We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much money for 1960 decor”
Review of Ocean Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Crest Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Old furniture,no AC, small fireplace, right next to road with lots of noise from neighbors -squeaky floors and toilets flushing. When trying to leave early they insist on paying for next night. Clean but no view from room 101 for $150 a night So dissatisfied checked out after paying $186 for first night check into Shilo for$90

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCulinaryMadman, Manager at Ocean Crest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

I am so sorry that your room wasn't as you anticipated. Unfortunately we did not get to talk to you directly and there seemed to have been some confusion on the part of your companion who booked your room because he stated that he thought we had cabins. Perhaps he looked at many places online and got confused?

Being family owned since 1953 we do have some rooms older than others. The room your companion reserved was built in 1969, although there have been updates since then but the furniture is not brand new. We have 45 rooms with 21 amenities configurations to choose from. We don't like having disappointed guests so we tried to make your trip better by asking that you look at newer rooms that would fit your needs, but your companion declined.

Room 101 is a Ravine View 1 Bedroom with Queen Bed, Queen Hide-A-Bed, Efficiency Kitchen, Fireplace, Personal Balcony, and Wood Ravine View. There is also a Peek-A-Boo view of the Ocean from the Westward window in the living room, although we don't market the room as having an Ocean View. I don't know why you would state that there is no view because anybody can look at room 101 in the Booking Engine at our website (TripAdvisor does not allow me to put a link in my response). The rate with your discount is $141.95. While the fireplace is not large, it is the proper size to burn the Dura-Flame style log that we provide daily with your room. We ask that people not burn real wood due to an increased risk of chimney fire.

We also wrestle with the extra night charge for early departure, but Room Nights are real, perishable products. We only have 45 rooms on any given day to sell. If I only sell rooms 30 today I cannot sell 60 tomorrow in order to make up the difference. Since your companion reserved your room for 3 nights we held up our part of the agreement for more than a month and did not sell those room nights to anybody else. On one hand, when you want to check out early you are wanting us to take back a product with a 1 day shelf life, which seriously diminishes the likelihood of it being resold. On the other hand, if you wanted to keep your room for the 3 days you reserved and we told you to check out early because I sold it to somebody else, that would obviously be wrong of us.

I really wish that we could have shown you a room that was more to your liking, but I understand that sometimes when disappointment sets in we just want to go somewhere else. That is why we broke our own rules and did not charge you for the extra day. Hopefully you will come back and one of our many other rooms will be more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel on the coast of Washington is almost one of the last places to stay before the road ends at the Indian Reservation. It has been in the family forever I think and they are doing a good job. The wonderful restaurant that they had, burnt down and they are in the process of rebuilding and should be done next Spring 2014.

They keep the rooms very clean and have added WiFi to each room which was a nice surprise. The room 105 that we rented was a one bedroom. The kitchenette was tiny with a small refrigerator that was okay since I had an ice chest that we brought. The living room was rather large and accomodated four of us playing games inside while the rains came. The view from this living room is spectacular. The hotel is situated high on a bluff above the ocean. They have a great stairway down to the beach. Did not count the stairs, could not even get the grandkids to count them either. One can drive to the beach within 5 minutes from it though, and it is at a place where driving on the beach is allowed. That is great

This room we had was a pet friendly room and well maintained. We had never traveled with a dog before so we really appreciated the warm water hose that we could spray the dog off with after running on the beach. There is also an indoor swimming pool that the grandkids really enjoyed on the one day that it rained.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ravenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were looking for a two-night getaway to the coast, and this resort was a great location.

The good: the view from our room (207) was amazing. It was perfect for watching the sun set and the full moon rise in the morning. We fell asleep to the sound of the waves crashing. My son thought the stairs down to the beach were like the Ewok village in Star Wars. The people we worked with were super nice and helpful. The indoor pool is wonderful -- right across the street -- with very nice shower/changing rooms.

The not quite so good: Our room was in an older building, and although the room has been updated decoratively, the hide-a-bed, main bed, shower, and frig are older. The shower didn't have much pressure, and the frig froze all the fruit we had brought with us to eat for breakfast. The room was quite clean, but the housecleaning service was odd. We used the pullout bed for our son to sleep in and even though we were staying two nights they unmade the pullout bed after the first night and wadded up the sheets in a pile on the sofa.

I would highly recommend this as a getaway place for families. We might ask for the newer building next time -- especially after their restaurant construction is completed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After years of going to the Washington coast, and driving past this hotel, I finally stayed. The hotel has been here a long time and the rooms rather show it (room smelled faintly of smoke although smoking hasn't been allowed in rooms for a long time). The women who checked us in were very friendly, and when I reported two burned out light bulbs, they were promptly replaced.

It is a walk down many flights of well-maintained stairs to get to the beach - the hotel sits atop a bluff. Nice view from the room. We also went across the street to the pool, which my daughters enjoyed.

The last day, we asked where we could make a bonfire for roasting hot dogs, and the managers, pulled up a picnic table and made a fire for us in the fire pit. We had an excellent view and enjoyed the fire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuvCbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with amazing views. The hotel is very dated, and the furniture is remarkably uncomfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you might need from mixing bowls, grater, toaster, microwave, pans, utensils...everything. That part was very handy. The beds aren't too bad, but the couch was painful to sit on. Most of your time would probably be spent at the beach, but if you have kids who go to bed early and you have to be in, it's tough having a complete lack of comfort after a long day. The room was pretty clean, but it wasn't cleaned daily. They changed the towels out, but didn't actually clean which was disappointing because there was hair in the shower that was not our own. The staircase to the beach was fantastic! Very convenient, if a little tough on the way back up. The pool across the street was very nice and the locker rooms clean. If it was modernized a bit I would definitely return. As it is, I can't get over how uncomfortable the furniture was. Imagine how worn down a couch gets after 30+ years. The views and proximity to the beach made our trip worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view. It's the best part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We recently had a wonderful, relaxing time on the Washington state coast. The rooms have views of the ocean. It is so quiet all you hear are the ocean waves. The rooms also have kitchens which adds convenience. But there are good restaurants near by. The resort is also working on replacing their award winning restaurant.

Room Tip: We stay in the room on the second floor to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Beautiful views, rooms with fireplaces (and yummy truffles waiting) clean and well stocked with fridge and microwave. Beautiful swimming area with tile hot tub (very clean, and I'm in the biz!) rustic bar just down the block called the Seagate with good pizza and friendly locals. Also a beautiful staircase to a secluded sandy beach. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable of the area. We will definitely be staying there again, only a couple hours from Tacoma.

Room Tip: We were in 402, right off the beach with a beautiful view. 302 was next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kar Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moclips
1.4 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Moonstone Beach Motel
Moonstone Beach Motel
#1 of 3 in Moclips
180 reviews
15.4 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Lake Quinault Lodge
Lake Quinault Lodge
#1 of 2 in Quinault
1,839 reviews
14.4 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
24.8 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Resort

Address: 4651 State Rt 109, PO Box 7, Moclips, WA 98562-5001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Moclips
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Price Range: £68 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Crest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"You simply won't find a more spectacular spot anywhere on the Washington coast." - Frommer's Washington State 7th EditionOcean Crest Resort is a quaint resort on the Washington Coast, perched on a 100' bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, in the sleepy little town of Moclips. Our 45 rooms are spread out in 7 different buildings to blend in with the natural surroundings. While many of our rooms are similar, there are 17 different amenities configurations to choose from.At Ocean Crest Resort you won't pay additional cleaning, parking, or resort fees and you have access to the indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, and exercise room at Cedar Serenity Spa at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Crest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Moclips
Ocean Crest Moclips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing