We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel value priced for Whidby Is.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel value priced for Whidby Is.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night and was pleasantly surprised as Best Westerns are typically not our choice hotel. We upgraded to a larger room, which had a seating area, large bathroom and vaulted cielings with a small patio. Room was clean, check-in was quick and efficient. Bed was quite comfortable and had free wi-fi. There is a small pool and they also served a continental breakfast, which was also quite good. The only downside we had with this hotel was the rather noisy "thru the wall" type AC/Heater. Fortunately we were able to shut it off and open the slider for some cool air thru the night.
Overall, I do believe this is probably the best hotel on Whidby Island.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 to upgrade to the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Tom H, we certainly are pleased that you and your wife were pleasantly surprised with our Best Western PLUS hotel. Thanks for sharing you believe it to be the best hotel on Whidbey Island. As we continue to Strive For Excellence, we hope you will return for another visit very soon. Thank you Tom H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    202
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
133
163
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Not a lot of choices for Oak Harbor area but I would say this is the best. Room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and the location was good. We would stay there again on our next trip..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time Mitch056 to complete a review. Your comments are appreciated and we are very happy to read that you would stay at Best Western PLUS again. Thank you Mitch056.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Be sure you smell the room before you unpack. Two of this hotels rooms smelled so bad we could not stay there and had to move. The pool and spa area was just at the point before falling apart, tiles missing and could use a good cleaning. The pool was freezing and too cold for all but the heartiest of us to go in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank DetaBosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Dianne B, we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We will do our utmost to improve upon all the areas you mentioned in your review (smell in room, pool was freezing and tiles missing). Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will return so we may have another opportunity to serve you and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed in fancier BW PLUS hotels (in large cities like Minneapolis), but this one was great for Whidbey Island beach community. Nice pool, convenient to many great places to eat, close to Deception Pass, and easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Joanne S, your review perfectly describes the Best Western PLUS on Whidbey Island. Thank you for sharing it and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, WA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our son is an officer in the Navy, stationed at Whidbey Island Naval Air Station, less than a mile from this hotel. When we visited our son and D-I-L recently, we stayed here for four nights, because our son said it was the best hotel in town, and we were not disappointed. Clean, nice rooms. Great free hot breakfast with a wide variety of food: eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, hash browns, oatmeal, muffins, yogurt, bagels, fruit, cereal, etc. Fresh cookies and fruit are put out in the lobby in the evenings! The pool and hot tub are outdoors, so probably only open in the summer. Computer and free printer in the lobby to print boarding passes, advance tickets, etc. Highly recommend this hotel, but BE ADVISED: there is a Naval AIR Station less than a mile away, and there are Navy jets flying over all day and sometimes at night. If this is bothersome to you, you probably don't want to stay on Whidbey Island at all, because the jets also use a carrier practice landing strip down by Coupeville in the middle of the island. The noise wasn't that bad, IMHO. My son works closely with a squadron of those jets, so I consider it the sound of FREEDOM! Ha Ha

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Mr. Douglas M, we appreciate you staying with us as recommended by your son. In addition, we are pleased to read you found the Best Western PLUS "Clean, nice rooms and you were not disappointed". Thank you for your review and do pass along our Thanks to your son for mentioning to you "its the best hotel in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved the Best Western in Oak Harbor, Washington for a weekend stay to mountain bike in the area. Although they were experiencing a bad computer problem that affected 30 over-bookings, they honored our reservation made by phone, and accommodated us in a vaulted room on the 3rd floor. We love that they are pet-friendly, the rooms are super clean, parking is free, and the breakfast is included (although no organic options, which we would like to see Best Western start to include). Would like recycling in the rooms and lobby. Good AAA value. Good location to State Parks and quaint Coupeville.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Ms. Kate H, we are happy you stayed with us. Thanks for submitting a review and mentioning the super clean rooms and parking is free. And we will consider your recommendation for organic options for breakfast. Thank You for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

being rated #1 in Oak Harbor (out of 4) did not make me confident when I booked a soccer team at this location. I'll start with reservations. The Manager Mr. Marshall is a keeper. He set us up and did not let me down from start to finish.
The Staff (shout out to Ashleigh...and her trainee Kristen, yes I did that :)
was awesome and took care of all our needs and even kept 16-15 year olds in check.
The Hotel is on Hwy 20 but you don't notice other then its easy access. Its an older hotel that has been remodeled and done right. No smells, No loud air conditioners bathrooms with sinks outside of the toilet/bathtub.
The rooms were spacious and clean with room for a blow up bed if you are so inclined.
The breakfast was yummy with French toast on Saturday and SOS on Sunday. Top that with bacon, scrambled eggs and potatoes and you have one heck of a free meal.
Pool was outside and a bit tight for 16 kids but they all had a good time.
Deception pass was beautiful and the Shrimp shack down the street was packed.
Chinese Restaurant next door(in the parking lot) was perfect with happy hour from 3-7 for parents. Try the Crab wonton.
The staff at this Best Western is a 10 only competition they have that I am aware of is Ahtanum Inn staff which is also a 10.
Keep up the good work and I look forward to visiting you all next year again.
No Kristen that is not a threat...LOL

Room Tip: like the earlier posts said the 3rd floor has high beamed ceilings in the rooms so looks larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
SoccerUp, Thank You for selecting the Best Western PLUS. On behalf of my Team and I, we sincerely THANK YOU for such a wonderful review. It was our PLEASURE to serve you and your team. We look forward to your return next year. Again, THANK YOU so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
7.1 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
13.3 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
282 reviews
21.4 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8713 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor - Whidbey Island Located 1 mile from NAS Whidbey Island, Base 6 miles from deseption pass bridge. AAA 3 diamond hotel and China City Restaurant is located on the property. King and queen bed rooms are available. Go whale watching or sit on one of the many beaches located on the north end of Whidbey Island. Rates vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Best Western Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing