We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In this price range it can't be beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Coachman Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
PNW
Level Contributor
173 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“In this price range it can't be beat”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

How did I ever miss this one. I usually stay at the best western when I am in Oak harbor but the Coachman Inn is nicer and a much better price.

Comfortable bed, very clean, attractive decor through out the facility inside and out, quiet, nicely furnished rooms, nice wide parking spaces, and friendly and helpful staff.

Yes I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RLB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    115
    54
    9
    7
See reviews for
123
103
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way to another destination hotel. We found the Coachman Inn very clean, the front desk friendly and attentive. While it obviously should not be compared to the high end hotels, we believe this motel scores on the high end in its own class. It is refreshingly unique in that it is different from the main chain motels. It has character of its own. We liked that it is set away from the main road a bit, so it was very quiet overnight. The room itself is basic motel fare, but clean. Besides the bed and TV our room had two comfy chairs and a coffee table.
Since we prefer a very firm bed we found our queen mattress a bit soft. But that is a personal preference. There was nothing wrong with the quality of the bed. The pool is quite small for the size of the motel as is the breakfast area. Five small tables for 100+ rooms.
But we were happy with our choice and can recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caneuropianada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked a standard room. Apparently, their standard rooms come with a kitchen, fridge, microwave, stove, small dining table and all sorts of kitchenwares. The bed is clean. EVERYTHING IS CLEAN!

Also has a flat screen tv, dvd player and a couch. and we only paid ~$65 a night. This place also has 2 hot tubs and an heated swimming pool.

Also free breakfast. We liked the banana muffins a lot.

We liked this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Although my friend and I spent only one night we found the Coachman to be a good choice. The beds were very comfortable and it was quiet. The staff was knowledgeable and efficient. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We had a suite with two queens. We were on the upper floor and the heater didn't wake us at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnienew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from staying at this hotel. We did the Whidbey Island Half Marathon, and I chose this place based off previous customer reviews, location, and price. The ladies working at the front desk were very friendly and helpful - they recommended an excellent place for dinner the first night we were in town and made a reservation for us (Front Street Grill in nearby Coupeville). The room was clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. It was a pretty basic room, but it's all we needed for the two weekend nights we stayed here. The staff did an excellent job putting together a breakfast for the morning of the race. We didn't try their regular continental breakfast the first morning we were here, but for the race morning, they had lots of breads/muffins, peanut butter/jelly/butter, yogurt, various fruits, cereals, hot biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, and hot scrambled eggs. Plus there was two kinds of coffee, orange juice, milk, and water. Very good spread before a race. I'd definitely stay here again, especially if we return to do the Whidbey Island race in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DistantSun_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed the weekend in Oak Harbor for a getway and chose the Coachman after reading some reviews here. Plus, the price was reasonable.

The service was fantastic. The front desk was always super friendly and very accomodating. I noticed they treated every customer as if they were old friends.

Our room, however, could use a little updating. The decor was definitely late 70's/early 80's and the wallpaper was starting to peel. But, looks aside, the room was clean and comfortable once we got the heaters cranked up - it was a cold weekend!

I'd recommend the Coachman and would stay here again myself.

Room Tip: The "executive suite" is in a building by itself and is like a small apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My wife and I booked the hotel thru priceline and got a price about $20 below the advertised rate. Our purpose for the trip was to visit a friend and their new baby, so spending a lot of time at the hotel wasn't a huge priority. It's a very basic hotel, but well maintained, if slightly outdated. But really, no complaints. We slept great, beds are on the soft side, but was all we needed. The employees were friendly. Continental breakfast was free and basic. Definitely eat/drink and Flyers near by...local food, great fish, burgers, and of course, their own beer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dm2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.0 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#3 of 6 in Oak Harbor
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Oak Harbor
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn & Suites

Property: The Coachman Inn & Suites
Address: 32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Coachman Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing