We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to respond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coachman Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I am responding to the review that Doug J wrote, I cannot address his room but I was there when he checked in. We all had to wait as there was so much going on in Oak Harbor that the motel was full. I was in line before him and I did not get my room key until after him.. I did not mind as the staff was doing all they could. He was so rude to the girls at the front desk that I was embarrassed for him. I know that there was a delay in getting our room keys but I do feel that the staff did all they could to get us into our rooms. There was no rudeness from the front desk when he became so nasty. (I would have told him to get lost) We will always stay at the Coachman. We stayed at the Acorn the night before and paid $189 before tax for a room half the size and a muffin for breakfast. Our breakfast at the Coachman was the best and I do mean the best!!!!! Great place to stay and the staff goes over and above to make us welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for The Coachman Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

What we liked: pool, location, price, friendly staff.
What we did not like: dated furnishings; carpet, doors and walls looked dirty and worn.
What was just OK: breakfast, cleanliness of room.
Overall, an OK place to stay....we would probably stay again if coming to Whidbey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddie4bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

To begin at the beginning the front desk clerks were all horrible. They would not allow the AAA discount. We had a 1.5 hour wait for our room and did not get the room till 4:15. Could you say, "sorry"? We were put in a "suite" it was large but decorated by Grandma. The hot tub was cold as was breakfast. There were 3 garbage bags next to the front desk for two days (at least). We found the TV remote under the bed. The small dining table had chairs soiled beyond belief. My wife tried to take a bath after getting a chill in the hot tub. The water came out the color of diarrhea. We boiled water to brush our teeth. We got to breakfast early enough for cold scrambled eggs. As we checked out around 9:30 we heard other guests complaining about no food. They ran out. At check out, I complained about the bath water and suggested they not rent the room until a repair could be made. They blew it off. We paid full bore for our "suite" in this dump. Stay away... there is a Best Western a block away.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and check the water.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stumbled on to this hotel and could not believe all they offered at an amazing price but thought we would take a chance. When we got there we were blown away....we only booked one night but ended up staying 3 and really whished we had booked our whole holiday here. So peaceful, so beautiful, excellent service, the room was awesome, we will definitely come back here again. One of those gems you want to tell everyone about but also want to keep your own little secret! I love this place....serenity plus. Everyone was so kind, helpful, and very friendly. You will never find a better deal than this. Rooms very clean as well. So much I could say but hope you get the message and just go check it out..you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I gave this a very good not an excellent only because of the location. I do not generally like to stay in hotels in strip malls but in the end, we found the location ideal for traveling around the island. It was close enough to Deception Pass, the reason we came to the island.Also, the staff was excellent from check in to breakfast service. They gave us ideas and suggestions of what to do, how to get there and where to eat. The staff is very hard working, trying to make sure that every guest's needs are meet. The rooms are basic but clean with a small refrigerator, free WI- FI, etc. There is an outside heated pool, hot tubs, several laundry facilities( a big plus) and a variety of rooms to accommodate a variety of needs. They also provide a complimentary hot breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, fruit, cereal, and yogurt.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Arrived without a reservation at a fully booked hotel. Our receptionist called all places on & around the island without success. Eventually found a vacancy in the system - a nice room with 2 double beds. Made our weekend! All along staff were very helpful & friendly.

Skipped breakfast next morning & went to Greek restaurant next door.

We shall definitely stay there if we visit the island again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penzoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

One of the best hotel in Oak Harbour. We went for the july 4th fireworks in the Wind Jammer park and was not disappointed. Bed rooms, Bathrooms and lenins were clean. Average standart breakfast (only scrambled eggs and waffers are hot). Safeway and Walmart is at the driving distance. Small pool for people to enjoy. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SatishKumarSuthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
75.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.0 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Oak Harbor
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#3 of 6 in Oak Harbor
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn & Suites

Address: 32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: £91 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Coachman Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing