We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag”

Esteban's Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 85 Restaurants in Oak Harbor
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I so wanted to rate this place with a higher rating, because the staff was super friendly, good service the decor nice,and the entire place immaculate..EXCEPT..when I opened my menu it was filthy..as in the entire menu was splattered with salsa that hadn't dried yet. The older gentleman server (Mr. Esteban, perhaps?)was apologetic. The menu was varied, the chips and salsa were good-chips appeared to be homemade. I had an avocado tostada which was a huge disappointment. Two thin slices of Avocado,and the tostada was not appealing to look at, everything kind of dumped on it and the sauce they drizzled it with was not the same as the salsa on the table. Out of the 100's of tostadas I've eaten over the years never saw one that looked like that. I've eaten in plenty of Mexican places over the years due to my husband's heritage and I would rank this one at the bottom. $2.75 for a soda is high, the prices overall were high for the type of food. To be fair, I would try it one more time and see if my opinion would change given it has decent reviews.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hands down the best Mexican in Oak Harbor!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The service is on the pretty slow side, but it is hands down the best Mexican food on Whidbey. Not the best Mexican food EVER, but definitely the best on the Island. We will definitely be frequenters of Esteban's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAJG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupeville, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“ok food”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

the food is decent, but its a little bit on the expensive side. i have never had any problems with the staff and they have always been extremely helpful

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful chili verde”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Hadn't been to this restaurant in some time so was pleased to find the quality of their food and the service had not declined. The chili verde was excellent as was the chili relleno, but the true test is the homemade salsa... very good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whidbeyIsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfecto Mexican meal experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Fast service began with HOT chips and unusually excellent salsa. We shared a huge serving of arroz polo that was totally delicious as was their margarita. Having eaten hundreds of Mexican meals, this one was at the top of the list. We'll definitely return when in Oak Harbor.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d_squaredSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esteban's Restaurant also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Esteban's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing