We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coachman Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

You could not go wrong with this hotel. The room was immaculate with fluffy, white towels and all other amenities. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet -- important since the hotel was full when we were there. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant; breakfast was more complete than we expected and exceeded the term "continental breakfast." I highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to catch the ferry through the San Juans. An added bonus was the drive to the hotel. Deception Bay was beautiful and a place that I will remember for a long time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xanadu444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed one night in a king room. The room was nice and clean. A small refrigerator was provided, the TV was an LCD, but the picture quality wasn't very good. I did appreciate the DVD player that was provided. The bed was comfy. We didn't eat the continental breakfast, so I don't have an opinion on it. We had planned on sleeping in, but the hotel was full of motorcycle riders for a rally that was happening that weekend, so that didn't happen. We need to plan more carefully in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarpGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Room was average in amenities, size and furnishings. The bed was not comfortable, it probably needed to be replaced. Everything was clean, neat and quite. Breakfast was better than average.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelectiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked a queen room and it was very nice-clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was always very friendly and happy to serve. The only thing I thought was lacking was the free continental breakfast. There was a toaster and breads (english muffins and regular bread) and cold cerial, orange juice, coffee and biscuits with gravy. I wished they had muffins and other choices. The pool and hot tub area was very inviting looking!

I would recommend this place for anyone to stay. It was very nice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was leary of staying in an independant hotel, but after reading previous reviews, I felt it was a safe bet and it was. The other hotels in the area looked a bit iffy. Its not a "new" or a chain but very comfortable. Staff was very friendly. We stayed for 4 days and would recommend it to others and would come back. It was the perfect place to stay to get to the farry's to the San Juan Islands. Only thing is the roads leading in and out of town are not lit and very very curvy and at night there is sometimes fog or rain making it difficult to drive an unknown road at night.

We ate the free continental breakfast each morning and it was acceptable as free breakfasts go (coffee/Tea/cereal/oatmeal/toast/donuts/bagels). There are not a lot of options for dining in town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanieHoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We reserved here with anxiety not sure which reviews to believe but were very happy with the accomodations. The hotel was very clean and up to date. Room was like any hotel room basically but with a few upgrades - crown moulding and really cool faucets. The continental breakfast was pretty good too. Hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereals, juice, english muffins, various muffins, peanut butter, coffee and apples. There was plenty to satisfy a simple appetite.
We did not use the spa area, but many people were there enjoying the pool and hot tubs.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelSonrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This was a pleasure trip. My girlfriend lives here in Oak Harbor, WA. I came to visit her and she showed me Oak Harbor and all of the island. We went on a Ferry Ride to PortTownsend, Wa. Such a cute town! We also visited Seattle, Wa. Was a great visit!!

My room had one large bed and a sofa, table and chair. Very clean. Nice staff and a delicious breakfast at the office. I brought my breakfast back to my room to eat it. I slept so good. So beautiful to look out at the trees! It was a very comfortable room. I know older persons would like the room with the pretty view. I had a downstairs room. Very easy to get into and out and close to the office. Families might need a larger room.

Room Tip: If you are bringing your breakfast back to your room--get a room close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7Purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
75.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.0 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Oak Harbor
151 reviews
21.3 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn & Suites

Address: 32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: £94 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coachman Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing