We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance and Tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Romance and Tranquility”
Reviewed 7 June 2007

Our romantic cottage at Lopez Farm Cottages was the perfect setting for the 3 day trip my boyfriend and I just returned from. We stayed in Cabin #1 and were very impressed with the decor, privacy and setting. All the items we needed and wanted were there - from the microwave and kitchen utensils to the gas fireplace and down pillows. The hot tub was right outside the door and was especially appreciated after our sunset kayak trip. And having the sheep in the next field was a treat.

The cottage was just a part of a very romantic weekend on Lopez Island. There were also tranquil country roads to bike on and many delicious meals. If you feel like a bit of indulging, try Lopez Farm Cottages on Lopez Island.

  • Liked — the pastoral setting and tons of privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank catphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    14
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2006

My husand and I stayed in Cottage #5 and loved it! Very clean, quiet and pastoral setting which we both found very romantic. We even had our own little back yard! The communal hot tub was sparkling clean (and empty - we were the only ones there in late September 2006). The bed was comfortable and our cabin had a little DVD/TV - we got movies from the library - so fun!

Other must do's: Eat at the Love Dog Cafe (flank steak salad was out of this world), have espresso at Isabels and cinnamon rolls from Holly B's. Bike the Tour de Lopez and sit in the library and read magazines for an hour.

  • Liked — Clean, clean, clean!
  • Disliked — I loved everything.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go in shoulder or off season for maximum peacefulness and romance!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lydiahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

My husband and I stayed at Lopez Island Farm Cottages & Tent Camping this past weekend while bike touring on Lopez Island. We stayed in the tent camping area, which was very clean and each site has it's own hammock, table and chairs. The sites are fairly private, the only down-side was being relatively close to the road from the ferry so there is occassional traffic. The tent camping option does not come with the breakfast like the cottages but there is a place to prepare meals, make coffee, etc. with a nice utility sink and prep area. There is also a covered picnic area with a fireplace, which was nice in the evening and wood is provided ($2/bundle, very cheap!). The setting is very relaxing and also a convenient bike ride into town. I would recommend it for someone looking for a place to camp that is still convenient to the amenities on the island. The showers were great too!

  • Liked — Clean, showers & fireplace
  • Disliked — Road - somewhat noisy
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 July 2006

What other reviewers disliked was what made this place special for us. We had very little time for a honeymoon before we had to get back to work, but our trip to Lopez might as well have been a week in Hawaii for all the relaxing we did. We also did a lot of nothing. We didn't have the privacy issues that other guests talked about -- one of the cabins is set off by itself with its own hot tub, and the other four cabins are grouped together and share one hot tub. We didn't see a single soul -- except the sheep and rabbits -- the entire time we were on the property. Fresh towels and service were available if we had asked, but it was worth making our own bed for a couple of days to savor the privacy.

The cabins have kitchenettes, which means that you should bring groceries if you want to have breakfast in your room. the "breakfast" provided, as one reviewer noted, was more of a snack basket -- some fruit, granola, yogurt, cookies and orange juice. Better quality than you'd get in a standard hotel continental breakfast, but it wasn't a hot gourmet meal either. For our few days away from civilization, we were happy to trade away the typical hot B&B breakfast around a communal table for some snacks to take with us for the day.

For breakfast, we highly recommend the Love Dog Cafe in Lopez Village. White Bear and her staff took excellent care of us, and the menu ranges from comfort food to raw offerings, made with local and organic ingredients whenever possible. If White Bear is making her Dungeness Crab Eggs Benedict, don't even bother looking at the rest of the menu. If not, perhaps begging would work. She might just take pity on you.

Then go back to your cottage and take a nap on the comfy bed, read a book, flip through the guestbooks, walk around the farm, pet the very friendly sheep, let the dogs yell at you, chase down the bunnies, or hop in the hot tub. Or go for a bike, hike, drive or see the island by kayak. There's very little else to do on Lopez, and that's just the way we like it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

very clean, very private and a great camp set up. Loved the ability to have a warm shower and we spent many hours sitting in the lawn chairs watching the eagles, rabbits and sheep. the barbeque was clean and easy to use with a great outdoor sink to wash dishes. Saw a few other campers but never heard anyone. Will definitely return.
Also make sure to walk across the road to the winery, a great stop on the island.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2006

We did have a nice trip to Lopez but the cottage was not exactly what we thought it would be. The cottages advertised privacy but all the cottages are right next to each other. The morning breakfast basket was a disappointment. Chocolate covered cookies are great but not for breakfast. I suppose it makes sense not to make something special when you have a few guest but every cabin was full the weekend we were there.
The place is ok but don't expect any service, we were there 4 days and never got clean sheets or towels.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasafrass7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 June 2005

My husband and I were looking for a place to completely unwind and get some much needed rest and relaxation. We didn't know anything about Lopez Island - just that it was in the San Juan Islands. Also, I am EXTREMELY FANATICAL about clean and NICE lodging accomoodations so it took me 7 hours on a Saturday via the internet to find something that met all of the above critieria. Lopez Island Farm Cottages and Tent Camping exceeded my expectations. It was one of the most serene and beautiful places we have stayed in. We asked for Cottage #5 as it is the only cottage with a tv (satellite and also a VCR/DVD player) and we were not sure just how much reading we wanted to do each day. The cottage was perfect -- clean, cute with lots of windows, a fireplace and a back porch with a screen door. You do a self check-in so we never saw the owners our whole stay which didn't bother us at all. The grounds of the resort were so perfect -- pastoral with lots of rabbits, deer, sheep and birds -- just wonderful! The breakfast baskets were a nice added bonus. Four of the five cottages have a grill to share if you prefer to cook outdoors. Everything was very private -- we never saw nor heard any of the tent campers as the cottages are separated from them by woods. We definitely plan to return in the future and I would highly recommend this place especially considering how very particular I am regarding lodging accommodations!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
1.3 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
146 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
274 reviews
5.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
7.4 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping

Property: Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping
Address: 607 Fisherman Bay Road, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lopez Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 acres - Privacy - Northwest Scandinavian Cottages in a cedar grove. Fireplace, Kitchen, Spa, Breakfast delivered in a basket. A dog is allowed in Cottage 4 only. We also have Gourmet Tent Glamping and Camping in a peaceful wooded setting. Camp Building with Fireplace, Barbecues, Microwave, morning coffee. Only campground on Lopez Island with showers and flush toilets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lopez Farm Cottages And Tent Camping
Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping Hotel Lopez Island
Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping Lopez Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing