We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Stew Ever!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Manson - CLOSED

Cafe Manson
Cuisines: French, American, International, Contemporary, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: (509) 888-4197 An (as yet) unheralded gem in a tiny town on Lake Chelan. Owner/chefs are clearly dedicated and trained at a top restaurant in Seattle; food is great, always prepared with fresh ingredients, and very imaginative and tastefully done. Service is friendly and unobtrusive. As food enthusiasts from Seattle, we were delighted to find this great place in Manson.
Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Stew Ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Found the restaurant by accident searching for a place for dinner. Upon entering we were surprised how busy it was for a Sunday evening. The service was excellent as our waitress was pleasant and professional as she explained the menu. I choose the Beef Stew and my wife had the sole. The chef had prepared risotto as an appetizer which was good. The stew was the best I have ever had, spicy and tasty. The meat was cooked to perfection melting in my mouth with each bite. My wife's sole was every bit as good also. We will return next time we are back in the area on a weekend retreat from Canada.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If in Chelan area, do Cafe Manson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

The Cafe Manson in Manson, WA near Lake Chelan is a must. This tiny little hole in the wall is totally surprising. A husband and wife with great chef credentials own and operate this outstanding restaurant. They take special pride in making sure that their diners fell comfortable and at ease. They took time with us, gave us in depth explanations of what, how and why they were preparing our meals in their special way. Our party of six concluded in complete agreement that the food was excellent and there were several different orders from the menu. All their incredients are local and much of it grown by the owners. They also gave us excellent recommendations regarding a couple of small wineries which seem to be the new industry in the Chealn area. It would be smart to get a reservation anytime but especially in season.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveKink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Who would have thought tiny Manson would have a restaurant with great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

It is small and comfortable. The owners are the chefs and they prepare fresh food nightly. Menu changes frequently so we go there often. Excellent. Best restaurant in Chelan area.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrHap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not perfect but darn good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

While this is quite a gem in this small town, it falls short on the details.

Pros: They promptly returned voicemails for a reservation and we got in on short notice. The ribs were de-LISH. The chicken was cooked perfectly, with crispy skin and rich flavor. We chose a local wine (Hard Roe to Hoe Cab Franc) and it was amazing. Food was delivered with good timing. Food was simple, elegant and well plated.

Some details I noticed could be improved: the Friday night schedule is confusing; the website says one thing and their voicemail greeting says another. The tabletops and chairs look cheap. The small brown tables are too long; loses a level of intimacy when you sit so far away from your date. The bill was brought in a piece of craft paper with "Admit One" tickets on it (maybe I missed a theme here?). We were charged the full price for a side dish when we subbed it for something and were not told we would be charged (a snarky move in my book). Waiter was not warm or personable. Salad/App dishes looked like they came from a garage sale and didn't match the rest of the dishes. View across the street is a dumpy auto service station; some top-down shades would have been a nice touch.

In a nutshell, this restaurant offers something most restaurants in a tiny little town don't offer; locally sourced elegant food that changes weekly. The chefs know what they're doing in the kitchen. I would return because it's the only "fine" dining restaurant in town, and the food was excellent. The other stuff is just details...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ewhitish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelan, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much better than Millbay Casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I liked it because it wasn't Millbay Casinos cafe

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing