We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend Away”
Review of MacKaye Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MacKaye Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lopez Island B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
11
Reviewed 13 July 2005

What a wonderful place for a weekend away. It was very quiet and peaceful. The people are friendly and very accomodating. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 87 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Graham, WA
11
Reviewed 12 July 2005

My family and I spend the most fabulous 4th of July weekend ever at the Mackaye Harbor Inn. What a wonderful place to get away from it all! It is the ideal place to watch fabulous sunsets, Deer at your door steps, Bold Eagles majestically flying, but most of all, the tranquillity surrounding this place cannot be express, it must be experienced! Mike and Robin, thank you for being such wonderful hosts. You guys are great! My wife and I are looking forward to another stay at the Mackaye Harbor Inn. We can hardly wait!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2005

Last year, on my first trip to the Mackaye Harbor Inn, I sailed my Beachcomber-Alpha dory up to their beach, arriving too late to get into town for dinner. No matter, Mike met me on the beach with a two-hands turkey sandwich and a warm welcome. This year my wife went with me, again in the dory, and again Mike and Robin were cordial and welcoming, relaxed and gracious.

The Mackaye Harbor Inn is a revamped 19th century farmhouse tucked behind a sheltering hook at the end of a big cove on the rocky, breathing south coast of Lopez Island, the most agrarian of the San Juan Islands. They have several mooring buoys for their guests and on our most recent trip a kayak was waiting on one of the buoys for us...we just traded painters and paddled ashore, leaving our dory riding the buoy.

Robin and Mike run the Inn as if their guests were personal friends and I venture to say very many of their friends have come from among their customers. The Inn is spacious; the rooms are well appointed and many have private baths. The view from every single room is drop-dead gorgeous...you get the feeling God must have a summer house just over the hill.

Breakfasts run to wonderful homemade pasteries, fresh berries, hardboiled eggs, fresh juice, hot cereal and the sort of coffee you wish you could make at home. There is always plenty to pack up for lunch as well.

Lopez is bike-friendly and the Inn keeps plenty of bikes on hand just for the asking. Bikes and kayaks too...this really is as close to summer camp as it gets!

Thank Rucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2004

I hardly know where to begin. This lovely Bed & Breakfast looks out onto a beautiful serene bay where you can take a quite walk on the beach, grab a chair and relax to watch the seals and otters play or enjoy kayaking.
I have never found a place that is so peaceful.
Lopez Island offers many great hikes and beaches with scenery that compares to no where else.
During one of our hikes I had the privilege of seeing Orca whales, what an awesome experience.
Robin and Mike are the most gracious hosts. They know how to make their guests feel at home and comfortable. They are very knowledgable about the island and can offer advise on great place to take a bike ride or a hike.
Our room was very cozy and comfortable and very clean. And the breakfast is wonderful.
When it was time to go all I could think of is when can I come back again.
Everyone should be lucky enough to experience MacKaye Harbor Inn at least once.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Edmonds, WA
11
Reviewed 28 September 2004

Spectacular location and wonderful hospitality. Beach access for walking and solitude. Close to hikes and public beaches. Quaint rooms with an amazing breakfast every morning. Highly recommended! The best on the San Juan Islands.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ferndale, WA
11
Reviewed 20 September 2004

This is a terrific get-away...quiet, serene and beautiful. The sea otters watching you as you kayak by the shore are a bonus.

Your hosts, Robin and Mike, are delightful people, knowledgable about the island and its attractions, great cooks and immaculate housekeepers.

We will be back...as a matter of fact we have been back!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2004

The Mackaye Harbor inn sits on a peaceful inlet of Lopez Island away from the bustle of stampeding feet and growling motorcycles. At any given moment you may look out the window or off the sprawling front porch to see otters and seals and exotic seabirds flourishing in the environs near the beachfront.

The innkeepers Mike and Robin greet you with a genuine warmth and port and tea and truffles. Their knowledge of the island's offering is unsurpassed and they are not out to sell you on anything extra. They are genuine folks who make you feel at home.

The breakfasts are simple but ample fuel enough to get you going for a long bike ride into town or on any of the various roads around the island. Bikes come courtesy of the Inn. After that, have some lunch, and then check forecasts with Mike so you can hop into a kayak and explore the sound.

For my money the Harbor Suite is perfect for couples, but the other rooms looked pleasant and comfortable. Don't be enticed by fancy websites and glossed over sales pitches promising billion thread-count sheets and satin curtains. If you're looking for the Four Seasons, don't go to Lopez. But, if you want a lovely, romantic, tranquil weekend in a friendly and comfortable B & B go to Mackaye Harbor Inn.

2  Thank bigpapi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
6.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
165 reviews
10.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKaye Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKaye Harbor Inn

Address: 949 Mackaye Harbor Rd, Lopez Island, WA 98261-8145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lopez Island
Price Range: £93 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacKaye Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Lopez Island's ONLY beachfront bed & breakfast inn. Delicious and plentiful breakfasts, complimentary mountain bikes and rental kayaks. Sandy beach, beautiful sunsets and chocolate truffles! Come and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your MacKaye Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKaye Harbor Inn Lopez Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing