We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what do you want at the beach?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonstone Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Certificate of Excellence
Port Angeles
1 review
“what do you want at the beach?”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Well, what we want is peace, quiet, beauty, a clean room that is pet friendly and appreciates the fact that we chose their motel, i.e. they ARE FRIENDLY. We had a wonderful time, everything we look for when we head from Port Angeles to the Ocean....maybe we should ad Gay Friendly, no insults or dirty looks...thank you

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANSPIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    55
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
43
76
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I stayed at the Moonstone with two young children and we loved it. We stayed in a clean efficient cottage with a porch that faced the Ocean. It was great to be able to walk right out on the beach and to hear the waves from our room. I would recommend stocking up on food and supplies in Aberdeen on the way because there is not much in Moclips to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telstar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle,WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

I started staying at the Moonstone 26 years ago, and not much has changed. It was the best bang for your buck then, and it continues to be. Yes, it is old, and worn, but this old girl has been there since the 1920's. It's various rooms, and end "cabin" are the closest to the waters edge in Moclips. I have continued staying there because it is more like going to grandma's beach cabin, than a sterile hotel. The floors are linoleum for easy sand clean-up, and this also makes this pet friendly.
The management are gregarious and happy to help or share information.. I brought my own romance and saved $100.00 a night (Hi Tide). Take that savings down the street to the Ocean Crest Resort, and have yourself a fantastic dinner, while watching the surf through the trees!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcomberJAY013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceantune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This is a small motel on the beach so anyone expecting a four star hotel is kind of foolish. But you have more than everything you need here and the beach is so close. We took our 3 little girls for a long weekend and had a blast despite the schizophrenic weather. If you love the smell of the ocean and don't mind tracking some sand around in your room, you'll love it. The whole experience is about the beach and the sand and surf. I read a review that left this motel the first night they were there because they thought it was "worse than roughing it". Whatever. They were being a little dramatic. This place is awesome. You get a full kitchen to prepare your own meals and you spend 90% of your time outdoors anyway. And when we had to leave a little earlier than expected, due to work, they waived our extra person fees for the room which was very cool. They didn't have to do that, but were trying to be helpful. This is a great place for a family getaway. You won't break the bank and you get to enjoy the gorgeous Washington coast. Go there!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceantune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The moment we drove up to the Moonstone I stated that it was a complete dump but considering it was my first time traveliving without my parents I agreed to give it a chance. Once we got up to the room I decided that I could NOT stay in a place like this. I know how to rough it but staying here would require more then that. To start off the two main front windows did not open it was hotter then heck up there and to top it all off the kitchen window didn't open and wouldn't stay open unless held up with a stick. The shower was a joke there was no way i'd be able to shower only stick my head in, where the roof slanted that made the shower perfect size for a kid. It was extremely from the 60's and not a place I wanted to spend our romantic getaway. So we packed up and went to the Hi-Tide to enjoy our vacation the right way.

Since I was a recent guest I am giving anyone who reads this the best advice dont even consider the Moonstone unless you like dirty and dingy rooms. Spend the extra money and go to The Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atchee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonemoclips, Owner at Moonstone Beach Motel, responded to this review, 24 July 2009
This ciient came in and left the same day saying their grandmother was ill in Seattle and had to leave. No complaints were made to management except to comment the bathroom was small, which it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I'm a very special cat and I go everywhere my parents go (can't walk on my own) and they brought me to the Moonstone Beach Hotel where I was fondly greeted and given special attention. This made everyone feel so great. I love watching the birds fly by and our evening strolls were so cool (of course I'm in a carry bag). We always go to Ocean Shores for lunch one day and stop at a pet store where they have the BEST catnip! Here's my parents comment:
We discovered this little "gem" a few years back and have continued to come and stay every chance we get...just to chill for a few days and enjoy the beautiful sunsets and to refresh our souls.
It has everything that you need and each unit has its own individual charm. Each manager has been so incredibly helpful, whether you need another frying pan, pillow or towels or just a good chat. And yes of course you can bring your "quiet" pet!
You can't beat the rates or the views!

  • Liked — Close and easy access to the beach
  • Disliked — The toilet backed up (probably wifes fault!)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floppysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumner, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We love the Moonstone so much that we vacation there for a week every three months. Such peace and quiet! It's great for forgetting the grind of everday life. Sure, it's not your standard motel but that's why we like it! The management has always been helpful if we've had a problem. Other people mention it being dog friendly. Actually, it's pet friendly! We take our cats and I've seen a parrot there too! We occasionally see eagles and deer seem to be regulars on the grounds and beach. Buck & Stanley, Sumner, WA.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moclips
0.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
13.8 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
16.6 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
296 reviews
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Beach Motel

Property: Moonstone Beach Motel
Address: 4849 Pacific Ave, Moclips, WA 98562
Region: United States > Washington > Moclips
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built over fifty years ago, the Moonstone Beach Motel is no more and a new 10 room building has opened as of September 2015. Sitting truly beachfront, the two story building, erected on concrete supports, overlooks the ocean. Rooms all include kitchens, wifi, cable TV, and superb vies of the ocean right in front of you. Lower level rooms are pet friendly. Rooms range from studios to one bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moonstone Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonstone Beach Hotel Moclips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing