.

The restaurant is good. Great top-floor view of the ocean, live music on weekends, varied and fun menu, decent meal prices, and inexpensive drinks (local beers were $3!). The pan-fried Willapa Oysters were wonderful!

The beach boardwalk is long; the hotel provides free bikes, games, videos, coffee and tea; the staff are friendly and helpful; and there are many attractions nearby (Cape Disappointment Lighthouse, Lewis and Clarke Interpretation Center, North Jetty and park of the Columbia River..).

If you bring children and/or dogs this is the place for you. They will love it. Apparently Long Beach is the only beach in the state that you can drive cars on, so watch your step. And do purchase a Washington State "Discover Pass" ($30.00 for a year) if you plan on stopping at any of the state park attractions (they can be purchased from the park rangers).

Fun place, in an interesting town, even during the "off" season....

Room Tip: Our room (#222) was described as "partial view". The view was actually quite good...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I still don't understand all the negativity about this place. It's beautifully but simply furnished. We found it especially appropriate for our dog. It's very close to the beach, and they gave us beer and cupcakes when we checked in. Score! The only thing I would warn potential customers about is the noise. It certainly wasn't terrible--but is noticeable. The restaurant is on the top floor (4) and they have bands. We were on the second floor and could still hear the noise from the band quite clearly. The hotel is nice enough to leave earplugs for its guests, but if you're sensitive to noise, they may not help much.
Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would return. Just keep your expectations reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kriewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My sister and I took our kids to Long Beach for spring break. Both of us purchased the groupon for our trip. We just love this hotel, love the bikes, the retro rooms, the view and most of all the yummy new resturant. My room was on the 4th floor right next to the resturant. I did notice the ear plugs on the nightstand. Did not need them. Our room was pretty quiet. We wil surely bring our dog next time. This is not a 4 star nor a 3 star hotel. If you want a 3 or 4 star go to Seattle or Portland and vacation. We had a great time and will stay again.

Room Tip: Happy hour is a must...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgv938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Adrift is an eclectic hotel right on the beach.... people and dog friendly. The rooms are very inviting. There is not carpeting in the rooms; but, anybody that has lived near the beach knows, it is not practical. Sand is tough on everything. My bed could not have been more comfortable. There was a small refrigerator in the room, an IPOD docking station, T.V. and DVD player...beautiful black and white beach photographs on the walls. I know I had the best room in the hotel on the 4th floor with a view of the trees and beach out of my window. You could just sit and watch the waves roll in. I was there for two wonderful blustery nights and I was just so warm and cozy in my comfy bed. Went down for the delicious coffee and water with fruit-infused essence every morning in the lobby. Tons of free beach cruiser-type bikes to take out as you wish. There were 7 of us in our party and we had 4 rooms on the 4th floor. We all loved the place. Don't listen to the snobby commentaries on here..if you want the Hilton go stay there..if you want a fun, relaxed, eclectic atmosphere with a great view...then the Adrift is your place. I'll definitely be back so keep room 422 open and available for me.

Room Tip: Ask for room 422..for view of trees and ocean. But we had 4 rooms on the 4th floor and all had some kind of view of the water. The restaurant and bar are on the 4th floor but I couldn't hear the music in my room...which was unfortunate because whoever was playing when I walked by sounded wonderful. They do supply earplugs in the room, which were not needed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

1. Hotels in Long Beach and everything else tend to be some distance from the beach. That's just the geography. Adrift is quite possibly the closest to the beach of them all, in case that's important to you (it was to us). 2. If you don't like minimalist, eco-friendly, modern (rather industrial), this may not be your hotel. I loved it. Unfinished wooden crates on the wall provided functional storage that most hotels lack for bathroom items. More crates by the bed created functional bedside tables with more than ample electrical outlets for recharging devices. The ice bucket was a real galvanized bucket (creative!). High quality, refillable bath amenities not in plastic bottles. The bed, a hand made (?) wooden box, sported an incredibly comfortable memory foam mattress. We slept well! Each room includes a fridge, and a coffee maker will be delivered to your room, if you want one. Nice touch ... our coffee maker arrived in its own basket with real cups, none of those crappy paper or styrofoam ones. A table and 2 chairs, not for lounging. Oh, no carpet in the room. For a beach hotel it just makes sense, and since we were in a dog-friendly room, no residual smells. Take your slippers. Windows that open! 3. Hallways are carpeted, and the hallway decor on floor 2 was colorful bubbles painted on the walls. Happy way to greet the day. 4. Earplugs were provided, but we never needed them. 4. The elevator lobby on our floor included games, a microwave, and chairs for kicking back with friends. Great idea. 5. The wifi worked well in our room, but not in the restaurant. 6. Staff was efficient and friendly from booking (we had a Groupon), to check-in, through check-out. 7. Coffee, water, tea, and a doggy water bowl available continuously in the lobby. 8. The hotel restaurant, "the pickled fish," on the 4th floor, has possibly the best view of the ocean/beach in all of Long Beach. See my separate review -- we were impressed by the quality of the food. 9. The only thing missing in our room was a comfy place to kick back. A couple of lounge chairs or a small couch would have made an excellent stay perfect. Nonetheless, we would definitely consider coming back to aDrift.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anon5471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews