We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Breakfast place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Cafe

Island Cafe
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great Breakfast place”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We like going for breakfast. Their service is fast, their food is filling. Their prices are good. They have a great children's menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank djcc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    63
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home cookin' done here”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very nice family type restaurant. Try their corned beef hash for breakfast. Can't go wrong with that. Service is very good and the wait staff is always courteous. Menu consists of a wide variety of dishes from all american to mexican. Atmosphere is typical family restaurant busy busy. Have never tried their desserts so I can't speak to that.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tbone42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, and quick service from a place that was packed”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Unfortunately, they don't seem to understand that when someone has a food sensitivity, you can't just take the peppers off of a dish right before serving it, and have it be the same as if it were made without them. The mixed vegetables bothered my wife because they were cooked with peppers, and when she told them she couldn't eat peppers, they just removed them before serving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Their breakfast was good and their menu looked like it would be worth the while to return for lunch or dinner. Their coffee was excellent.
Watch out for their pancakes - they are large but were very good. Wish that they had more than one kind of syrup but the price and food were excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Prompt service and delicious food! Yes I recommend this cafe.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The restaurant was very busy when we arrived and still our food was served promptly! We started with a delicious and warm hot chocolate topped with whipped cream. Then we had a hamburger with fries (great fries). We also had the chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes - also very good. Just an FYI - if you order the "cream gravy" on the chicken fried steak and potatoes, it will be white gray with sausage in it (similar to what would be served on biscuits and gray). It was delicious but a little sweet (you may or may not like sweet). You can order "brown gravy" as an alternative. FYI - They serve breakfast ALL DAY.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gohikingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Cafe also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing