We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent stay - Quality Maintained” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Crest Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recent stay - Quality Maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I visited the Ocean Crest in early July for three days, attached to a business trip to Seattle. The drive is 2 1/2 to 3 hours, and the closer you get the more beautiful it becomes. We have stayed at the Ocean Crest five or six times over the past 20+ years. After our last stay, I read that the top shelf restaurant had burned. That fire did not impact any of the rooms. This time, we stayed on the third floor of the facility (last time, we stayed on the other side of the restaurant complex in a second floor room. The third floor room was perfectly adequate for our needs (coffee maker, microwave, small fridge, small table, sitting chairs, and the view of the beach and the ocean was stunning. A caution, this is a walk-up, so leave the heavy bags at home. The restaurant has always been a highlight, and its absence was felt. Breakfast was available in a restaurant on the former military compound, and this was perfectly adequate. In addition, there is a upscale planned community about 10 minutes south with a restaurant and quite adequate convenience store. Twenty minutes south is Ocean Shores with a casino, grocery store, several restaurants, souvenir stores, etc. Ocean Crest has a good management team, responsive to guests. During the last day we were at Ocean Crest, they began driving piles for a new restaurant. Ocean Crest sits right on the edge of the cliff overlooking the beach and ocean. This is not a location for driving waves and surf, but it is beautiful and peaceful. They are saying the restaurant will reopen in the Spring of 2014. We will be back. Even without the restaurant, this was a great base of operations for getting to the northern Olympic Peninsula, or for just seeing the beauty of this rather remote portion of the Peninsula.

Room Tip: The restaurant is on its way back, The higher rooms have the best view of the ocean. Room servicing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    84
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
67
115
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have a family reunion here every year and we love it. It is almost like home for anywhere from 12 to 48 of our extended family members from across the country. Even though the restaurant has not yet been rebuilt, we can barbecue and make potluck items prepared in individual rooms (many have full-size refrigerators). I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff is, how clean the rooms, and how lovely the view overlooking the ocean from a fairly high cliff. There's a stairway down to the beach which is great exercise going back up after a romp, volleyball game (we bring) or run on the beach. There's a health club and pool for marco-polo games. Free daily firelogs for the in-suite fireplaces. Day trips to Quinault or many other destinations are terrific. Simply great!

Room Tip: There's a great variety of room types and amenities for every budget. Be sure to ask about view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCulinaryMadman, Owner at Ocean Crest Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you Louise. It is a pleasure hosting you and your family, we can't wait to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Old furniture,no AC, small fireplace, right next to road with lots of noise from neighbors -squeaky floors and toilets flushing. When trying to leave early they insist on paying for next night. Clean but no view from room 101 for $150 a night So dissatisfied checked out after paying $186 for first night check into Shilo for$90

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCulinaryMadman, Manager at Ocean Crest Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
I am so sorry that your room wasn't as you anticipated. Unfortunately we did not get to talk to you directly and there seemed to have been some confusion on the part of your companion who booked your room because he stated that he thought we had cabins. Perhaps he looked at many places online and got confused?

Being family owned since 1953 we do have some rooms older than others. The room your companion reserved was built in 1969, although there have been updates since then but the furniture is not brand new. We have 45 rooms with 21 amenities configurations to choose from. We don't like having disappointed guests so we tried to make your trip better by asking that you look at newer rooms that would fit your needs, but your companion declined.

Room 101 is a Ravine View 1 Bedroom with Queen Bed, Queen Hide-A-Bed, Efficiency Kitchen, Fireplace, Personal Balcony, and Wood Ravine View. There is also a Peek-A-Boo view of the Ocean from the Westward window in the living room, although we don't market the room as having an Ocean View. I don't know why you would state that there is no view because anybody can look at room 101 in the Booking Engine at our website (TripAdvisor does not allow me to put a link in my response). The rate with your discount is $141.95. While the fireplace is not large, it is the proper size to burn the Dura-Flame style log that we provide daily with your room. We ask that people not burn real wood due to an increased risk of chimney fire.

We also wrestle with the extra night charge for early departure, but Room Nights are real, perishable products. We only have 45 rooms on any given day to sell. If I only sell rooms 30 today I cannot sell 60 tomorrow in order to make up the difference. Since your companion reserved your room for 3 nights we held up our part of the agreement for more than a month and did not sell those room nights to anybody else. On one hand, when you want to check out early you are wanting us to take back a product with a 1 day shelf life, which seriously diminishes the likelihood of it being resold. On the other hand, if you wanted to keep your room for the 3 days you reserved and we told you to check out early because I sold it to somebody else, that would obviously be wrong of us.

I really wish that we could have shown you a room that was more to your liking, but I understand that sometimes when disappointment sets in we just want to go somewhere else. That is why we broke our own rules and did not charge you for the extra day. Hopefully you will come back and one of our many other rooms will be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
180 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel on the coast of Washington is almost one of the last places to stay before the road ends at the Indian Reservation. It has been in the family forever I think and they are doing a good job. The wonderful restaurant that they had, burnt down and they are in the process of rebuilding and should be done next Spring 2014.

They keep the rooms very clean and have added WiFi to each room which was a nice surprise. The room 105 that we rented was a one bedroom. The kitchenette was tiny with a small refrigerator that was okay since I had an ice chest that we brought. The living room was rather large and accomodated four of us playing games inside while the rains came. The view from this living room is spectacular. The hotel is situated high on a bluff above the ocean. They have a great stairway down to the beach. Did not count the stairs, could not even get the grandkids to count them either. One can drive to the beach within 5 minutes from it though, and it is at a place where driving on the beach is allowed. That is great

This room we had was a pet friendly room and well maintained. We had never traveled with a dog before so we really appreciated the warm water hose that we could spray the dog off with after running on the beach. There is also an indoor swimming pool that the grandkids really enjoyed on the one day that it rained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were looking for a two-night getaway to the coast, and this resort was a great location.

The good: the view from our room (207) was amazing. It was perfect for watching the sun set and the full moon rise in the morning. We fell asleep to the sound of the waves crashing. My son thought the stairs down to the beach were like the Ewok village in Star Wars. The people we worked with were super nice and helpful. The indoor pool is wonderful -- right across the street -- with very nice shower/changing rooms.

The not quite so good: Our room was in an older building, and although the room has been updated decoratively, the hide-a-bed, main bed, shower, and frig are older. The shower didn't have much pressure, and the frig froze all the fruit we had brought with us to eat for breakfast. The room was quite clean, but the housecleaning service was odd. We used the pullout bed for our son to sleep in and even though we were staying two nights they unmade the pullout bed after the first night and wadded up the sheets in a pile on the sofa.

I would highly recommend this as a getaway place for families. We might ask for the newer building next time -- especially after their restaurant construction is completed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

After years of going to the Washington coast, and driving past this hotel, I finally stayed. The hotel has been here a long time and the rooms rather show it (room smelled faintly of smoke although smoking hasn't been allowed in rooms for a long time). The women who checked us in were very friendly, and when I reported two burned out light bulbs, they were promptly replaced.

It is a walk down many flights of well-maintained stairs to get to the beach - the hotel sits atop a bluff. Nice view from the room. We also went across the street to the pool, which my daughters enjoyed.

The last day, we asked where we could make a bonfire for roasting hot dogs, and the managers, pulled up a picnic table and made a fire for us in the fire pit. We had an excellent view and enjoyed the fire.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvCbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with amazing views. The hotel is very dated, and the furniture is remarkably uncomfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you might need from mixing bowls, grater, toaster, microwave, pans, utensils...everything. That part was very handy. The beds aren't too bad, but the couch was painful to sit on. Most of your time would probably be spent at the beach, but if you have kids who go to bed early and you have to be in, it's tough having a complete lack of comfort after a long day. The room was pretty clean, but it wasn't cleaned daily. They changed the towels out, but didn't actually clean which was disappointing because there was hair in the shower that was not our own. The staircase to the beach was fantastic! Very convenient, if a little tough on the way back up. The pool across the street was very nice and the locker rooms clean. If it was modernized a bit I would definitely return. As it is, I can't get over how uncomfortable the furniture was. Imagine how worn down a couch gets after 30+ years. The views and proximity to the beach made our trip worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view. It's the best part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moclips
12.6 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
14.4 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
15.4 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
14.6 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westport Marina Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Resort

Property: Ocean Crest Resort
Address: 4651 Highway 109, PO Box 7, Moclips, WA 98562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Moclips
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Crest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"You simply won't find a more spectacular spot anywhere on the Washington coast." - Frommer's Washington State 7th EditionOcean Crest Resort is a quaint resort on the Washington Coast, perched on a 100' bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, in the sleepy little town of Moclips. Our 45 rooms are spread out in 7 different buildings to blend in with the natural surroundings. While many of our rooms are similar, there are 17 different amenities configurations to choose from.At Ocean Crest Resort you won't pay additional cleaning, parking, or resort fees and you have access to the indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, and exercise room at Cedar Serenity Spa at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Crest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Moclips
Ocean Crest Moclips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing