We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Future of Flight Aviation Center closed?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour

Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Morning Tour of Boeing Factory from Seattle
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Mukilteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located approximately 25 miles north of Seattle, The Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour is the only public tour of a commercial jet assembly plant in North America. Explore the interactive exhibits and displays in our 28,000-square-foot Aviation Center Gallery; then take a 90-minute tour of the Boeing plant where you can watch 747s, 777s, or 787 Dreamliners being assembled right before your eyes. There is a minimum height requirement of 4 feet (122 cm) for children participating in the Boeing Tour. To avoid disappointment please make sure to check height before purchasing tickets. This restriction is strictly enforced. ADA accessible tours are offered twice daily. Call in advance to ensure proper accommodations. In the Future of Flight Aviation Center Gallery, the Family Zone is home to a number of different activities, all designed around a theme of aircraft manufacturing and assembly. Activity carts let visitors build a simple aircraft model, or use our Lego (and Lego-compatible) pieces to express new ideas about aircraft design. A kid-sized airport and aircraft allow future pilots of all ages to practice their take-offs and landings. Currently, the Family Zone is also home to a highly engaging, hands-on nanotechnology exhibit, and our new Bernoulli Table, an exciting interactive experience that teaches the relationship between the velocity of air and the pressure it exerts. Coloring and reading activities are also available, and drop-ins are welcome. Admission is free for ticket holders and for Future of Flight Foundation Members.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Future of Flight Aviation Center closed?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Ok, if you like airplanes, the tour is a must. Very cool seeing 747, 777 and 787 being produced. 747-8 in production July 2014. It'd be nice if they gave you a little time to read/watch the information on the observation floors- our guide, while humorous and knowledgeable, did not give time for this. Have good talk then moved us on immediately).

My complaint and rating based on the fact that the Aviation Center was closed the afternoon we were there (to set up for an Air New Zealand party taking delivery of the very first 787-9). We had just bought our tickets the afternoon before and there was no mention of this. I don't think that's right. They gave $5 voucher for food or gift shop, but they should have simply reduced the price (adds up! $18 x 4 = $72)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BETravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for visiting from the Bay Area. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour. We will pass along your feedback on observation floor time. .

While it is pretty exciting to be here on a day as special as the celebration for the first 787-9, we understand your disappointment at not having access to the Future of Flight Aviation Gallery. Information about the gallery closure was posted on our website and was easily missed. Hopefully you were able to use the vouchers for something to eat or in the stores.

Please take this as an invitation to come back again on us so you can experience the gallery exhibits and get a FREE picture of yourselves (gray screen) with the factory in the background.

If you are interested, please contact me at 425-438-8100 x 223.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,212
    830
    261
    72
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Interesting but could be alot better... just good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I guess the real rating should be good not very good, but the choices were fair or very good. Anyway the tour brings you high (about 150 feet) above the assembly line with the planes partially assembled but you can't actually see them doing anything. They are too far away (they can fit 10 football fields in the assembly area). The guide points to various parts of the assembly floor and says this happens here and this happens there and this is a new process but we can't show you it. It is interesting to "HEAR" what is being done and to see the planes in pieces but you either don't get close enough to actually see or the area is covered or the work being done is inside the plane. oh yeah no pictures, video, cell phones, handbags, purses, or backpacks allowed. You need to rent a locker to put them in or you can't go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PHILLYPHAZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for visiting from Philadelphia, and thanks for your candid remarks.

Hopefully you got to get up close to the airplane parts and pieces in the Future of Flight Aviation Gallery and have a FREE picture taken, which features you with the factory in the background.

To get a look at what work is done inside the airplanes to finish them, there are many good videos available at boeing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boeing factory tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I took my 15 year old son on the Boeing Factory tour and we both absolutely loved it! Our tour guide was very factual and knew the answers to all our questions. We have friends coming from Australia soon and we are definitely bringing them to do this tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angelx36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for visiting from Vancouver BC. We are always happy to see our friends and neighbors from BC.

We look forward to welcoming you back and to meeting your friends from Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Impressive tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The tour was perfectly organized and very informative, but it left me hungering for more. The museum was beautiful and impressive, but they should add more exhibits.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for visiting from California!

If you are hungering for more, please come back again. We are adding more exhibits and activities and there is always something new on the Paine Field flight line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“Traveling from Vancouver, BC to Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've been on several factory tours but I don't know of one better than this one. I've never seen one more organized or better set up than this. The tour guide was knowledgeable and she could not have been more pleasant. I seen the Dreamlifter been loaded in Japan a few years ago and it was interesting to see it at it's home base. We were so glad we found the pamphlet advertising the tour. I was in the service in Washington when this building was being constructed and it was so nice to finally see the inside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DomC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for visiting us from Rhode Island! We are happy you found the brochure while you were driving to Vancouver BC!

We are so happy you enjoyed the experience and what a treat to see where the Dreamlifters live after seeing one loaded in Japan. How nice to be able to come back years later and see the inside of a building that was under construction years earlier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour also viewed

 

Been to Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing