We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place To Stay On Whidbey Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Coachman Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Bothell, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay On Whidbey Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We go to Whidbey Island every February for the Langley Murder Mystery Weekend. We first found this motel in 2011 and have stayed there every February since. The motel has very comfortable rooms and the staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Staying in Oak Harbor gives us access to a variety of restaurants and stores.

Room Tip: The motel sits off of the highway so I would expect most rooms to be quiet. We have stayed in a sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    108
    51
    8
    7
See reviews for
107
100
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My daughters and I were looking for a short trip for a long weekend. We love the Deception Pass area and Whidbey in general. This was the perfect spot. The room was nicely decorated, the beds were super comfortable, every thing was well maintained and clean. The basic amenities were better than many places I've stayed. Microwave/fridge, 37" tv, DVD player and DVDs to borrow, nice hot breakfast included. We had a nice time and will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraVall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

/My husband is a with a motorcycle group who do military funerals by setting up flag lines, escorting etc. They had a mission in Oak Harbor and so we both went to it, because we had never been in Oak Harbor before so I made reservations at the Coachman Inn, WOW! what a nice place..the very sweet little lady....85 yrs young...gave a berevement discount and when we got there our room wasn't ready so we got a free upgrade...a very comfortable room, clean and bright...the bed was so comfortable my hubby was wanting to bring it home...by the way the inn is veteran owned..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie3749Tumwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
170 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

For years, my route took me to Whidbey Island, and during those years I stayed at several different hotels. I visited Oak Harbor every other week, and after three months of 'looking' and 'comparing' the different hotels available, I selected The Coachman Inn as my 'regular'.

Yes, there is variety in rooms, smoking, non-smoking, standard and suites.

We've NEVER had / experienced a 'justifiable' negative stay at the Coachman Inn. I truly believe it to be the best, highest value Inn on North Whidbey, without question.f

Whatever room I use, I always find them well appointed, clean, well maintained and in short, perfect. I've never stayed here where sleep was interrupted.

I have had guests travel with me and they've always commented on the perfect stay. Wifi is included, but some of the remote rooms have occasional weak signals - this is TYPICAL of all wifi in Oak Harbor.

Now, whenever my wife and I go to Oak Harbor, it is our hotel of choice. I appreciate the support they give to the military as well. The offered/included breakfast is by selection, not a full restaurant menu, but adequate to start the day. SOME military folks will enjoy the sausage gravy over an english muffin, bisquit - or hard boiled eggs, or you make it waffles, cereal, toast, apples or oranges ... your choice, OR one can eat at several different restaurants nearby.

Our stays at The Coachman are comfortable and the staff are friendly. Recommended as #1 in Oak Harbor

Room Tip: I like to stay in the suites - kitchenette, great. And/or in a jacuzzi room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SBruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed one night in July while traveling. There are favorable reviews about the larger rooms with sitting area and kitchens, but our room was very basic, with one queen bed for around $100. Wall mounted AC/heater, bed, TV, small table, amenities... all standard and like what you find in thousands of other motels. It's right on the main highway running through Oak Harbor, surrounded by other stores and restaurants, so location is convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We love taking trips to Whidbey Island and the place we always love to stay at is The Coachman Inn at Oak Harbor. Not only can you take short trips from the Inn as a base but the amenities are plentiful. The room we always choose has a kitchen and a roommy sitting area to catch up on reading or watch a favorite video. they have a wonderful breakfast that is included and yes even a pool & hot tub. but best of all is the Customer Service. the Coachman Inn is our home away from home & we never tire of the sightseeing on Whidbey Island. there our so many small towns to sight see, One of our favorite's (Coupville). You can drive there or ferry.
Here is there phone # 1-800-635-0043 I know they will help you in every way.

Richard and Paula McBrady

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Coachman Inns in Oak Harbor, Washington is a good place to stay. The staff was courtious and polite. The room, 222, was well kept. The lodge was clean and always available. I recomend calling ahead, I imagine this inn fills quickly. I had no issues at this inn. The only mild inconvenience was the loud jets from the nearby naval base. Yet, that's not the inn's doing and they do need to practice. All-in-all, thumbs up for the Coachman Inns at Oak Harbor, Washington.

Room Tip: #222 was a nice one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.0 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#4 of 6 in Oak Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
21.3 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn & Suites

Property: The Coachman Inn & Suites
Address: 32959 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coachman Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing