We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hike to see seals and birds!”

Shark Reef Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Worth the hike to see seals and birds!”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Wow, what a gem! We stopped here on our day visit to Lopez Island. After finally finding our way there we hiked through a rainforest type trail down to the cliffs above the bay. We then wandered further along the rocks and came upon some harlequin ducks which we had never seen before. They were beautiful! We also saw three eagles too. Saw grebes (type of duck) also. The best was about 50 seals sunning and relaxing on nearby rocks. Well worth the visit! A must see!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank first-tymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Well worth the hike”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The short hike to the shore is well worth it. I wish we had had more time as watching the seals and birds was very relaxing. Be sure to make it the end of the trail for best viewing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wanderer31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellingham, WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Close up view of seals”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

There are non-flush toilets at the trailhead. The mostly level hike in from the trail head takes about 10 minutes through the woods to the shore. Then, you can follow the shoreline westward along the trail where a narrow channel separates you from a small island where seals and a multitude of birds gather. I was staying close by so I spent a lot of time here. I saw a heron battle some gulls for a place on the island. The seals sometimes came flashing by underwater in pursuit of the salmon I saw, hiding in the kelp forest that hugs the shore. There is also a passing parade of boats heading out to the Straits. When the tide is out, there are a few narrow pebble beaches. Considering the number of visitors this site gets on a weekend, it is in remarkably good shape. The shoreline is well-worn, but there are many comfortable places to sit on the rocks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank fritzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for the view”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife was not a fan, she was bite by bugs and she thought it was not safe to walk around. However, I enjoyed jumping from boulder to boulder on the shore. This is not a sandy beach, but a view point and a 10 minute hike in from the road. We folding chairs but did not last long.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dnelson_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“spectacular views!”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This pristine spot is well worth the short hike, watch the seals, spot a bald eagle, listen to the oystercatchers, this is paradise!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank themollusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shark Reef Sanctuary also viewed

Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
 
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
 

Been to Shark Reef Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing