We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandpas dream motel”
Review of Gull Wing Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moclips
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gull Wing Inn
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are the grandkids of Grandpa Konrad from Renton Washington that started building this yellow motel before he died on the way to one of his work parties there by running off the road in his V W in the fifties or sixties. We love the place, past and present , and are returning in Sept this year 2013 to see the ocean one more time before the blocking of the view with the new motel planned for the beach access park that grandpa preserved for the enjoyment of all. The park was to be especially for all the walkers and clam diggers of the past, and of course the future. Grandpa, your love of this place lasted a long time and hopefully more of the Konrad clan can enjoy before the new motel across the street goes up. So Sad. The rooms are great and we all need to adjust to the decor and share the love the new owners have for the place. We all do not need perfect wi fi and instant phone service our whole life. We all need to let go and go back to nature especially at the beach, like when all we had was a tent, blanket and roar of the waves. Thats all we had in high school and somehow we survived. Much love to all future guests of this old memory spot that has somehow stood the test of time. The siding are the original shakes grandpa put on and the yellow color has lasted around 50 years. The Blumer family (desendents from Grandpas oldest adopted daughter and grandmas daughter he loved).

Room Tip: Room 3 has the best view for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

My family has stayed at the Gull Wing Inn over 25 times in the past six plus years and the experience has always been fantastic! The rooms are extremely clean and decorated with neat antiques. The owners John and Carla are very nice!!! and always helpful!! LauraL.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Gull Wing Inn four times, in winter, spring and summer. Twice in Unit 1 and twice in Unit 2. We love the place. Each unit is uniquely and beautifully decorated with antiques and creative displays framed in shadow boxes around a theme - 1st communion, tea party, seashells, etc. Not a blank spot on a wall lends a feeling of being in a gallery. The kitchens are extremely well-appointed with everything you could need. I was impressed to find whole coffee beans with a grinder and French Press to make good coffee with. There's also a percolator for those who prefer that, along with teas, basic spices, even cooking oil, as well as all cooking pans, dishes, etc.. The place is located across the street from the beach but there are views of the ocean from each of the units. John is in the process of building a 35 foot high observation tower that will give incredible views from atop. We are often there when razor clamming is open and John has been so helpful with our clam cleaning, going so far to boil water for us to dip them in to remove their shells easily. Then we finish the cleaning at the outdoor sink provided for that purpose. That there are only three units makes this a nice, cozy place to stay. We look forward to this summer's visit.

Room Tip: Unit 1 has the only king-size bed and it is very comfortable. Unit 3 is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Care-O-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The Gull Wing Inn is a great place to get away from things, especially if you have a pet. We have a 70lb. lab that's always welcomed to their Inn. Carla and John are wonderful hosts that try to please everyone that stays with them. We've stayed in all of the rooms they offer and find them all very cozy. Carla has nick nacks and treasures mounted on the walls and around the rooms. It's not Motel 6 if that's what you're looking for. The Inn is a close walk to the ocean beach. They also have an array of movies you can watch if you don't want to watch what's on Directv and games to play and books to keep if you get involved in it. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything except the food you bring. It is always a comfortable stay there and we will continue going there.

Room Tip: The first room is the smallest which is good for a couple with a small pet. The second room is large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sketchdoctorink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I along with our two dogs have stayed at the Gull Wing several times over the years. We have stayed in all three units and have always been comfortable in each one. What got me there the first time was the fact that pets were allowed and the rates were reasonable. After the first time we were hooked. We are collectors like the owners and appreciate the antique decor. The fresh coffee beans and grinder make for a great cup anytime you feel like it. In October, we fish the Humptulips River and dig razor clams at the local beaches. The Gull Wing makes for a good base camp for these activities. This is a great place to stay to enjoy the ocean view, enjoy peace and quiet and catch up on some rest.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Markm5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We found out about Gull Wing from word of mouth. What a perfect place to be! John was the perfect host I could not use my cell phone and he without question let me use his to call home. We are going back to celebrate our upcoming anniversary the fires on the beach are well worth waiting for Lynne and Gary

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Our Family has spent many, many Thanksgivings over the years (both before and during the current owners). It is our favorite place on the Washington coast...owners are welcoming and helpful. Beach is accessible and sometimes solitary. The rooms are decorated with collectibles and love. As far as the signs that trouble some, we have made a game out of them and make up some of our own. If you want luxury and cookie cutter accommodations, go somewhere else. But if you want privacy, a peaceful beach, beautiful sunsets and gracious hosts who just want you to have a good time, try Gull Wing Inn...just not on Thanksgiving because we will be there with our whole family. Billie and family

Room Tip: Depends on how many you have. Each of the three rooms is different and can sleep from 2-8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinnthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moclips
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
276 reviews
0 mi away
Moonstone Beach Motel
Moonstone Beach Motel
#1 of 3 in Moclips
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#2 of 3 in Moclips
265 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gull Wing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Wing Inn

Address: 4852 Pacific Ave., Moclips, WA 98562
Region: United States > Washington > Moclips
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Moclips
Price Range: £56 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gull Wing Inn has three uniquely decorated suites with easy beach access. We are across the street from the beach. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen. WiFi, Shared Hot Tub. DirecTV with multiple premium HD channels, and free video library. Onsite owners. Antiques Shop. We can accommodate up to 12 people. We have a 2 night minimum. Dog friendly! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gull Wing Hotel Moclips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing