We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coachman Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
kwbundy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

The hotel was alright. Beds a little hard. No problem with the front desk. They even had fresh brownies, and cookies daily. A few fly overs but it is close to the Air Base. Breakfast standard cereal, rolls, and waffles. Laundry on site. Fridge came in handy, bathrooms clean, without mold. I would stay there again. We had a problem with the wi-fi, from the room, but the computer in the lobby worked alright.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwbundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    103
    48
    7
    7
See reviews for
96
96
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Found this hotel/motel on this site. We went to beat the heat in Seattle as the place showed AC and a pool on its website. As we drove up, we saw that the photographer was extremely gifted as the pool looked good in pictures but was little more than a caged hole next to the office. Reception person was gruff and abrasive. Room did not look like website pics but was OK and the air conditioner kinda worked if you cranked it up and left it on listening to the constant rattle.
We won't be back...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

Coachman is great for the rates they charge, which are usually lower or within a few bucks of the other good hotels on Whidbey, and the Coachman gives more. We've stayed here more than a few times and found their rooms pretty big, with mini-fridges and granite bathroom countertops, super-helpful front desk clerks, and a really good free breakfast. The owners are local and obviously care lots about their hotel and the guests.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edebohls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

The Coachman Inn is not a great resort with all sorts of bells and whistles, but as for a place to spend the night it is as good as it gets. Very often people with a grudge writes great stories about how bad this are, but far to seldom does the satisfied guests express their satisfaction. My wife and I all the way from Vermont are very satisfied with our stay at this Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

This hotel is locally run, and we've stayed there a few times, sometimes extended. The kitchens and bathrooms are remodled with granite and it is a surprise since from the outside you might not guess it. The staff is alright, depends on who you get. I reserved a suite but was given a room but we didn't mind since it was for one night. All doors are exterior and it was convienient for us since we had pets.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank MandieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

The hotel was acceptable. It had a fairly clean room. There was a little graffiti behind the large tv that hadn't quite come off. The tub had a lot of mold. It wasn't crawling with roaches but it could have been cleaner. The thing that bothered me is they weren't very nice when it came to my pet. They were skeptical of me as a dog owner and how capable I am. Despite the $20 pet fee they still were not quite sure about my dog. They were not respectful when I discussed this. The staff was quite rude. And after asking for a single bed for me and my partner, they put us in a room with two beds. I am completely unhappy about our stay there.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerlil120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

We seem to never get a great Motel room because we smoke and we have a
little dog, but this motel caters to everyone. We called and booked a room here for two nights, but wound up staying 3 nights. When we arrived to check in, they had not booked a smoking room for us, so not
only did they upgrade us, they did not charge us for the upgrade.

First, the Coachman is a beautiful Motel and well laid out. We were thrilled to find the room spacious, and extremely clean! Usually your pet/smoking rooms are not like this, and normally you do not get nice bedding, carpet, etc. This motel is the exception, you are not treated
to a second class room here! (Either that, or I cannot imagine what the "nice" rooms would be like!!!)

Our upgrade was to a kitchenette room, it was so cute!! The queen size bed was very comfortable, had four pillows, and a white comforter, maybe down, I am not sure, but the bed was cozy and wonderful. There was a couch, nice size table and two chairs. The lighting was great in all areas of the room. Adequate bathroom with large fluffy towels plus an array of soap, lotion, shampoo, hair dryer
etc. Our room had an ironing board and iron. We did not need anything else. The carpet was clean and felt good.

Close by there are plenty of restaurants including fast food.

I can't say enough good things about this Motel and the staff. Anything you want or need...they listen and help. They were all very friendly. The Continental Breakfast has a good selection and will fill
you up in a very nice atmosphere.

If you are going to Oak Harbor on Whidbey Island I highly recommend The Coachman Inn.

  • Liked — Price, clean and very comfortable.
  • Disliked — No TV guide
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.0 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
21.3 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn

Property: The Coachman Inn
Address: 32959 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocme to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing