We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, needs new management.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Washougal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible, needs new management.”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Treated, not accommodating for that at all. Rooms definitely need lots of work, stains dingy, dirty. Cannot hear TV. Never even slept overnight, the made us leave for complaining there was no hot water at 7 pm.. Over all terrible management, treated very poorly and no dog should be treated this way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyronBarnum, Manager at Cedars Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
For some reason only your room had problems with the water, I offered to move you to another room and the way you responded to that option should have never come from anyone mouth. So the only other option was to refund your money, and why would you want to stay somewhere you did not like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    20
    8
    13
See reviews for
35
30
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Comfortable beds, great amenities, warm furnishings, ocean view and friendly, locally based staff. This place is great! Family Friendly and affordable, close to the beach and to Marshe's Museum. Easy to get around town. I was so grateful for Myron's hospitality and his help when we lost an item (cleaning crew found it and they are mailing it back!). I recommend this to anyone looking to take a quick vacation to the coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyronBarnum, Manager at Cedars Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
It was a true pleasure having you at the hotel, and I wish we could have found that purple lizard before you left, but I am glad we did fine it and got it back to you. Remember we are going to remodel the hotel and I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Checked in with the nicest manager. recommended a place we could get a great piazza (and he wasn't kidding). Nice lobby room is and average room it has been up dated some. Bed and linens were ever so comfy. TV reception was not so good but we no soon reported it then the manager had it fixed.
Had a great view of the ocean and its within walking of downtown also :)
I can not tell you enough about the great management here! :)

Room Tip: restaurants, coffee, bakery and Antique stores galore :) great location (we were in room 311)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cynpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyronBarnum, Manager at Cedars Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
You think the pizza was great, wait until the next time you come and the hotel is remodeled, with the food we have to offer in town and the new rooms you will not want to leave, See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed here in the past and had heard that it was under new management. Am glad to say that it is much improved from the last time we stayed. The couple who are at the front desk are very nice and friendly. Considerably better than before when there was no one at the front desk and you had to call for them. Our room was clean and comfortable with new bedding and drapes. Yes there is still some need for improvement but it all takes time and I am sure that it will happen. We look forward to returning for another visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyronBarnum, Manager at Cedars Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks for giving the hotel another try, yes there is a lot more that needs to be done, and that is ib the works. The next time you come it will be a new hotel, we are doing a total renovation to the point of a/c in each room, granite counter tops, single cup coffee makers, and 47" televions. All just for you. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My sister and I stopped for the night without planning ahead. We were so impressed with the couple who were the managers that were working that evening and next morning. They were so friendly and helpful . The room overlooked the ocean and the beds were older but ok. The place was not new and we didn't expect high end, so we were ok with staying the evening. The friendly people made it a very pleasant visit. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: This had easy access to beach and town. We liked the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyronBarnum, Manager at Cedars Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how we are doing. The count down has begun for the start of the total renovation of the hotel, we will be the premier hotel in Long Beach, and I want to see you back for the Grand Opening. I will send you more information soon.
Robin and I will always be working to make sure that everyone's stay is the best. Once again thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived on Saturday during the Annual Rod Run which we had no idea was going on. Went to the office and got a room after checking to see how close we were to town for walking. Checking in no problem. The manager was very friendly and answered a few questions we had about dining, etc. Got to the room, and noticed a weird odor, but knew no more rooms were available because of the event. Stains on carpet and bed actually looked like it someone had sat on it after being made up?! Ok...sheets looked clean so we decided to stay put. Went and walked around town and watch the cars. Got back to the room later that evening and used the bathroom. The tub looked like it had not seen cleaner in weeks! Sand from nearby beach was all over the floor and in the corners especially heavy. No blow dryer in room and dirty shower solidified my decision to not shower the next morning. My husband felt the same way. Again, the gentleman who checked us in was very nice and helpful, but really should spot check the cleaning of his rooms. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marione M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyronBarnum, Manager at Cedars Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay, the hotel went under new ownership in late June, and we did what we could in a very short period of time to improve the rooms.
The bedding was new and a mistake, because of the way it is made the beds always look as if someone had just sat on it. The bath tubs has permanent stains in them. The good new everything will be replaced during the off seasons we will be doing a major remodel replacing everything. So if nothing else the next time you are in Long Beach come by and see he new hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We made our reservations many moons ago based on location for the kite flying contest so we, of course, paid a premium price for the room. The only GOOD attribute of the place was the view from the room.
The woman who did not even greet us at the front desk was extremely rude n unprofessional. We arrived about an before the 3pm check-in time which we were advised of numerous times within a five minute conversation. We left n returned after 3pm.
The room was something else. The rug is absolutely filthy. I kept my shoes on the entire time. The furniture is filthy. The bathroom sink had a big crack in it. I would not use the shower. They never came to see if our room needed servicing so we called for clean towels to be delivered. They made up the beds n left no clean towels...which were placed on the floor as requested.

We called the front desk again n a gentleman brought some clean towels. I did not catch his name but had seen him around the property n believe he might of been the manager. I shared with him some of my concerns. He informed me that the place was being gutted out n totally rebuilt and that it would be a different story by this time next year. So....will see what happens. Would recommend that u look at the room before renting for the nite!!!!
And, no, there is no hair dryer in the room. There was, however, a micro n refer in the room. AND... Canned soda from the vending machine was only $1.00!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam97217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyronBarnum, Manager at Cedars Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
I am sorry you stay was so bad, and if you were to give us another chance I know we would live up to your expectations. we will be doing a total remodel this winter. I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
261 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars Ocean View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Ocean View Inn

Property: Cedars Ocean View Inn
Address: 208 Bolstad Ave W, Long Beach, WA 98631-9100
Region: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedars Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedars Ocean View Inn, known to many as Long Beach's Finest, is conveniently located next to Long Beach's arch, the main entrance to the beach. We have panoramic views of the ocean that are breathtaking. Cedars Ocean View Inn consists of 42 spacious units, all units have: air conditioning, 47" color televisions, microwaves refrigerators, coffee makers, high speed internet, and a welcoming decor. We also have kitchenette units, as well as connecting rooms. In the morning you will enjoy our Deluxe Complimentary Breakfast, which includes: Cereals, Bagels, Juices, Tea, Coffee, Hot Cocoa, Oatmeal, and our very best WAFFLES! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cedars Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Ocean View Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing