We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1950's Remodeled Gem”
Review of Sage n Sand Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sage n Sand Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Moses Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hadlock, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“1950's Remodeled Gem”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This court yard shaped 1950 gem was a bargain at $60.50. They have remodeled so carpets are new so was the furniture and appliances. Place has a pool and is non-smoking. Clientele is working guys and tourist mixed all well behaved and video monitored. Room had a shower no tub and the only outlet in the bathroom was hot only when the light was on. There was no alarm clock radio but these two things are information rather than complaints. They rent by week and month. Manager was cheery and friendly and attentive to requests. There is coffee in the lobby and no continental breakfast. Location is about 2 miles from I 90 but easy to find taking exit 176 then north about 1.75 miles on Broadway till you hit Pioneer that veers right. About another 1/2 mile and it's on your right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greggk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    42
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
38
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We made a reservation and received a confirmation for 2 beds. We also indicated we have a dog for which they charge $25 (most places charge $10). The hotel is supposed to be all non-smoking, but when we arrived the registration area reeked of stale cigarette smoke. Then I was told that our 50 pound dog was too big and they had no room for us. They also said that dogs can't stay in the 2-bed remodeled rooms. Their website says nothing to that effect. We drove down the street and got a much nicer room at the Ramada for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EclipseChaser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Sage N Sand Motel for three nights while she competed in a swim meet in Moses Lake. Before I booked the room, I read the reviews. I saw that one of the concerns was poor window coverings that let in a lot of light. I also noticed that there were some rooms that were renovated/updated, and some that were not. As I wanted my stay to be as positive as possible, I contacted the Sage N Sand via email and asked about my concerns. I received a very positive reply, so I booked an updated room with 2 double beds for 3 nights.
When I arrived in Moses Lake, it was late, and we were tired from a long day of travel. The motel is an old school style drive up motel, with a retro neon motel sign up high. The sign was easy to spot. The staff member in the office was friendly and within minutes we were given the key (yes, an old school key!) and we were in the room. I was really happy to see that the room was exactly as described to me. Two double (pillowtop) beds newer furnishings and a flat screen TV mounted on the wall. There was a blind on the window and a dark brown curtain that kept out 100% of the light. There were no issues with light coming in the window at all. The room was a good size, not the largest I've ever stayed in, but certainly not the smallest either. The bathroom was small with a shower stall, but it was completely functional and clean. There were extra pillows in the 'closet' alcove and lots of fresh white towels (the linens and towels looked brand new they were so white).
We slept well all three nights and were suprized at how quiet the room was (I'd read a review that complained about street noise). The AC was loud, but no louder than my AC at home. The most important thing about it was that it kept the room cool, and that was exactly what I expected it to do.
I can only imagine that the people who complained about the Sage N Sand Motel expected a 5 star hotel at a budget price. I think the true test of any hotel/motel is to see if there are the same cars in the parking lot for more than one night. In the case of the Sage N Sand, there certainly were. If my daughter swims at the meet again next year, we will certainly stay at the Sage N Sand and will ask for room 11 again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a one might stay. Clean nicely updated room. Pool was a pleasure with bbqs for use. AC worked great. Rough around the edges on the outside but rooms were great and deserve a 4.5/5 for value. Wish the had larger family sized rooms though.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This Motel was clean good location, staff was friendly and helpful. Basic accommodations at a fair price. There was easy parking, a Pool, Ice machine, Soda machine, free coffee and pastries in office in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdriver420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent motel. The staff was very courteous and professional. Our room was recently remodeled and very clean. The pillowtop mattress was very comfortable and I had the best sleep in several nights. For $60 this motel beats the national chains with numbers in them hands down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gRich49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

No table to eat our packed dinner, the only chairs were in the bathroom with a shower curtain separating. No outlets in bed area. Tiny TV. Our room was on the corner bordering two busy streets, so the cars were revving all night long. The curtains in the bathroom were just venetian blinds (peeping Tom dream). It was clean so two stars. I do not recommend.

Sigh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Never-Lost4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moses Lake hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Moses Lake
Comfort Suites Moses Lake
#1 of 16 in Moses Lake
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
AmeriStay Inn Moses Lake
AmeriStay Inn Moses Lake
#8 of 16 in Moses Lake
62 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Front Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lakeshore Inn
Lakeshore Inn
#12 of 16 in Moses Lake
26 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Moses Lake
Shilo Inn Suites - Moses Lake
#14 of 16 in Moses Lake
168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn At Moses Lake
Inn At Moses Lake
#2 of 16 in Moses Lake
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage n Sand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage n Sand Motel

Property: Sage n Sand Motel
Address: 1011 S Pioneer Way, Moses Lake, WA 98837-2265
Region: United States > Washington > Moses Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Moses Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sage n Sand Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Moses Lake Accomodations at Comfortable Prices! Just minutes from shopping,restaurants,the sand dunes and beautiful Moses Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sage n Sand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing