We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, piece of history”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longmire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Ranked #1 of 1 Longmire B&B and Inns
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, piece of history”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The location of this inn is great. There are great views of Mt. Rainier from the front porch. The food in the dining room is good too and fair priced for the location. There are a ton of great trails leaving right from the inn. It is also a quick drive up to Paradise for even better views and trails on the mountain.

The inn is pretty pricey for what you get, but it is in a remote location in a historic building. The rooms are small because that is the way they were when the place was built. I like the authenticity of the place. We got a room without a bathroom on purpose since we were only staying one night and were leaving early to go hike. The bed was comfortable for an almost queen size. There is a sink and mirror in the room which was nice. Robes and slippers were provided for trips to the bathroom. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

There are NO phones, TV or wifi at this location. There is also no cell reception either. I actually like this about the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bathroom for more comfort. Remember there is no cell service, tvs, wifi o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backpackerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    113
    51
    15
    8
See reviews for
64
149
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
De Soto, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here with our 2 boys while visiting Mt Rainier, Mt St Helens and Olympic. We actually liked this better than Paradise. The views at Paradise are better and there are more trails, but at the National Park Inn, the room was much bigger, in much better condition, and the beds very comfortable. The staff were wonderful and they have afternoon tea. The restaurant was very nice, and had different offerings than Paradise. The Trail of the Shadows is beautiful. Overall, the hotel is expensive due to its location and history, but one can't compare it to the chains. This was a really nice stay and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: With kids, the room with a queen and 2 singles was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's hard to go too far wrong when the view from the veranda of the place is of Mt. Rainier. We were there for two nights after hiking the Wonderland Trail. The rooms are a little on the small side, but the bed was comfortable. Rooms aren't cheap but I paid more for less on a recent business trip to the Kenai Peninsula in Alaska. This was our fourth stay at the Inn and we definitely plan to go back.
The only negative was that there was some kind of kitchen noise in the early hours of the morning.
There is also no in-room phone (and non-existent to bad cell service) or TV or refrigerator or microwave, all things I can live without.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our room (#2) was small and more like a dorm room. It was also fairly noisy and staff were vacuuming at 10:15pm. For $164/night we expected better.

Staff were pleasant but we would not stay again. Underwhelmed!

Room Tip: Room #2 is noisy and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts and feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory experience. We appreciate all feedback and I have taken the opportunity to forward your comments to our management team as we continually strive to improve all facets of our operation.

Thank you once again for your review.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in a 2 bedroom suite on our trip to Mt Rainier. The inn is conveniently located at the Longmire entrance to the park - the rangers have a lot of good information about the distance from here to Paradise and Sunrise which also have lodges and hiking paths.

Check-in went smoothly and our room was extremely clean. Our room had two twin beds and 1 queen bed and everyone slept very good.

We had breakfast & dinner at the lodge which were both very well timed. The breakfast was served quickly so we could get out on the trail. The dinner was not rushed but not slow either! We really enjoyed all of the food and the trivia on the table about mt Rainier.

The hotel does not have air conditioning so some people may have trouble sleeping with the window open and the noise outside. It was pretty quiet so this was not a problem for us.

The hotel also has nice front porch with rocking chairs with a beautiful view of Mt Rainier as well as a sitting room with tables, chairs and a fireplace with games and cards for hotel guest use.

We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilemoevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review and kind words! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We shipped our baggage (backpacks & gear, etc.) ahead of time to Ashford; was waiting for us by our room when we arrived near midnight! Staff was more than friendly, attentive, way beyond the call of duty! Called us by name! Clean rooms; great service, good food. Even let us do a complimentary load of laundry and provided soap!!!!! (Incidentally, the hotel was completely booked, so they had lots more than us to take care of.) Yes, the front desk folks helped seat and bus tables, but that was very effecient and didn't detract from overall service....probably helped to keep prices so reasonable! Highly recommend National Park Inn if you are headed to Mt. Rainier National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time you share your experience and your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit in the near future.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed 8/9/13 and had a great stay. Yes, the hotel is over 100 years old, has creaky floors and thin walls. If you are expecting a new hotel this is not it.

However, we found it a great place to stay. Very comfortable rooms, beds, linens, robes, etc. The room and down the hall bathrooms were very clean.

The setting is truly amazing. Great front porch to see the mountain and easy trails around hotel.

We did not eat in the restaurant but ate at Paradise Lodge and the food was very good.

Service at Longmire and Paradise was excellent.

Having the general store next to the hotel is very convenient.

We will be back.

Room Tip: If you can get one, go with the rooms with a bath, they are larger. However, the bath down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocko2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the National Park Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit in the near future.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longmire
5.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
317 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
207 reviews
11.7 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
97 reviews
7.0 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
141 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Park Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

Property: National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Address: 47009 Paradise Rd E, Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98397
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Longmire
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic inn nestled in the forest of Longmire provides a relaxing retreat in Mount Rainier National Park with spectacular views of Mount Rainier from comfortable chairs on the front porch. Open year round, hiking trails are just steps from the front door and winter activities include cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
National Park Hotel Longmire
National Park Inn At Mount Rainier Longmire, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing