We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and very nice rooms”
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acorn Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and very nice rooms”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I was traveling with my husband and three kids for a quick weekend away. The gentleman at the front desk offered to move us to a bigger room with more beds for a nominal change in rate, not much more than a rollaway. Clean, comfortable, quiet, pretty, well stocked small hotel close to many conveniences. It is right in the middle of town, but for us this was great. My teens went out geocaching nearby and to Starbucks while we put the small fry down. I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Backside of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachitmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
64
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I'm in my 60's and was traveling alone. I had booked a Queen Room, but the friendly gentleman at the desk gave me a suite, which was more like a 2 bedroom apartment, in a safe spot that had parking right in front. He even walked me to the room. The rooms were freshly painted and carpeted, with crown molding and lovely window dressings in all the rooms. The flat screen in the main room is enormous and there is another TV in one of the bedrooms!
I will recommend this to all of my Alaskan friends (and to all reading this)!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We just returned from a two day stay at the Acorn Motor Inn.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, even shifting our reservation at the last minute with no issues. But most importantly, our room was spotless. The bed was firm and comfortable and all the fixtures and furnishings were in very good condition. It appears that the building has had a recent renovation and the quality of materials and workmanship is all very good.
The grounds and building are also very well kept and neat and tidy.
We would not hesitate to stay again next time we are visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimw1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My brother and his family have stayed here before and recommened it and so do I.

The outside of the building looks a little warn, but inside has been remodeled. The room looked all new.

The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were a little thin. The room has big TV comfortable chairs, new microwave and fridge.

The shower was great lots of hot water.

The continental "breakfast" is coffee, bagles, muffins.

They wifi was good, the owners supper friendly.

Some of the Oak Harbor residents have loud mufflers, but road noise was not bad, but if that bothers you I would ask for a room away from the road.

The rooms are very dark at night, good black out curtains.

Near to lots of restaurants, Safeway, Coin Laundry, Walgreens.

Room Tip: Some of the Oak Harbor residents have loud mufflers, but road noise was not bad, but if that bothers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glowdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTM
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Refurbished motel in Oak Harbor. We lucked into getting the Bridal Suite at the regular rate since it was the last room available for our reservation. Everything was spotless. The suite was more than we needed and the bathroom was at the other end of the suite from the bedroom. It was a long dark walk in the middle of the night. I expect that the rest "non-suite" rooms were layed out in the standard format and would not have this "feature".
Good value, nice accomodations, nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcsdpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Had to stay there while we were moving from the Island to Florida! It was a beautiful room with a king size bed, the furniture was amazing, clean, tastefully decorated, I would highly recommend staying there. I was very happy with my week long stay

Room Tip: no pool or gym, but the rooms make up for not having that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kym60805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

After reading reviews on this hotel on Trip Advisor, I made reservations. I was still very surprised at how clean and nice the room was! For $70/night, the room was decorated very nice and so clean and quiet. The outside of the building is older looking, but the inside is a pleasant surprise. It is walking distance to a public beach area, and close to shopping and eating places. The Oriental gentleman that owns the hotel was very pleasant and helpful. They had a small continental breakfast, stand-up style, no tables. I would go back again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
5.6 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#3 of 6 in Oak Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Property: Acorn Motor Inn
Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-3172
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing