We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of Boardwalk Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boardwalk Cottages
Ranked #4 of 7 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times and really enjoy it. The rooms are very clean, cozy, and have comfy beds. The property is almost like staying at someone's vacation home, rather than a rental. And you can see a lot of thought went into providing just about anything you could need while you're there. And the fresh made, natural scones, muffins, or breakfast cookies every morning are a nice touch too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for our honeymoon. We got the Star Fish for three nights and had a lovely time. The owners were always very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast pastries were super tasty. The bed was comfortable, and we felt very at home in our cottage. The beach is just a short stroll away, and there are many delicious dining option in walking distance as well. Parking is a little cramped, especially if all the rooms are booked. The local theater is across the street, and if you want to rent a moped, or peddle bike, you can do so next door. Over all my husband and I had a lovely time, and we would happily return.

Room Tip: Carefully view all the photos for each room before making a decision. Most are similar, but there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here, in the "Sea Otter" room. 1 night, Thank goodness..The room was nice enough, but the walls are paper thin. There was a very nosiy group in the room next to us. When we called the office, they had an answering machine on, so we left a message regarding the noise. We did not get much sleep,maybe an hour? and left tired.At checkout, we were informed that the managers live off of property, and no one is available after hrs to answer phonesor address issues. I really recommend you stay away, simply because the walls are paper thin. We even heard full conversations from the room under us. Not restful at all. Tired Zzzzzzzzzzz.And we paid money for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank SRCOceanPark_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Location is two minute walk to the beach and even closer to the shops. It is a short block away from the boardwalk and Discovery Trail. I have stayed in some of the nicest hotels. I've NEVER been to one so clean. There was seven of us, four in Sea Urchin and three in Sand Piper. Sea Urchin is a two bedroom, full kitchen unit. Everything you need to cook, all the pots, serve wear, even casserole and baking pans. My college student son wished his apartment was this nice. Sand Piper is smaller but perfect for the three of us. It has a separate sleeping area with a queen bed and a twin size pull out in the main room. Beds are sooo comfy! Sand Piper wasn't as stocked but I know if I needed anything, I just had to ask for it. Coffee is from a local roasting company and not a plastic package. Flavored teas, hot chocolate, spiced cider and popcorn are also provided. In the mornings they have delicious, fresh baked scones and sweet breads. I think this is only provided when the owners are not on their well deserved two month vacation. (They were there our entire trip 24/7.) They keep a folder in the office with the menus of all the local restaurants. They also have board games and books. Each cottage has a porch to relax on. Some even have porch swings! There's also a clam cleaning station and an outdoor, year round hot tub that all seven of fit in. If you're looking for the "Lap of Luxury" Boardwalk Cottages may not be for you. BUT if you're looking for a wonderfully quaint place that treats you like family I highly recommend Boardwalk Cottages.

Room Tip: Sand Piper is great for two adults and a child. If you plan on doing a lot of cooking I suggest one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just stayed a couple of nights in February in the Sand Castle for a belated Valentine's getaway. It was kind of disappointing that there wasn't any breakfast, but we planned accordingly and brought our own snacks. It was nice that they had a cooler and microwave in the room which was convenient. As a "romantic" package, it would have been nice if they would supply salts for the 2 person jetted tub, and at least a bottle of wine or something, but then again, the store wasn't too too far away and we were able to provide our own. The room was cozy, although the ceiling fan was kind of noisy. The bed was very comfy. We happened to stay the weekend that was open for clamming so that was a nice treat. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani98383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This place did not turn out to be as "charming" as it looked on the website, but it was ok. The room was clean and sort of cute, but nothing special. They did have coffee (no decaf, though), tea and cocoa mixes in the room, but the water had so much chlorine that the beverages didn't taste very good. Not necessarily their fault, but maybe they need a water filter. Because of the time of year, there was no breakfast, which is disclosed if you go to the very bottom of their website. Seems like they could buy some pastries when the owners are away, but they have decided not to. The staff is very nice, but this place is nothing special. They were full, though, so I guess a lot of people like it. Personally, I think there are probably better places to stay in Long Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed in the Sea Urchin room, which has two bedrooms a kitchenette, a seating area, and a gas fireplace. Everything was nice, and clean. Obviously with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen, the rooms are a bit cozy, but not too small.

We had a late check in, and the owners made sure we were able to access our room with no problems. The parking is a bit tight. Don't bring your crew cab dually in there and expect to park.

On check out we finally met the owner, and she was very nice, asked about our room, wanted to make sure we were happy before we left. She then made sure to give us some delicious scones and pumpkin? (not sure, I didn't eat it) bread. The scones were outstanding.

It's a much better experience than just another boring motel/hotel room. Lots of decorations and the kind of stuff that makes wives and daughters go "Ohh!"

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianWAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
267 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.3 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Cottages

Address: 800 Ocean Beach Blvd S, Long Beach, WA 98631
Region: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range: £60 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owners Bill and Pat Turner’s warm hospitality will make your stay at Boardwalk Cottages a truly memorable one! The hosts welcome you to be their guests at the closest cottages to the boardwalk along beautiful stretches of the beach on the Long Beach coastline. They hope to make your getaway a wonderful experience as you discover what the Washington Coast has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Boardwalk Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Cottages Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing