We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No oysters at the Oyster Farm?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nahcotta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moby Dick Hotel and Oyster Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Nahcotta B&B and Inns
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“No oysters at the Oyster Farm?”
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We have a mixed review for the Moby Dick and its proprietors/staff:
The tiny town of Nahcotta does not have much going on, but what it does have is not half bad! There is a great access point for the huge public (ocean) beach, which was a wonderful 4 minute drive away for us and our 2 dogs. Truly, this was the highlight of our time there- walking the beach with them. Also, Long Beach is not that far away, and it does have plenty going on!

Unfortunately, the bay "beach" at the Moby Dick is non-existent; it is all marshy grass, then water. Also unfortunately, due to pesticide use in the bay, the Moby Dick was harvesting/serving NO oysters, something we knew before going but was still somewhat disappointing.

Our room was alright, but the fan/light quit working right almost as soon as we got there, so we used the bedside lamps for the duration of our stay (2 nights). We paid $40 extra for our dogs to stay with us.

We ate 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner there, and these, too, had their good points and bad points. The good point was the food- it was very good. The bad point was the service- it was SO SLOW. There was one lady serving everyone, and although she was pleasant, it was very hard not to get resentful when breakfast took an hour and 15 minutes each morning and we had to get our own coffee most of the time. Considering the prices at the Moby Dick, there is no good reason to have that level of service going on in their dining room.

Finally, there was a vague feeling at this hotel that "nobody was home" or that the inmates were running the asylum. :) If we hadn't chanced to run into one of the owners when we arrived, I have no idea where we would have found anyone to check us in, etc. Some guests may like this scenario, but we found it kind of strange. In the future, we will probably choose a place in Long Beach instead of the Moby Dick.

  • Liked — very comfortable bed, good food
  • Disliked — slow service in dining room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

The Moby Dick is a great place if you are traveling with a pet. Our exuberant puppy was welcomed at the hotel and had a great time running around the large property. The rooms themselves are somewhat quirky. Ours had a shared bathroom but fortunately the other room was unoccupied (had it been occupied, however, it would've been way too close for comfort). Also, if you are noise sensitive be aware that the walls are thin (we could hear someone snoring through the wall). That said, it's a friendly, casual and laid-back place in a very beautiful setting. At night we saw plenty of stars and heard owls hooting in the nearby trees. The breakfast was fresh and filling, but the service was a bit overwhelmed even though the hotel wasn't fully occupied.

  • Liked — Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — Shared Bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wander_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2006

We had a poor dining experience. The staff was inattentive, the order bungled, and the food insipid. The only saving grace of the meal was a good bottle of wine. The dinner menu at the Moby Dick Hotel Restaurant is limited, and each member of our party had a different entree. The beef was dull, the chicken pasta bland, and the seafood not what was ordered. The staff forgot to bring the starter course with nothing more than an apology when we pointed it out as the bill was presented. Overall, a huge disappointment.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank LoulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nahcotta hotels

maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2005

My time here is what i find myself telling people about. It was exactly what i'd hoped to find on holiday...beautiful natural surroundings, a stylishly funky space, excellent cuisine highlighting local (and homegrown) food, peace and relaxation (ah! the sunset sauna, the garden, the soaking tub....). Stumbled upon it by happy accident and ended up staying an extra night. How can i get back?

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nahcotta
6.8 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Campbell House at Klipsan Beach
3.1 mi away
The Surfside Inn
The Surfside Inn
#1 of 4 in Ocean Park
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
10.0 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charles Nelson Guest House
Charles Nelson Guest House
#2 of 6 in Ocean Park
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Hotel and Oyster Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Hotel and Oyster Farm

Property: Moby Dick Hotel and Oyster Farm
Address: 25814 Sandridge Road, P.O. Box 82, Nahcotta, WA 98637
Region: United States > Washington > Nahcotta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nahcotta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing