We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oldie but a goodie”
Review of Auld Holland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auld Holland Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife an I stayed for a night and we were upgraded to the suite. It had a jacquzzi! It was awesome! The hostess was very pleasant and generous. I would highly recommend to people that don't mind old style furniture, clean rooms and friendly service.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank turtleman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

In an effort of full disclosure, I worked at the Kasteel Franssen many years ago, which was owned by the same family that owns the Auld Holland Inn. I must say it is a faded version of it's old glory, but still a lovely piece of property over-all.
I stayed on a Tuesday and had no reservations. The front desk was helpful and even upgraded me to a bigger room for the same price, which I thought was very nice. The hotel had maybe 6 cars in the front lot. The room was clean and huge. The furnishings were homey and antique. Which I prefer over formica and IKEA style furnishings. The bed was comfortable and the room had a kitchenette.
I heard no road noise, but the wall heater was like a white noise machine.
I would stay again. It is a great room for the price. Somehow Oak harbor has become ravenously expensive and uglier in the past years. Basically, the town is a huge concrete strip mall. Thankfully it is close to everything lovely (Deception Pass, Coupeville, beaches).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piercedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a small town motel which is friendly and clean. Room was a bit dated, but that is part of the charm if you like antique type furnishings. If you want new and sleek then this is not the place for you. Room was very clean (spotless). We stayed in room 215 with a King bed which was very comfortable (mattress seemed pretty new). Breakfast was more than we expected - cereal (2 cold types and 1 hot type), boiled eggs, pastry, coffee, orange juice, and milk. The noise from the freeway really wasn't that bad - we have stayed in much much worse and louder locations. Overall a nice stay. Pool was closed but looked decent.

Room Tip: Ask nicely at the front desk and if they can help you then they probably will. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetterBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Don't stay here....
heater is SO loud, fridge is SO loud, and don't forget the cars zooming pass through the night from basically the street that's RIGHT beside your bedroom door. The beds are so uncomfortable, worn out from their usage, it tends to to be bent in the middle. So if you're sharing a bed, it'll be as if you are sleeping slanted, both heading toward the middle. I know you get what you pay for, but this place is not even worth what I paid for to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our room was clean but the antique chairs were uncomfortable, and there was no other place to sit, the bed was comfortable and I slept great. The staff was friendly and made some good suggestions for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Inexpensive stay in character inn but owing to older style accommodation there was very little protection from noisy WA Rte 20 just outside window. Bed comfortable, room clean but rather dated yet at least made a change from usual chain motels. Breakfast indeed very light but welcome was friendly and homely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chymron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Room was clean and comfortable. Most reasonable price in Oak Harbor. Definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't need anything too fancy. Noise was no bother from the road. Convenient place to stay if heading to Anacortez or as we did, took the ferry from Coupville to Port Townsend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packerfan0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.6 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
343 reviews
2.0 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Oak Harbor
151 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wildwood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Holland Inn

Address: 33575 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8744
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range: £80 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auld Holland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique "Old World" charm on beautiful Whidbey Island. Our rooms are cozy and quaint. They feature wonderful antique furniture, that give every room a personalized feel. Stop by for a visit and meet our superb staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Auld Holland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Holland Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing