We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freshly redone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acorn Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Juneau, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Freshly redone!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is not a property I would have chosen from the outside, as it is on the corner of a busy street and busier street and appears to date from the '50's, but we were just passing through on our way south, looking for a place for the night, and the price was right.

I was pleasantly surprised! The windows did a good job of keeping out the traffic noise and the room was very comfortable. The decor was odd and dark, but everything was very clean -- the bathroom was new and immaculate. I would recommend this property to others.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, try to get a room on the back side of the building, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaliJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
64
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I knew not to expect much when the hotel cost less than $100, but the breakfast was a toaster and very limited cereal. Nothing fresh! The room was dark and the bed covers looked like they were original - from the 1960's. Give this one a pass!

Room Tip: If you have luggage, don't pick a room on the second floor - no elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wow-I stayed for 4 days on business, and although it looks like a classic mid-century hotel, everything on the inside was immaculate and state of the art. Mr. Wang, the proprietor, is very "old school" in his ways, even calling the day before to confirm. Everyone in his family is involved in the upkeep, and he said he had used a big contracting company from California to re-do the entire hotel 2 years ago and it does indeed look like he spent a big chunk for the renovations. Rooms were large,well-appointed,very comfy with over sized, new furniture. Queen size bedroom had a nice love seat/easy chair, refrigerator and microwave.Safeway and Walmart within 5 minute walking distance, and you can also walk to the quaint downtown and park. I had a quiet room on the second floor that faced a small neighborhood. Breakfast was muffins/bagels/toast and juice-complimentary. No hair dryer or ironing board/iron but available for check out.Don't miss the donut shop across the street that is open 24 hours and makes real homemade donuts, actually quite a few places to walk to nearby. I also appreciated that Mr. Wang offered me a rate of $30 less per night than online when I called the hotel. My only gripe was that there were no chain locks on the door, only a double deadbolt and when I questioned this he gave me a complete run down of what the state requires in terms of locks, the building code,etc.I'd stay there again in a heartbeat for the location, nice rooms and homey feel the entire place had. You'll also find that the owner, Mr. Wang, has a great sense of humor and can really debate world politics. Also,I took a shuttle from SEATAC airport and they dropped me off at the hotel,$80 round trip but a 2. 5 hour trip.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the hotel face a busy road, although not much traffic at night.I asked for a secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Quiet location, good size room, clean and decorated with beautiful furniture, great bed four poster with a comfy mattress, professional staff, breakfast was simple but fresh, great prices, no pool but great for a couple night stop over.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPERK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This seemed to be an older hotel but very well kept, clean and up to date with a friendly staff willing to held and accommodate it quests. Check in and out was quick and efficient. Set in a nice location its a great place for a quick stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at this motel for a third time in July 2014 - was in town for a horse event. It's scrupulously clean and comfortable, and the furnishings and bathroom fixtures are MUCH nicer than you would expect for a mom & pop motel (i.e., granite countertops, marble-topped furniture). It's centrally located on Whidbey, an easy drive to all attractions, and right across the street from a shopping center with a grocery store and Wal-Mart. My rooms have all had a fridge and microwave, which is a nice convenience.
Reading some of the reviews, it seems some other travelers expected a resort. Acorn Motor Inn (as the title suggests) is a motel, albeit a nice one. If you are looking for more resort style, Oak Harbor is probably not where you want to stay on Whidbey. The Langley area might offer more options along those lines.
I do agree with other reviewers that the owner (who is the check-in person) inquires about why you did not make reservations by phone. Clearly, this is because it costs him a fee when guests make reservations online (which he apparently charges back to the guest). I found this inquiry (and the charge-back) annoying, and told him I prefer making all my reservations online because I hate making phone calls! The owner needs to realize and accept that online reservations are the standard these days, and consider the associated fees a cost of doing business. If he needs to raise room prices a few dollars a night to compensate for it, that will probably be more palatable to his guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the motel, which is away from the busy road on which the motel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I am frankly surprised by the many very favorable reviews of this motel. We stayed in early August - and it was kind of a last resort for us, as many other places were booked.

The Good: Very clean room. Functional A/C (although blocked by furniture) and free, high-speed WiFi. The rates are reasonable and budget friendly. The highlight in the room was the very large flat-screen and free HBO. The bed and furniture were acceptable.

The Bad: The room was too small, and we kept banging our legs on the bed frames. The so-called "breakfast" is a Costco muffin and stale coffee. The greeter at check-in should learn some basic customer service. Despite the remodeling, much of the place has a worn down and cheap feel. And the location is right on the main road - so lots of traffic noise.

Bottom line: This is a good value if all you want is something functional, but if you prefer a more enchanting place to stay, I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Probably should get a room in the back, as it would be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omegaman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
5.6 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#4 of 6 in Oak Harbor
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Property: Acorn Motor Inn
Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-3172
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing