We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Vernon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Firs B&B and Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Mount Vernon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I just have to say amazing again,amazing view amazing home ,amazing breakfast, and the most amazing sweet people, Linda and Vic treated us as though we were family,Linda went above and beyond for us, or trip was to say good-bye to a loved one we lost, and Linda made us feel so much at ease in her home, we will be back again and again, There is no place like home, Thank you again Linda and Vic, and boosky and cracker, with love Denise

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butterflyandmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

We spent a lovely night here on a short trip to Washington State from Vancouver BC. Linda and Vic could not have been nicer. Their home is up the side of a mountain and a bit of a daunting drive, however the view from this massive deck is not to be missed! The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. They even made a roaring fire after we returned from dinner. Breakfast was wonderful, homemade and filling. This is a delightfull B&B, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Don't stay here unless you want to be treated like a member of the family, or want the best breakfasts you will ever get, or enjoy a view that is amazing, or watch wildlife stroll by outside your window. 6 wonderful days and nights. Linda, what can I say but thanks for a memorable stay. Bring begging strips for Boosky the resident dog. Don & Pauline

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flaflyer2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

To be honest I was not quite sure about Whispering Firs B&B near Mt Vernon, WA because my husband who never plans our vacations picked it out. He is an avid hunter and fisherman and we both love the outdoors. From the moment that we arrived I was very, very impressed. Linda and Vic Benson are top notch hosts. They went way out of their way to cater to our every need. They asked us when WE wanted breakfast. We stayed one night in the NW Mastersuite, the room had an amazing view down onto the valley and beyond, The room was an awesome mix of masculine and feminine, which appealed to both of us and make us feel very soothed. The grounds were very beautiful, flowers everywhere, everythign inside and out was clean and neat. Linda had beautiful fresh flower arrangement in the house. I picked up some wonderful decorating ideas from Linda. We enjoyed a wonderful restful night's sleep and breakfast was the best we had on the whole trip of 9 days! We had Dutch Pancakes, Amish Baked Oatmeal and fresh berries. It was so good!!! Linda even gave us the recipes. Ask Linda about their wonderful massage recliner, ooohh! Best B&B experience to date. If you have a problem with animal taxidermy you might want to make a differant choice but we loved it, loved it, loved it all!

Room Tip: By far the NW Mastersuite is the best for couples, the Stellar room would be perfect for ladies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MoMema93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I travelled 8,500 miles this summer through national parks and stayed in a wide variety of places. This one scores in the top! I stayed here one night, en route from Mt. Rainier to Glacier National Park.

Without my GPS I would never have found it - tucked as it is up in the foothills and overlooking the city of Mt. Vernon. The winding and climbing driveway really fascinating me because it was so natural! Yes, I ended up at Whispering Firs with a room that overlooked this prosperous farming community, flowers, deck, jacuzzi, etc. My room was entirely in blue and white, crisp, clean and inviting. I had a private bath and access to a personal computer so I could communicate with friends back home.

The living area is decorated with stuffed animals, including a bear that looks ready to say hello. I found the lodge atmosphere very pleasing. The resident Irish Setter is quite real, also very pleasing although a bit shy.

Breakfast was elegant. The lady of the house is a gourmet cook, catere, and natural hostess.

This was a relaxing and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SandraWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I didn't give it "5" for sleep quality because it was almost too quiet for us to sleep. It's so close to Seattle yet so removed from civilization!
But not removed from comforts! We enjoyed wonderful breakfasts in the dining room and a delightful coffee station (see the picture!) We had a very private room in the nw corner of the "house" with a portion of private deck as well as our restroom and a small sitting room. We spent a bit of time just sitting out on the deck enjoying the woods and the view.
It's a country drive to go out to eat, but we did that a couple of times just because we were on vacation! (went to the Chuckanut Manor for a leisurely shoreside lunch and the next day we went someplace I don't remember the name of in La Connor).
The theme of the house is definitely: hunting lodge! There entry way is so full of stuffed animals, of all sizes and types, you could imagine you are out in the woods even though you just walked inside. I admit to being caught off guard, and I jumped a couple of times thinking I was in the presence of a live animal. For anyone who really loves that theme this could be nirvana!
I can't remember if there was a pool. There was a water feature and a jacuzzi, but I think it was covered due to bad weather earlier in the week, and because the other reservations for the weekend had cancelled. The deck looked incredible for entertaining a large party like a reception or wedding. For me, the views were just incredible. All day long I could gaze out on Skagit Valley, Puget Sound, the Olympic Mountains. In peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toriadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This B&B and Lodge is a real find. It is nestled among the tall firs in the foothills of the Cascades in a beautiful setting with a great view. The proprietors make you feel like part of the family and provide all the comforts of home. The breakfasts are imaginative, delicious and will remove all thought of lunch from you mind. Dinners are available by request that are also great. The rooms are airy, clean and quiet. An Irish Setter roams the place adding to the inviting, at-home charm.

Couldn't be better

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredAnoka_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn and Convention Center
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
509 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western College Way Inn
Best Western College Way Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
146 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Firs B&B and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Firs B&B and Lodge

Address: 19357 Kanako Ln, Mount Vernon, WA 98274-7611
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Vernon
Price Range: £53 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serving travelers since 1986. Large rooms w/astounding views delicious meals kids, pets OK. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing