We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible housekeeping, especially for how overpriced the room & marina was”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lopez Islander Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lopez Island
Reviewed 30 August 2011

1960's heater looks like it's been accumilating dirt since then... how could that be looked over for so long?! Of course we had to use it :(
Missing lightbulb in 1 of 2 lamps (only lighting source) in room was never replaced.
BATHROOM: I'm pretty sure they don't clean the showers. There was a nasty dark pube(?) sitting on the soap tray when we got there. Of course nobody in my family wanted to wipe it off, so it stayed there.... and of course nobody in housekeeping got rid of it the whole time we were there. There was also a dead bug attached to the wall that was never wiped off. Hairs in the hairdryer as well. There was a sign taped to the mirror saying to use rags under the counter to wipe down bikes instead of using bath towels... Athough we didn't have bikes, we could've used it to dry our boat seats... there were no rags. The shower in our motorhome was more powerful than this one. The plumbing was so bad that anyone else (including adjacent rooms) using h20 would scald or freeze the person showering.
Also, there were no garbages at the marina. For $40/night, you just get to park! There are dumpsters provided about a mile up... across the street, up a block, behind some building. For real. The walk is just a teeny bit further, but on the opposite end of the property, than if you wanted to bring a bag of trash up to your hotel room if you booked one for $200, and felt like hauling it up with your luggage.

On a good note, the view was nice. The hotel is actually across the road from the waterfront, marina, lobby, etc. The guys at the marina were nice. The room was a decent size for a weekend. The microwave & mini fridge was clean (there was a couple leftover cubes in the ice tray from the last person... couldve even been something other than frozen water!)

The POOL: $2 showers... um gross: that means nobody showers before going into the pool!

The LOBBY: Ok, the espresso bar advertised is actually just a machine in their unkept desk/checkin area... stacks & stacks of papers/paperwork everywhere! With a plate of uncovered cinnamon rolls on top... mmm...not!

Petty? A little... but it's disgusting, and for the $1000 ish we spent there, it shouldn't be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

We arrived a couple of hours before check in time and the desk staff was very nice- they gave us our room right away! All of the rooms are located across the street from the water, but it's OK because it is a small street and you can see the water from the rooms with no problem. This is a very relaxing place to stay- we stayed in a Kayak Bungalow Bay Room. It had one queen bed, a very nice and recently updated bathroom, a table, microwave, TV, fridge and a nice front deck with a table. This was the least expensive room I could get, and I think the least expensive rooms they offer. The room was nice and clean. My only complaint about the room was that it felt damp the whole time. The bed was comfortable, but they could use some new bedding.

The best thing about the resort was the pool area. It was so nice!!!!!! In the pool area they have a nice hot tub, pool, ping pong table and work out room. The work out room is actually a health club that locals can join. In the office I noticed that there is a lot of sports equipment that customers can borrow.

The restaurant at the resort was very good. The entrees ranged from 13-25 dollars and come with salad, potato and veg. You can also order burgers and sandwiches for about 8-12 dollars. I had the best prime rib french dip sandwich ever!!!!! I think it was about $10.

If you want to go somewhere very rural and laid back, then this is a good place. There is not much to do if you aren't into kayaking or biking. It's a quiet place to enjoy. There is free wireless in the motel lobby, but none in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed our short stay. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 2nd floor and had a great view of the harbor/bay. Although the interior of the room was somewhat dated, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave. Pool and hot tub were close by. We had nice dinner at the restaurant; the salmon I had was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stravinsky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Last weekend we stayed at the Islander, expecting a lovely view and room, as the price was not inexpensive. But when we walked into the room it smelled terrible, and the worst part is the carpet was soaking wet, as if it had just been shampooed and the water not extracted. When we went to the office to get another room, the office was closed. We slept in a sickly-smelly room with our feet soaking wet feet and cold whenever out of bed. Plus the pillow case was dirty.
We talked to the desk clerk the next day and she promised to have the manager call us, but she never did. I called the manager the next day and she promised to refund our money on our credit card, but never did. An absolute disaster, so stay anywhere else on the beautiful Lopez, but NOT at the Islander.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lady1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This was my third time on Lopez and all 3 times stayed at the Lopez Islander Resort. I travel after Labor Day - non peek travel time. This island is quiet and laid back, with a slow pace. This is the only hotel - all other accommodations are B&B's. I like the economy room to save money. This hotel has full service plus bicycle and kayak rentals. Our September 27 & 28 stay was quiet. We had the pool and hot tub to ourselves. We will be back in a few years.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The islander on Lopez Island is wonderful, service was fast and friendly. The marina is also a great place, the staff is more than helpful and know what they are doing. I spent a week up there and had the best time, the resturant has good food and the lounge had a great band, Temporary moorage. I would recommend a stay at the Islander any time. The islander also has a great looking new pool that was fun to hang around in. Thank you Islander staff for a wonderful vacation. Jody Wessling/ Perozzo

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

What a great place! Loved the location... close the the village, wonderful sunset & bay views, new pool area with nice jacuzzi, saw a couple great bands in the Tiki bar and GREAT Prime Rib for dinner! Staff was friendly & efficient... a very well run establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STSLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
1.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
164 reviews
5.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
13.1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
5.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopez Islander Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopez Islander Resort

Address: Fisherman Bay Road, P.O. Box 459, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lopez Island
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Lopez Islander Hotel Lopez Island
Lopez Island Islander Hotel
Lopez Island Islander Resort
Lopez Islander Resort Lopez Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing