We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Stayed here 1 night had a jacuzzi suite......clean room, bed comfy, employyees friendly and a great breakfast

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    189
    75
    18
    7
See reviews for
154
159
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merritt, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

My wife and I started traveling to the Mt Vernon/Burlington area a few years ago as it offered so much to see and do. It was close enough to spend time in Seattle or at the outlet malls but still provided the opportunity for touristy trips to see some amazing countryside.
We tried a number of hotels before hitting the Best Western CottonTree Inn and have not stayed anywhere else in this area in more than four years.
The staff is super friendly and go out of their way to help out. Two years ago on a long weekend, when my motorcycle starter died, maintenance staff were there waiting to help me push start it each and every day.
The staff at the front desk are knowledgeable and friendly, the free breakfast keeps getting better, the rooms are huge and clean, and we just look forward to our stays there each and every time we make a reservation. The reservation folks are very accommodating and always willing to try to meet our needs which change depending on the reason we are there. We just feel like we are family when we are at this hotel.
We have started bringing friends there with us and they are just as happy as we are to stay there.
All in all, this is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for some place to stay outside the hustle and bustle of Seattle, the serenity of Whidbey Island, a trip to Mt Baker or even the many casinos in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mona5742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

The hotel is older however the rooms have been renovated. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The lobby is ok but the staff was friendly. There is no gym on site but they have an agreement with a gym next door that was more than adequate. Breakfast was free but terrible.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmoran150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCTI-GM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean, recently renovated guest rooms and our comfortable beds. Since the health next door offers a complete gym, group fitness, indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna it is a great amenity to be able to offer our guests and I am glad you had a chance to enjoy it.

I see that you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast. We are continually trying to improve our breakfast experience for our guests, so if would email me or write to us directly and share your suggestions on what we can do to improve it that would be very helpful.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Laura McDaniel
General Manager
laura@bwcti.com
2300 Market Street
Mount Vernon, WA 98273
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Hands down this is the best hotel deal. They honor AAA and AARP, they are clean, they serve a full breakfast, free wifi, courteous staff, use of next door fitness center and comfortable, clean, roomy rooms and bed. I've stayed at all their competitors in the Burlington-Mt. Vernon area and this one impressed me the most, and, it was 25% less cost! Try it, you'll like it, and that is why I gave them an "excellent:" rating.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCTI-GM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you sharing your wonderful comments. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride at the CottonTree ensuring guests get more than they expect. It is great to know that we were up to your expectations.

Again, thank you for sharing your feelings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Laura McDaniel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

This location is right near the Burlington Outlets. I bought the room on Priceline for a great price.

When we checked in - we were welcomed by a great team member (Rhonda) and given cookies. She told us about the partnership with the health club next doors, so we used the hot tub.

We got to the room and it was HUGE! Comfy/cosy beds, fridge and Microwave... what else do you need.... Breakfast! That was included too! Hot bacon and eggs one morning with different add-ons like waffles, cereal and yogurt.

Don't miss out on this great location and value for your money!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

I've stayed at this hidden gem since it was new and before it was named the Cotton Tree Inn or branded Best Western. It's about 25 years old but incredibly well-maintained in detail--sinks, surfaces, edges, door finishes, furniture, bathroom floors etc. My favorite feature is the 625 square feet you get with full wet bar, fridge, and microwave. I love the third floor north where you can see the bridges across the Skagit River and where the indoor hallway is about 14 feet high like a grand lodge. You can park your car where it can be seen from your room and walk to Safeway, full retail shopping, or K-Mart and Wal-Mart. The parking lot is large and secure. Right next door you have free access to a thriving privately-owned health club which pre-dates the hotel.

Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank dukesjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Vintage hallways, large rooms, nice looking. The bed was too firm for me, so poor sleep. Lots of ice in parking lot, so unsafe walking to and from car. The biggest disappointment: I turned on the TV and was assaulted by 'adult entertainment' on the menu first thing. If you must have that, why is it in your face when you turn on the tube? I asked to have it turned off, but that didn't change the menu display. Disgusting. The young receptionist looked at me like I was from another planet when I protested. I checked at another local hotel in Mt. Vernon and they don't have it. I'll never choose a best western again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worktravelerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCTI-GM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and sharing you concerns. We take great pride at the CottonTree ensuring our guest's get more than they expect. It disappoints me to know that we were not up to your expectations.

We currently do provide a variety of paperview movies. This includes all kinds of movies from Disney to movies still in theaters. Unfortunately this movie package does come with adult movies as well. However, we do have the option to turn adult movies off and would be happy to do so should you stay with again. Upon renewal time we will be reviewing our options and may go a different direction because we do realize that having adult movies isn't as "family friendly" as we strive to be.

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies about the ice in our parking lot. Our guest's safety is very important to us and we are looking into better options to clear the ice for next winter.

Again, thank you for sharing your feelings. Because of guests like you we can strive to have a better, stonger staff with complimenting amenities. We hope next time you are in our area you will give us another try.

Sincerely,

Laura McDaniel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Burlington
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center

Property: Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center
Address: 2300 Market St, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5449 (Formerly Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cottontree Hotel Mount Vernon
Best Western Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing