We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of good money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Discovery Coast
Ranked #1 of 7 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winlock, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of good money”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The room was not clean. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. While sitting on the deck enjoying a glass of wine, you feel as though you're enclosed in a plywood box. All you can see while sitting is the top of the front building. There was not a comfortable chair in the place. We had to bring one in from the deck and add pillows. The mirror in the bathroom was so high that I had to stand on tip toes to apply make-up. We left a "tidy-up" sign on our door for several hours and the room was not cleaned.
We were not at all impressed with the accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    126
    32
    25
    17
See reviews for
41
450
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Great place! Try and stayon the third floor for a quiet room.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayntyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I've traveled to Long Beach on many occasions and this was by far the most relaxing of all my visits. The staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating, everything was very clean and well designed, and the views were just breath taking. I hardly wanted to leave the room! Everything about my stay was beyond what I had expected and I will not only be sure to return, but will encourage others to try this establishment as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiebabyi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

View was lovely for Long Beach (long stretches of sand and dunes, with good walking/biking access), but not very interesting for photography and exploring.

Was generally disappointed with the "fit and finish" of the room, considering the cost. In the bathroom, the upscale shower fixture dripped, and it's advanced features looked nice, but performed poorly. The structure seemed too new to have cracked caulking around the sink, and the plank flooring raised long-term hygiene concerns in my mind. Be aware that one fill of the jetted tub exhausted the in-room water heater, so plan your shower/tubbing time carefully.

The bedroom, while not spacious, featured a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Other seating was limited to a single love seat; it was ok for sitting, but not really relaxing. General room painting and fireplace/mantel detail was amatuerish; windows lacked appropriate handles for ease of use.

The delivered breakfast lived up to its promise (scones were particularly good), but the lack of a comfortable place to eat breakfast in the room distracted from its quality.

Regarding customer service (my pet peeve), some training would be in order. When checking out, while I was thanked for my patronage, the person's eyes never met mine (was focused on computer screen), nor was I asked if we enjoyed our stay. I would have taken that opportunity to discuss the topics above in person, and my rating here might have been higher depending on the response to those issues.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonTraveller97007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This is our second stay at the Inn at Discovery Coast and we will definitely be back again. Being right on the beach, able to hear the ocean, made it the perfect place to be. Long Beach is one of our favorite destinations and this is the place to spend a quiet, relaxing, perfect weekend.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kcherrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The Inn is a fabulous run-away place. Fantastic view over the dunes to the sea; ultra comfortable bed; lovely healthy breakfast; and welcoming of dogs. All the ingredients for a terrific weekend escape from the hustle bustle of the city. This is our second trip - the first was only four months ago, so you can tell we loved it. With the boardwalk, the Discovery Trail and the beach all within a few moments' walk, this is a great location to get out and enjoy the Longbeach peninsula. Microwave and refrig mean you can be comfortable and not have to ever leave the snug nest if you don't want to.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This was our second year coming back to the Inn at Discovery Coast for Valentine's day. We have had two GREAT experiences. There is an excellent view of the ocean, better and closer than any other hotel in Long Beach. The beds are so comfortable my husband and I slept better than we had in a very very long time. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Last year when we were looking for a place to stay I searched over 20 hotels in a 100 mile radius of Long Beach and found that the Inn at Discovery Coast to be the best and most affordable. We will continue to go there for years to come. Oh and the jacuzzi tubs are AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haleymbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
1.8 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Discovery Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Discovery Coast

Property: Inn at Discovery Coast
Address: 421 11th St SW, Long Beach, WA 98631-2605
Region: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Discovery Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Discovery Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Discovery Coast Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing