We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years in the North Cascades Basecamp Cabin.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Cascades Basecamp
Ranked #3 of 3 Mazama B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was our first trip to the Methow and it was a delight. Perfect conditions, perfect scenery, and perfect accommodations. We stayed in the Cabin for 5 nights, and took dinner in the lodge the last night or two in order to get meet some of the other guests and the owners (Kim and Steve). Who will enjoy the base camp? If you are looking for northwoods charm coupled with terrific hospitality, it is the place for you.

The cabin worked perfectly for our family. Two large bedrooms, great kids play space upstairs, and plenty of privacy.

In terms of the skiing, the basecamp has the best location in the valley, in my opinion. You can ski towards Mazama, towards Cow Creek, or towards Freestone, so you have multiple directions and multiple loops. The trailhead is all of 30 feet from the cabin.

In terms of the hospitality, Steve and Kim are not just inn-keepers. They are clearly committed to the area and to sharing all that it has to offer to their guests.

Finally, I loved the overall vibe and friendliness of the area. A perfect sledding hill for the kids steps from the lodge, snowshoe tours, a 'warming hut' run by Kim and Steve for the skiing community, friendly families and other kids ready to play games in the lodge, a new years eve bonfire, a friendly bear of a dog.

We'll be back. If we can get a reservation... :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfhkvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for North Cascades Basecamp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

The location of North Cascades Basecamp is great, but the lodging and the ambiance inside don't match what I was expecting from their website and print ads. Our family wanted a relaxing place to stay while we x-c skied and instead we felt like we were in a zoo. The main house is small and affords no privacy. Even when in our room we could hear other families very well. While our kids enjoyed the craziness of it all we weren't so thrilled. The house needs a renovation for decor, but especially the hot tub which was warm (not hot) and consisted of a straight sided tub with milk crates in it. Given similar places we've stayed at we expecting much higher quality lodging for the price charged.
The food is very good and the owners are very nice people, but unfortunately this didn't make up for the overall bad experience. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing retreat in the Methow look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BLSmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our family spent two nights at Basecamp in the cabin. The location next to the Goat Wall (mountain) is awesome and we really enjoyed Mazama, Winthrop, and an epic trip to Harts Pass. The cabin provided functional lodging, but no living area except for the loft. One of the bedrooms had a bunch of dead insects in the skylight. The galley kitchen is tiny and the furniture was sparse. I believe that the main lodge would provide a dramatically better guest experience. Breakfast is included in the room rates for the lodge but not the cabin. We were quoted $16 per person to eat breakfast---went down the road 2 miles to the Mazama Country Inn and enjoyed a delicious breakfast for half the price.

We left satisfied, making some great memories in spite of a few disappointments with our accomodations. Next time we'll stay either in the lodge or rent another cabin in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knighthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our family spent two nights at Basecamp, and it was awesome. Accomodations are clean and comfortable. Owners are terrific - very gracious and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area including flora, fauna, hiking trails, and more. Food is exceptional. Location is perfect for access to hiking, and promximity to Winthrop to the East and North Cascades National Park to the West. We count our time at Basecamp as the highlight of our Cascade Loop adventure.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We spent four nights at the North Cascades Base Camp for our daughter's wedding followed by a family reunion. We rented the entire lodge and the 2 bedroom cabin and were very comfortable and happy there. The innkeepers are gracious hosts and provided a delicious dinner our first night, and great breakfasts every morning. Both biologists, they provided helpful and interesting information about the flora and fauna of the area. The setting is beautiful and the rooms comfortable. The two days after the wedding (separately catered dinner) we hiked, biked, toured Winthrop.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and in the cabin are larger than Goat Wall and Becky rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Other reviews focused on the cozyness of basecamp and the location, so I will write about the food! This an all-inclusive three day weekend for our ski club, and the food was fabulous. In addition to delicious and ample breakfasts and dinners, we were provided a sandwich buffet, fruit and homemade cookies to-go for our skiing adventures. Owners Kim and Steve (and their children) were totally charming and helpful, adding to the ambiance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We would recommend the Basecamp cabin as an excellent choice for a small group. We booked the cabin for two couples. It has comfortable sleeping arrangements, two separate bedrooms plus a loft with a sleeper-sofa. One of the bedrooms has bunk beds for kids as well as a double bed. The galley kitchen, although small, is complete with all the cooking facilities. Friends stopped by and we had 8 people in the cabin for after-ski refreshment and had plenty of space. And best of all, you can ski out the door. Mazama often has the best snow in the Methow and from Basecamp you have a number of trail possibilities available without having to drive anywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoreguyyakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazama
15.2 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
396 reviews
15.0 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
473 reviews
15.5 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Freestone Inn
Freestone Inn
#1 of 3 in Mazama
229 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cascades Basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cascades Basecamp

Address: 255 Lost River Rd, Mazama, WA 98833-9700
Region: United States > Washington > Mazama
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mazama
Price Range: £56 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundecks and sunrooms, naturalist library and wood stove sitting room, herb, flower, and organic vegetable gardens, Audubon Certified loop trails within our 25 acres of cedar forest, beaver ponds, and rocky banks of the Methow River, trailhead access to over 200 km of groomed XC-ski trails. Your stay includes meals served with farm-fresh eggs and sustainably grown fruit, veggies and grains from our local farmers and garden whenever possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing