We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and great for one night while traveling.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

My family stayed one night at this property. Clean and friendly spot following a day of whale watching. Well stocked "pantry" for food/beverage needs with 24/7 coffee. The building construction is not solid on the 3rd floor. What I mean is...just walking across your room floor or kids excited to be in a hotel sounds, transferred to the guest rooms below too easily. Would stay again without question.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WFN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We ended up at the hotel last minute for the night after leaving another that we had booked for a romantic anniversary that was very dirty and disappointing. We arrived and they were very helpful, went up to the room and it was very updated, well decorated and clean, had a huge kitchen area, very comfortable bed and seating at the table along with a great recliner chair and flat screen TV. We were on the top floor and even though are room looked onto the main highway it was a very quiet night.
It is also right next to the China City Resturant so you dont have to drive anywhere for dinner if you like chinees food, it was an excellent meal and drinks. Would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: top floor facing west, great sun set over the Olympic Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Our first time at a Candlewood Suites and it was like a brand new building. The room was surprisingly clean and fresh. All fixtures and appliances were like new and within a very spacious suite. The bed was the most comfortable we had slept upon in years.
The "Kitchen Cupboard" is a great idea and helps with the convenience of a in room breakfast. The use of several outdoor Bbqs is great too. The service was quick and courteous. Most importantly, no surprises.
We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouldingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here on a business trip through WA. We both got a queen one bedroom suite. The room was clean, the carpet, appliances, tv, bathroom etc were all in great shape, I was disappointed that they didn't have an ice machine (you have an ice maker in the fridge in your room, but if y ou want ice now - you have to wait)

Front desk was accommodating. It's a nice place with no frills or extras. Just a clean nice room. The Best Western next door has a pool and more stuff you can do.

Overall, great place if you bring your own fun, food, beverages.

Room Tip: When you check in, ask if it is their best rate - I saved $20 with this simple question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulT60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

To me, this hotel came off as cold and institutional despite its having some good qualities. The reasons are the decor throughout, which resembles that of a hospital, the noticeable smell of cleaning soap, and the hospital-admitting-room appearance of the lobby.

That said, my third-floor room was good in many ways despite its plain appearance. The bedroom was quite large, as was the bathroom. The room had a wood-floored kitchen area with a refrigerator, stove, sink, microwave and dishwasher. The carpeted living area had a large and firmly comfortable bed, arm chair, writing desk and TV console. The hotel has three floors and is located on the north end of Oak Harbor. It has an exercise room and laundry room.

All things considered, I would look for a more inviting hotel next time in Oak Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank glendale-member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Wife and I went kayaking this weekend in Lake Campbell, and Pass Lake. It was a rare warm Seattle day, and the island was alive with boaters, swimmers, and visitors to Deception Pass. We decided to stay at Candlewood for two reasons. 1. We knew it was the newest hotel in the area and 2. I have a lot of faith (and points) with the Holiday Inn brands. We checked in at 5pm Saturday behind another couple. The phone was ringing off the hook, and the poor girl was getting flustered. She was the only one at the desk. I told her to help the people on the phone, and it seemed to never end. Checking in after that was just fine. We received a top floor room (an automatic perk of having membership at most chains) and a cute little gift bag. The staff could not have been any nicer in spite of the horrific phone issues.
The room was spotless, and decor was just fine. The room has a complete, albiet, dwarfed kitchen with everything a kitchen at home has inside. Microwave had a bowl, and a popcorn, and there was a bottle of unopened water in the fridge. bedding is wonderful, and in spite of what others have written, thermostat and air conditioning worked well. The bathroom is well appointed, clean, and had the usual amenities, but in a farly large size. Very nice for those of us who take these items home. In the room was a la z boy leather chair which was very clean, and very comfortable. I knew upon arrival there was no pool, jacuzzi, or breakfast. The work out room was very clean, well outfitted, and ready to use. We peaked at the laundry, and it too was very very clean. A business center near the small lobby is outfitted with two terminals, and a very good printer, all in working order. The night we were there, must have been a special "pet" night, as we noticed many guests had pets. I am really not a fan of hotels which allow pets, and usually make sure it is not their policy. It isnt so much the pets, but pet owners that bother me. A good example was the pet owner waiting for the elevator that allowed his leashed dog to stick his nose right on in there (if ya know what I mean) and did little to pull it back. Instead of throwing a fit like I normally do, I simply acted injured from this dogs intrusion, and scared the owner a bit. I will say I heard no barking, and could not smell any evidence of pets either in the room, or the grounds.
Aside from the pet policy, I give Candlewood high marks in all areas. At 126.00 dollars a night (a Saturday night in the summer no less) I found it to be priced right. I have stayed at the Coachman, Best Western, and, yes, even the Acorn Motor Lodge once. I will stay with this Candlewood Suites on my next overnighter as well. Have fun, happy travels!

Room Tip: Always be a member of a chains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Check in was friendly and efficient. There's not much of a lobby area to speak of.

Based on previous reviews, I got a top floor room and had no noise issues. The hotel was only about 1/2 full, if that. The workout area and laundry are well-maintained and they have a little outside deck and barbecue area (too cold outside for me, though!)

The plus - I was very pleased with the room. Spacious, clean, updated decor, comfy bed and pillows, plenty of towels, and the kitchen was a big plus and pretty well-equipped.

The minuses - No breakfast provided. They have the Candlewood pantry, which is an honor system tiny convenience store with some microwaveable items and cold items. It's an interesting concept and it's great if you get in late in the evening or just want a snack and don't want to go out again. But I think I'd still prefer to have the breakfast setup like most extended stay hotels do. To have the pantry in addition to the morning breakfast would be great.

Another drawback is weekly maid service instead of daily. If you were there for a week, your room would be a mess. My trash cans were pretty full by Day 2. ( I was only there for two days.)

You really get the feel of being more in an apartment than a hotel. They're charging extended stay hotel prices but not providing the amenities that others in the price range do. I'd stay here again, but wish they're provide a little more in terms of services, or else lower the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleElikapeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
277 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
343 reviews
21.4 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor

Address: 33221 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: £98 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor Extended Stay Hotel Offers Comfortable Accommodations Travelers to Whidbey Island can enjoy our Oak Harbor hotel's beautiful location in Northwest Washington. We are conveniently located on Highway 20 with easy access to area attractions. Vacationers to our Whidbey Island hotel can enjoy beautiful outdoor attractions, while experiencing many indoor activities. City Beach Park and downtown Oak Harbor are in close proximity to the hotel. Other attractions that are less than a half-hour from our accommodations include the Admiralty Head Lighthouse, Meerkerk Gardens, Fort Casey, Deception Pass, Ebey's Landing and several different ferry services. Business travelers can easily access local businesses and corporations from our Oak Harbor hotel's convenient location on Whidbey Island. Businesses within 10 miles of our hotel include Whidbey General Hospital, Whidbey Naval Air Station, Labcorp, Northrop Grumman and Boeing NAS Whidbey office. Our all suite hotel in Oak Harbor makes you feel at home with a variety of choice amenities. You can enjoy convenience with complimentary laundry services and an on-site store with entrees, snacks and drinks when you're tired of eating out. Other amenities include complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, a business center and a fitness center. End your search for the perfect Oak Harbor extended stay hotel by booking your reservations with the Candlewood Suites on Whidbey Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing