We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and unusual camping spots on the water.”

Spencer Spit State Park
Attraction details
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location and unusual camping spots on the water.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

In March 2014 many of the camping sites were still closed (and muddy from recent rains). There were a few sites available at the top (on the hill). These sites are large and have a lot of privacy but no views. There are 4 to 6 sites that are down on the water. These water sites have very little privacy but incredible views of the bay! You can watch the ferry go by and walk all around the beach and Spencer Spit. Beware that it is quite a walk down the hill to the beach sites and thus a hike back UP the hill. You can not park your car right next to these sites. It is still worth it, but just consider how much camping stuff you are going to haul up/down the hill. Bathrooms were clean with flush toilets (but no showers). As an additional FYI, I found people on this tiny island very friendly; I highly recommend Lopez Island! Note: there are very few restaurants on the island so it is important to bring food and drinks with you (or at least snacks!).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Gohikingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best sunset kayak trip ever”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We arrived here on the first weekend that Dan with Outdoor Adventures was setting up kayaks at the beach kiosk. We asked about the sunset trip and were told to let him know as otherwise he was heading back on an earlier ferry. We decided to take the outing and are so glad we did. Wow!! It was just us, Dan, and another young guide who was helping out for the first time. We got incredible attention and Dan knows his stuff. Got to hold a purple starfish they pulled off the rocks and had seals following us around. We stayed way beyond sunset into true darkness and got to experience bioluminescent algae....watching the wake from the boat and paddles glow in the dark. Honestly, we could have taken this trip every night. Thanks for an incredible kayaking venture, Dan!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank hoosierj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Hike on the island”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

great view, flat trail, wildlife and beautiful wild flowers. We stumbled upon this park while exploring the spit and even though the sun was setting, we couldn't resist the beautiful setting and marked trails. We watched geese ambling across the meadow and sea birds skimming the water as the sun set. Best hike on the island!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojourner_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Was not crowded and you could walk a long ways before coming to the channel. Good views. Did not visit the camp grounds but the sign said it was full.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pocahontashiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outdoor Adventures Kayaking”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We took an evening guided kayak trip with "Dandelion Dan." It was the best experience of the entire Lopez Island trip. He was informative about wildlife, history, kayaking and kept is informed and helped us tremendously with the entire experience. I highly recommend using OA's services for kayaking around the Island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bisongwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spencer Spit State Park also viewed

Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
 
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
 

Been to Spencer Spit State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing