We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hobuck Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Neah Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobuck Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neah Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hobuck Beach Resort is a great place to stay. The cabins by the beach are clean and well equipped, the furniture is nice, beds are comfortable. The location is amazingly beautiful. Staff at check-in was friendly. The resort is dog-friendly and dogs are allowed on the beach. Wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anela999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    38
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
40
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hobuck Beach Resort is in a stunning location. Wild camping at its best. Plenty of space to pitch tents, light a camp fire plus immediate access to the beach. If camping the facilities are basic, so unless you are prepared to rough it you may be just a little disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
5 Thank NorfolkWrinklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hobuck Beach Resort is a beautiful place that is certainly off the beaten path. Known as the most Northwestern point of the state of Washington, it is on the Makah Indian Reservation and worth the visit. There are RV cabins on the beach and smaller, older cabins just off the beach in a camping area. The resort is dog-friendly and the beach is plenty large to enjoy all manner of activities. When we reserved a cabin for the weekend of July 4th, we thought we were obtaining an RV cabin on the beach but instead obtained one of the off-beach cabins in the camping area. We did not anticipate that the campers with their tents, vehicles and campfires would be literally steps away from our cabin. That being said, each day our cabin filled with the aroma of lighter fluid, smoke, and vehicle exhaust. We enjoyed our porch light in the waning light of evening but found that our camping neighbors wanted us to turn out the light because it was too bright in their campsite. Quite frankly, if we wanted to camp, we would have not have paid $150 dollars for a cabin. What's more, our view out each window brought visions of neighboring camper's underwear, towels, wetsuits, sporting equipment, and port-a-potties. Just a thought. Know what you are renting before arriving.

Room Tip: Ask for the RV cabins when making your reservation. Then make sure you are getting an RV cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank camodoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

It's not often that a place WAY over exceeds expectations, but Hobuck did! I was expecting a cabin of course, but was NOT expecting them to be so nice inside. We stayed in an RV cabin (don't be fooled by the name, you don't have to have an RV...but they have very nice views!). From the minute we checked in (the man that helped us was great!) it was simply an amazing place. Countless bald eagles, the gorgeous views of the ocean (even from the table in the cabin!)...just awesome. The porches are large and covered so you can sit on them even in the rain. Inside, the furnishings were great, large flat tv, very comfortable bed, just everything you could need!
I wouldn't change a thing and even wrote down our cabin number because we WILL be back. I really cannot say enough about this place. We hiked out to Cape Flattery and also did the Makah Museum (a must-do if you're in the area). Of our 16 day trip to Seattle and the coast, Hobuck was our absolute favorite place to stay. Bring food, cups, etc. But they do have dishes (we brought our own dishsoap, etc). If you're a local, consider bringing a small barbecue grill perhaps. As a writer, I spent hours sitting on the porch brainstorming and thanks to Hobuck's views and porches...I now have several new book ideas! Thanks Hobuck for being FAR nicer than expected!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MellieNem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

On the beach. All the cabins are worth the price. Clean and well maintained. Flat screen with satellite. Fold out couch for extra people. Full kitchens. Hot showers after a cold day in the ocean. Deck for coolers and wet things.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

If you want to explore Shi Shi Beach and Cape Flattery (we also checked out the Ozette Loop to the south) this is the best location and nicest set of accommodations in the area. At first the off season rate seemed a little steep until we added up how much it would be for gas (AND time) to drive from a more distant accommodation as well as adding up the extra charges for a total of 4 people. We had one set rate for the cabin irregardless of our number ($135/night). The cabins are fairly new so are still somewhat nice, although things such as a partially broken handle on the refrigerator and on the microwave as well as a broken threshold on the sliding glass door (caused by not putting enough wood on either side of the threshold) removed some of the "niceness". When I reported these items to the staff person at checkout and made some suggestions for repair and prevention of the broken threshold, she took notes and took my suggestions seriously. We were in one of the "RV Cabins", cabin 15, and still had a great view of the beach and headlands as well as very close access to the beach. The cabin had a nice flat screened TV and we were able to get wireless fairly easily. We had no cell coverage but we able to compensate with Google phone on our laptop. The kitchen was well stocked and even had a crockpot! The only thing lacking was a pitcher. The cabin was clean and the bed was comfortable. If we did it again we would probably move to the north at least one more cabin for a better view as the "View Cabins" blocked part of the view from our unit when sitting on one side of the room. The 3 southernmost RV cabins had most or all of their view blocked. Conversely, the further north one was in the line of "RV Cabins" the weaker the wireless signal became. Be sure to get your $10 yearly pass for visiting the Makah Nation natural sites. It can be purchased at the Museum in town.

Room Tip: Choose a cheaper "RV cabin", cabin 15 through 18 for the best rate and view. You might as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PullmanCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

PROS
--remote location: just steps from Hobuck beach, with nothing else around for miles. Won't get a whole lot more remote for this price, unless you are camping.

--well appointed kitchen: all the things you need for cooking, and a 4 burner regular size stove, oven, large refrigerator and table that seats 4.

--comfortable bed. In cabin 6 that was one queen

--quiet: we were there over 3 day weekend (in winter) and never heard anyone else while we were inside, though other travelers ranged from a group of motorcyclists to a couple with 3 dogs.

--you can bring your dog. And everyone seems to.

--Amazingly strong water pressure, makes a very nice shower!

--5 minutes from trailhead for ShiShi beach, 5 minutes from Neah Bay town in the other direction

--nice welcome from staff.

CONS
--really not anything serious.
--there is no closet in bedroom, or room to really lay out your bag.
--the bathroom is small, you're definitely not going to share the sink w/another, but full size tub.
--if you care a lot about aesthetics, the feel half way between vintage beach cottage (plaster seagulls adorn the walls) and comfortable modern cabin (leather sofa and flat screen). Its not the whole spa treatment with white duvets and rose petals. That was fine with us!

Some of the other reviews make remarks about the community. I will simply say, suspend your judgements about how prosperity, tidiness and culture intersect.

Room Tip: no direct water view from campground cabins, but very close. might be quieter than RV area cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grapeexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neah Bay
18.4 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
19.1 mi away
Big Fish Lodge
Big Fish Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
18.6 mi away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
No photo provided
20.2 mi away
The Homestead Cabins
The Homestead Cabins
#4 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobuck Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobuck Beach Resort

Property: Hobuck Beach Resort
Address: 2726 Makah Passage, Makah Indian Reservation, Neah Bay, WA
Region: United States > Washington > Neah Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neah Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground and cabins ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobuck Beach Hotel Neah Bay
Hobuck Beach Resort Neah Bay, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing