We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adytum Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossyrock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adytum Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 1 Mossyrock B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

This review is long overdue. My boyfriend set up a weekend here a couple of months ago for my birthday and it was so so special. The property is up on a hill overlooking 2 lakes, we got there a little late and it was foggy and starting to snow so we couldn't see the lakes right away but I caught a glimpse of it later in the early morning. Kat and Donn welcomed us into their home and gave us a tour of all the gorgeous common area. The one thing i loved the most about this place is that there are tons of books and dvds in every little nook. you can browse all the different selections, pick up a good book and just unwind. I think I read on their website that they wanted Adytum to be a place were couples can come to reconnect, and they have set up the perfect environment for that. We got to our suite, the Orion, and were treated with a nice surprise of champagne on ice and Kat made us 2 of her famous carrot cakes and one of the cakes even had a candle on it for my birthday! The carrot cake was by far the best carrot cake. The suit itself was amazing (loved all the details!). i love love love how the pantry and kitchen area was well stocked with everything we could ever need; from hot chocolate, to popcorn, to even a wine bottle stopper for our leftover wine. We literally did not need to leave the room for anything. The hot sauna in the room was a treat too. In the morning, Kat brought us our breakfast in our room. She is a great cook and we had a wonderful spread of food. There was frittata, roasted potatoes, banana muffins (I couldn't get enough of these), home made maple butter for the muffins, orange juice, apple juice and coffee. It's been months since we were here but I can still taste every bite. We were so happy with our overall experience. We will be back and will be telling all our friends and anyone else to come here. Thank you Kat and Donn for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chynalyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katcarroll, Owner at Adytum Sanctuary, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
What a memory for details you have! Thank you for your amazing post sharing your experience at Adytum so others can get a feeling for what they are in for...Like I told our last guests - here to reconnect and driving in from Seattle for a long weekend - "You have no idea how much I love anticipating the arrival of each new guest/couple!" I loved transforming your suite into a romantic love nest, where you'd only need to emerge from your fantasy if you wanted to...I loved making the special carrot cakes and the breakfast for you both. It makes me feel wonderful that you'd take the time to remember everything so well, and write it down for us all.

We have a referral program in place now: for each friend referred who books, it is 20% back to you both to use toward another Adytum adventure. If you refer 5 friends, you will have a free night's stay. Adytum will become a ritual in the lives of many...a place of peace to restore us to ourselves, to our lover and to nature. I can't wait for your next visit to share the changes we've created to enhance your experience! Thanks once again for your very kind words....it blesses us so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

My husband and I love staying in B&Bs. We try to stay in them when we travel or need a quiet weekend retreat. This is by far the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in! We were celebrating our 1 year anniversary and we could not have chosen a more romantic place to go. The property was remote and spacious - our dog came with us and loved it. The view of the sunset was magnificent! Kat's attention to detail and fabulous cooking skills made us feel like royalty. The suite was fully stocked with coffee, tea, wine, and all kinds of healthy snacks. After relaxing in the hot tub we cuddled up on the sofa by the fire. The linens, the decor, the bedding - even the shampoo - was top notch. The breakfast the next morning was superb. Our entire experience was perfect - I would not have changed one thing. Kat and Don are delightful hosts who truly care about their guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeamAW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

I was pleased from the booking of my reservation to right up until we left! Kat is a wonderful hostess, who strikes a balance between checking on you and giving you privacy. Breakfasts were positively stellar; this was key since I'm a major foodie. Our pantry was stocked with substantial amounts of organic goodies to snack on. We enjoyed serenity in the outdoor hot tub; a spa treat in the Turkish sauna; and all the comforts of home (huge TV/wireless/movies, etc.) Mt. Ranier and Mt. St. Helens are nearby, giving you great day trip opportunities, too.

If you need to get away from it all, this place is everything you need for a memorable retreat. I just don't have enough superlatives...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpayNeuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katcarroll, Owner at Adytum Sanctuary, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time at Adytum! It was amazing to watch her work her magic on you both, and when you decided to cancel day trips to either of the great mountains and just relax here, I knew you'd made a great choice all the way around. Vacations can be exhausting in some respects and you crafted the perfect balance in your decisions.

A great retreat is only satisfying if it's shared with wonderful guests...You two are an amazing couple! I know we'll see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

When we decided to visit Adytum for our 23rd anniversary, we had no idea how perfect this B&B would be. All of your senses are heightened from the moment you arrive. The aroma coming from Kat's kitchen was simply wonderful. Every dish was prepared with perfection. Walking into the dining room for breakfast was a treat even before taking a place at the table. The table setting was so artfully displayed with selections sure to satisfy every palate. The dishes were both delicious and healthy. The sounds of nature as we sat outside on our private patio were so calming. Everywhere around Adytum whether inside or out the views were breathtaking. We had so much fun exploring our large suite. There were surprises around every corner with no detail left out and then some! Adytum was the perfect sanctuary to celebrate our anniversary. We miss it already!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathystocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katcarroll, Owner at Adytum Sanctuary, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your time with us at Adytum, and your experience with others of your anniversary celebration here! We're so happy we could make it special and memorable for you both....there is always a suite waiting for you, as well as free reign in the kitchen- the balsamic reduction you created on your last morning here is still being relished...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We spent our "50th" Wedding Anniversary at Adytum. From the first warm welcome hug we felt we had arrived at a "special place". Kat had roses, champagne, fine chocolates, fruits and snacks waiting for us in our awesome room. She had even made heart shaped cakes for our special occasion. Words could not say how surprised we were.
The entire home and retreat is so beautiful. Every room is so well planned and decorated. We loved it. The food was the best ever and served with such attention to detail. We could not have chosen a more perfect place for our second honeymoon. We will have lasting memories and feel blessed to have found this lovely place.
Howard and Patsy

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsyS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katcarroll, Owner at Adytum Sanctuary, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Patsy and Howard~
It was with the greatest pleasure and anticipation we prepared for your arrival with your sister and her husband. We are so thrilled that you all had a memorable time celebrating your 50th, and we are so honored you chose Adytum...
We're also so grateful that we played a part in creating the stage to have a fantasy weekend evolve. Each of you is such a treasure and we're so glad to have met you all! The "red carpet" is always rolled out for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We were blessed from the very first moment we arrived. Kat and Donn are so welcoming and friendly! They made our three night stay the most peaceful and relaxing experience we could have imagined. We looked forward to waking up each morning and spending time with Kat and adorable little Dash (their Cavalier King Charles Spaniel puppy). Kat is such a wonderful and creative cook. The breakfast each morning was world class gourmet.

The house is decorated beautifully! Our room (Orion suite) was amazingly private and peaceful. The linens and towels were luxurious along with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on. The location was perfect for visiting both Mount Rainier and Mount Saint Helens and Kat and Donn were so knowledgeable about the area and gave some excellent local recommendations for dinning and sight seeing.

We came away from our experience not only feeling happy and rejuvenated but inspired. We will definitely be back for a visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lokira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

I met Donn and Kat Carroll for the first time yesterday. They opened up the enchanting Adytum to our family and friends as an unbelievable location for my daughter's wedding. They took great care to make sure that every detail was taken care of. The beautiful setting that is Adytum makes every photograph a masterpiece. The unbelievable views in every direction, the gorgeous landscaping, beautiful gardens, and the perfectly decorated rooms (suites) make Adytum a perfect destination. All of the rooms are meticulously appointed with incredible treasures of books, art, and lovely furnishings. Adytum is truly a delicious experience. Thank you, Donn and Kat!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mctaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossyrock
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn & Suites
23.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
11.0 mi away
Seasons Motel
Seasons Motel
#1 of 1 in Morton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Blue Heron chateau
Blue Heron chateau
#1 of 1 in Castle Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise RV Campground
Paradise RV Campground
#1 of 2 in Silver Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
20.2 mi away
Silver Cove RV Resort
Silver Cove RV Resort
#1 of 1 in Silver Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adytum Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adytum Sanctuary

Property: Adytum Sanctuary
Address: 186 Skyview Dr, P.O. Box 668, Mossyrock, WA 98564-9676
Region: United States > Washington > Mossyrock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mossyrock
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconnect with all that really matters in life in the exquisite beauty and peace of Adytum...Stunning views from three stories and 75 windows of Lake Mayfield, Tilton and Cowlitz Rivers, DeGoede Bulb Farm and blueberry fields. Luxuriously appointed large suites, fine art and sculpture, romance and indulgences... magnificent natural beauty viewed through this house of glass...this is Adytum within. After a healthy self-catered breakfast, hike over nearly 16 acres of forest land or enjoy one of the many decks to read or watch the boats on the lake...Let the deep peace and serenity of Adytum work her magic on your spirit, mind and body... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing