We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coachman Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our kids gave us two nights here for a gift. We used them this past weekend, which was so beautiful. Great experience checking in. Really nice staff working the front desk! The room was large and really clean. It was a suite with a couch, chair, table and two chairs, and small kitchen. The only complaint was the bed. Way too soft! They need a new bed in room 130. It was nice to have an end room. They are dog friendly with large grassy area. They have a play structure for kids and a BBQ if you wanted to grill something. They have breakfast in the morning with eggs. Small but nice pool area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madge464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We found this hotel by going to Priceline, and let me tell you, we were not disappointed. Very clean, and the pool was perfect for our two grandkids. We loved that breakfast came with the hotel - and they had real scrambled eggs, sausage gravy over home made biscuits, and everything else. We were able to get a great deal on the room too for just $74 a night! And, they gave us a room with two beds (upgrade) for no additional cost. The people there are extremely friendly, eager to please and made our little 'get away' extra special. Owned by veterans; what a great find.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Coachman exceeded our expectations this weekend, allowing us to switch rooms (to an upgraded room) for free.
The heated pool is well-kept, then entire place was a delight to stay in. No regrets!
The ice cream that comes with your stay is amazing. Be sure to check out the You-Pick Strawberry patch just 5 minutes north, too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We originally reserved the cheapest room that you could possibly get. We arrived at the hotel around 11:45pm wearing are wedding attire. Without saying a word the front desk guy upgraded us to the room called the admiral for the two nights that we were staying. This room had its own Jacuzzi, kitchen ( stove, pots, pans, utensils, wine opener, and microwave), a table with four chairs, couch, two comfortable chairs, a porch and a shower and a comfortable California king size bed. We both really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Coachman Inn for two nights. Our suite had a full kitchenette with dishwasher, bar fridge, pots and pans and a full set of dishes and cutlery. Our room also had a small balcony which would have been nice to sit out on in the evening but the weather was too chilly. Everything was clean and well maintained, and the staff are friendly and efficient. An outdoor pool is available although we didn't use it, and the grounds are well-maintained and quite attractive with trees and shrubs creating a welcoming environment. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would stay there again. The only downside is the complementary breakfast that they provide. There was a reasonable selection of food but I found almost everything to be of the lowest quality. The cereals were terrible, including the hot oatmeal. The only thing I enjoyed was the small containers of Yoplait yogurt. If I had known how awful the options for breakfast were I would have brought my own and eaten it in our room or gone to a restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorramS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed here two nights. The room was clean and a nice size. It had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker & DVD player.The continental/hot breakfast is average, (no pastries, just blueberry muffins) the coffee was just warm. The bed was a little soft for me. The mattress pad and fitted sheet seemed too large for the mattress and kept bunching up. Maybe time to replace the mattress.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed overnight at the Coachman Inn on April 26. I had a LivingSocial offer and we had never been to Oak Harbor. The desk staff were friendly and efficient. It is a very nice property, our room spacious, with two queen beds and a kitchenette. The pint of ice cream presented at check-in was a delightful touch and very tasty. Everything was sparkling clean and well-maintained. The only noise factor we noted seemed to be from the shower or some other rushing water source in an adjoining room, but it happened only a few times. My sole complaint concerns the breakfast provided. On the day we were there there was scrambled eggs with diced ham, and a large vat of sausage gravy. We do not eat pork in any form so were unable to partake of the hot breakfast. We had a biscuit and piece of toast and departed. It would have been nice to have some plain eggs offered, since the sausage gravy also contained meat for those who wished to partake. We would definitely stay there again, but not depend on the motel for breakfast. We would either prepare our own in the room or go elsewhere. All in all it was a very good experience and one we could recommend to others.

Room Tip: 431 was on the second level, a view of the parking lot, but no noise from SR 20 on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
75.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.0 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Oak Harbor
151 reviews
21.3 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn & Suites

Address: 32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: £94 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coachman Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing