We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to hang your hat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auld Holland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auld Holland Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Kennewick, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to hang your hat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

The room we stayed in was nice. It reminded me a lot of an old ladys house. Smelled the same too. It was clean, but queen size bed was more like a double. I had no problem with the noise from the street could not hear it at all. The breakfast was just as promised "light" . All in all it was a nice stay somewhere to sleep that is clean.. Not romantic, but good enough to spend a couple nights at!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melysa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    25
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
24
30
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Excellent price-quality relationship. Advantages: free internet access, king size bed, old but clean room. Disadvantages: room facing the main road, therefore quite loud. Poor breakfast. A little bit of bread for the eggs or with some marmalade and butter are not expensive and would have made it a continental breakfast. Otherwise, the treatment was accetable. Highly recommended: stopmat the brigdes of deception pass before entering Oak Harbour and plan a trip to whalewatching starting from Anacortes (reservation recommended). Good pub restaurant nearby: the Flyer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100 Mile House, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

An old motel but reasonably clean(carpet stains show it's age). Nothing fancy with very basic breakfast but for the price you can't go wrong. Single glazed windows don' help with lots of traffic on nearby highway. Jets practicing till late at night are part of Whidbey island and have to be expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jager41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We would certainly stay here again in light of the cleanliness and very competitive pricing. That having been said, if you're finicky about modern furnishings or having a firm new mattress, or if a robust complimentary breakfast matters a lot to you, you might want to spend a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I arrived a little late as we were at a class and I was unaware that the office closed at 10:00 pm. I immediately apologized for checking in late and was very polite. The FIRST thing that I was told was that "this is not a party place." I was really embarrassed, borderline offended. I then explained where we came from and where we were going - which I felt like I needed to do so it would be known we were not here to make trouble. I should NOT have felt obligated to tell our personal business. Even after my explanation I was told "Well we tell this to ALL our guests, the first call is to the police." Really, you tell that to ALL your guests? Parents checking in with children?? Out of towners, foreigners? I'm sure that is NOT how you greet THOSE guests. I don't believe that my I.D. was looked at, even though I presented it, but I am a 35 year old woman. I am not a teenager, not a hooligan, not a trouble maker. I am a local and professional in the town of Oak Harbor. I was embarrassed. I really feel the comments that were made to me were unnecessary and my behavior in NO way indicated that I was there to cause trouble. I won't stay again and I will share my story of how I was treated with others here in town.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DdiZZle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oak Harbor hotels

Priest River,Id.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed here for one night as I had business in Oak Harbor the next morning. The price was good(65.32 for a double) and had no problems with check-in. The room was clean, plenty of towels; the road noise was fairly loud during business hours but quieted down after 7-8:00.
The only thing I was disappointed with was that my husband had left me a message and the desk did not forward it, not a catastrophe but... A small array of breakfast foods were offered; cold cereal,sweet rolls,beverages and there was a 1-serving coffee maker w/coffee in-room. All in all nothing special just a decent place to sleep!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I can't remember how many years it's been since I paid $69 a night for a hotel. At least 10. What you get at the Auld Holland Inn is a large clean room with comfortable beds and all the basic amenities including free wifi (which I did not use, so I am unable to comment on its reliability). On top of that, breakfast is included. Nothing notable there; cereal, juice,coffee, hard boiled eggs and cinnamon buns, but adequate. If you are fussy or demanding, you may not find this hotel to your liking. It's not luxurious but you have to consider what you are paying. I had no complaints. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I did not hear any noise from neighbouring rooms, but the hotel was not heavily booked on the night of my stay. The rooms are located very close to Highway 20. I don't beleive there was a lot of night time traffic but I wore earplugs as a precaution. I found it slightly inconvenient that the wash basin and mirror were situated in the main room rather than in the bathroom. The addition of a mirror in the bathroom would have been very helpful and would permit two people to do their grooming simultaneously instead of taking turns at the single mirror provided

This is the perfect spot for the budget conscious traveller. It would make a great base if you want to spend a few days touring this beautiful area and visit nearby Coupeville, Anacortes, La Connor and Port Townsend. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank room41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.0 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Holland Inn

Property: Auld Holland Inn
Address: 33575 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8744
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auld Holland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world & European design & architecture, rooms are designer decorated & feature antiques - 8 mi from Deception Pass State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Auld Holland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Holland Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing