We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchorage Cottages
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Napavine, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Quiet”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We had relatives visiting from back east so we decided to show them the Pacific Ocean and Long Beach. We've stayed in Long Beach many times, but this was our first visit at The Anchorage Cottages. We stayed for two nights in Cottage #7. It was a very decent cottage. It had two bedrooms and a futon for our five adults. The beds were very comfortable.

It was clean, quiet and comfortable, even though a bit outdated; but a nice beach cottage. It had a full kitchen with all the necessary pots, pan, silverware, plates, bowls, etc. A couple of the knobs on the electric range were a bit of a challenge for trying to obtain the proper burner temperature.

The path to the beach was mosquito-challenged; you had to keep moving or you didn't stand a chance (we didn't have any bug dope with us). They advertise the path to the beach as being 1/4 mile long, but it's closer to 0.4 miles by my measurement. It accesses a very little used portion of the beach.

The staff was helpful and check-in/out was quick and easy. The flower beds and window boxes on the property are outstanding; chock full of beautiful flowering plants. Each cabin has its own assigned parking space which I very much appreciated.

The cottages are just a short distance off the main highway going north out of Long Beach, but finding the correct turnoff to get to it is a bit of a pain. There is a sign, but it is not right on the main road and not really that easy to spot. It would be useful to have a good sign right along the main road to help you know where to turn into the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forester67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    27
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We needed a break and headed for Long Beach last week. What a find! Clean, spacious, wood burning fireplace, complete kitchen, a decent shower head, comfy beds. Not modern, kind of quaint and homey - just my kind of place! Staff was pleasant and helpful. We took our two large dogs and there was plenty of room for all and they totally loved the beach. Staff recommended some terrific restaurants which were spot on. The only slight problem was the mosquitoes - we tried to talk to the beach but they were fierce - we drove instead. All in all, I'd go back and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage #9 (2 bedroom), on the end, which means it was attached to another cottage only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingstonEmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My friend and I came to Long Beach with his two dogs late on a Saturday. He was skeptical that we would find a place that would work well for all of us, but the Anchorage Cottages fit the bill perfectly.

The cottage we stayed in was a small one bedroom with an electric fireplace and a kitchenette. All of the two-bedrooms were booked up and looked pretty nice with wood-burning fireplaces, but our cottage (#3) was great anyway. The decor was kind of retro-beachy -- lots of lighthouses and seashells. The place was spotlessly clean, the bed and futon were both comfy, and the kitchenette had everything we needed.

Best of all was the lawn out back and awesome path to the beach for the dogs to run around on. They went nuts jumping around the dunes and running after sea birds on the beach. The beach is a pretty good hike (maybe 1/4 to 1/2 a mile from the cottages), but couldn't we all use a good hike? Really, it is a nice walk, and it helped that the weather was cooperating.

I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Long Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mandypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hood river, oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed with another family on a rainy weekend in March. We arrived late and the heat was not on. It took awhile for the cottage to warm up. The bedding was pretty thread bare and we never were really warm for most of the night. The second night was better after leaving the heat on during the day. There was a bright light just outside the bedroom that was too bright in the bedroom. The curtains didn't block it out. The kitchen was well stocked and the cottage was clean.

The staff was super helpful and friendly. They made good suggestions for local restaurant.

Our friends had a two bedroom cottage with a wood burning fireplace. Their cabin was warm and cozy. I think we would go for the bigger cottage, if we return.

The path to the beach is wonderful and we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Cottages are not free standing and share a common wall with other cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in cottage #3. When we arrived on a cold February evening, our unit was toasty warm and inviting with a flickering fire in the electric stove. The place was spotless and very comfortable. I really liked the retro feel.
We did not use the kitchenette but looking through the cupboards it appeared well-stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. The light from the parking lot shone through the window coverings so it was not quite dark enough for us. The front desk staff was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is the 3rd time in 2 years we’ve stayed in cottage #9 which we obviously enjoy. On this trip we also had another couple along with us staing on cottage #8, who brought along their two dogs.

The manager was friendly and helpful as always when I called to verify our reservations made 8 or 9 months earlier. and also checked us in. They just don’t tolerate dogs, it appears they actually welcome them. The floors of the entry, kitchen and living room of both of our cottages was linoleum, perfect for cleaning up after wet paws. There is a lot of grass to walk the dog and play frisbee. The cottages are off the main road, and about a half mile to the beach - so there is plenty of places to walk the dog no matter which direction you choose.

We noticed a few new pictures on the walls in cottage 9, it’s nice to know they update the place from time to time. Everything was in good condition and well stocked with cooking and serving equipment. We really enjoy the full sized, brick fireplace and the ample supply of free firewood.

Since we were in cottage 8, as well - we can now see that each of the cottages really is decorated differently. In cottage 9, there were upholstered sofa and overstuffed chair, a recliner and an Ikea bentwood chair - while over in cottage 8 there was just a futon couch and 2 ikea style bentwood chairs. Cottage 8 did not have the wallpaper or number of pictures on the wall that 9 does. It will really pay you to look at the photos on their website of each cottage closely - to determine what unit will fit your tastes and to know what you will be getting.

Both 8 and 9 are about the same large size. In addition to the kitchen (full sized appliances) and dining table area, the living room area is ample with full sized fireplace and picture window. Each had 2 bedrooms and full bath. They are more like apartments.

We talked to the staff a few times during our week’s stay, they really seem to want to make your trip comfortable and enjoyable and gave us some good restaurant suggestions. Our stay had no unpleasant surprises and we again would recommend this place as being quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced.

The one thing that could stand improvement was the wi-fi signal. In cottages 8 and 9 it was very spotty, almost unusable this year as compared to last year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The cottage we stayed in was clean and neat. Some of the furnishings were a little worn--but that made it seem homey. The flower beds were absolutely beautiful and we found the front desk staff to be pleasant and helpful. Parking is tight but each cottage has an assigned place, so if you only have one vehicle, you should be fine. There is a journal placed in the cabin for guests to chronicle their stay and we enjoyed reading the comments from previous guests. One thing that might be important to note is that it is NOT a short walk to the beach at all. I would not want to try it with very young children. Also bring some mosquito spray since you trek through a grove of evergreens and the mosquitoes can be fierce. Be advised that at least at the time we were visiting you were not allowed to swim in the ocean due to dangerous currents.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
1.3 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Cottages

Property: The Anchorage Cottages
Address: 2209 Ocean Beach Blvd N, Long Beach, WA 98631-3668
Region: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Anchorage Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our immaculate 1 and 2 bedroom cottages have full kitchens and most have wood-burning fireplaces and are pet-friendly, creating the ideal location for families, couples, or the individual. Enjoy our splendid gardens and picnic areas or take the short walk through a young pine forest on our private path and drop easily onto miles of unspoiled beaches. Call today to redefine your beach getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing