We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go there”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shakti Cove Cottages
Kelso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We tried to see the cottage we rented a week before we went there. They would not let us, said they were all full, (on a tuesday) altho no cars were by any of the cabins. came back a week later to stay, got our keys and then went to a family dinner, came back around 10pm and went in to an awful smell. damp furniture and bed, and mold about an inch thick on all of the windows. We did not stay. came back the next morning and asked for our money back, at least for the 2nd night and they were very impolite as they informed us it was against their policy to refund, and we should have looked at the cabin as soon as we got the keys. We will definitely be contacting the health department, and filing a report with the appropriate agency regarding renting cottages with such a health problem. You should definitely look before renting.

Room Tip: Don't go there.. Not healthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    6
    1
    0
    7
See reviews for
14
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a fun place to stay. Not your average hotel sameness and cheesiness. It is reminiscent of the old, homey cottage rentals. Nothing fancy, gently used. Great location. If you want peace and quiet and privacy...and bring your dogs...this is it!

When company comes and visits, we recommend they stay here. When we were first looking for our vacation home, this is where we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyd0glady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Horrid smells to great you when you enter, old couch from thrift store covered with sheet, musty bed with sheets so thin you can see through them. On cold nights, good luck because the heaters have little signs on them saying you will blow a fuse if you turn them on. Extra blankets in central location IF you happen to realize that you need them before host goes to bed. Floors were nice and polished and the bathroom fixtures were new but I considered the kitchen unclean and ill equipped. Please see pictures.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpolazola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed in this nice, pet-friendly cove over a long holiday weekend. The Cove is located on the Long Beach penisula about ten miles north of the more known & touristy Long Beach. It is not oceanview or beach view, but its just a short walk over the dunes to the waves and wind. The cabins are set in a circle and offer one bed, two bed and two larger units - the apartment that has fireplaces and the annex with doesn't allow pets or kids and is newer than the cabins. We had a one bed studio with a full size couch, small dining table, tiny bathroom and kitchen area with everything but a microwave - but they have a shared one in the office to use. The refrigerator was a small dorm style one - but good enough for our short stay.
Given it was so rainy for our stay, they also provided us with dog towels -which I thought was a nice touch. The little cabin had a cermaic wall heater that worked wonderfully and was welcomed during the cold nights.
There are lots of places to walk to from the cove including an espresso stand - important for we Washingtonians! There is also the Country Mercantile on the main road that is fun to shop in. Groceries and the coolest old-fashioned hardware area. It's amazing what they have in there. I bought some food and had to equip myself with a rain hat. There are several restaurants close by too.
It's amazing how much there is to do in this area! There is the historic settlement from 1863 of Oysterville, the cranberry musuem and farms, several state parks including the lovely Cape Disappointment and the hub at Long Beach which has festivals all year long. I've been to the kite festival in August and the sandcastle competition in July - both excellent and fun.
I can highly recommend four stops in Long Beach - the Cottage Bakery, Long Beach Coffee Roasters, Benson's by the Beach (breakfast all day) and Banana Books. Its a small shop but they ALWAYS have an excellent selection. I love this place obviously, so if you have any questions, please ask!

Room Tip: If you have more than two people and/or pets - a two bed cabin will give you a bit more room and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGoddessofAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy UT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed in the apartment which was great. It's the other half of the duplex the covekeepers live in. It has two fireplaces, separate bedroom and full kitchen area. Please remember this is an older place that is rustic so it's definately not your high end hotel but we loved the quietness of the "cove". We never heard the covekeepers so you don't have to worry about thin walls. It's just truly a peaceful, wonderful place. The walk to the ocean was short and through a little trail. We had our three Great Dane mixes with us and they loved running free on the beach and playing in the ocean. It's a peaceful setting. The only drawback is, the smell when you first walk in to the apartment which is the wet smell from the ocean. It's not overpowering just there. It sure wasn't enough to make us want to leave in fact we stayed an extra day. We will stay there again! The covekeepers are very nice, down to earth people who really care about the cove. They have great peach pie at the Oysterville Bakery if you want a little dessert!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Shakti Cove is a little slice of heaven. Please note that the experience is rustic cottage. Kitchens with basic utensils and very clean. The cottages encircle a sunny circular yard with picnic tables. Visit the website for pictures.
The cottages are secluded in a wooded setting but within walking distance of book stores, a grocery and restaurants.
This is a vacation for those that want to get away from it all but still have a tether!
A short walk through a pine thicket and then dune grasses reveal an amazing and often almost private wide beach. The Pacific Ocean is yours.
The cove keepers are amazingly friendly while respecting privacy. The property is very dog friendly and they have a good selection of movies for quiet nights.
Each cottage has a kitchen stocked with basic pots and utensils for cooking your favorite seafood stew.
I have been bringing my pup here for many years as a special treat. Running on the beach or sitting back and watching the waves. We recently spent Christmas at Shakti and were so pleasantly surprised at the beauty.
Highly recommended. Our favorite place on the Pacific Northwest coastline.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WatsonMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Great little funky beach cabins with kitchenettes. This is more like your grandparent's cabin than the Four Seasons. Clean, basic, rustic and very much inline with the character of Ocean Park. Walk the beach for 10 minutes to the Full Circle Cafe or get your WiFi fix (also a short walk) at Adelaide's, the little coffee shop and book store.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PDXtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Park
6.4 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
9.3 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campbell House at Klipsan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
3.1 mi away
The Surfside Inn
The Surfside Inn
#1 of 4 in Ocean Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
9.7 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakti Cove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakti Cove Cottages

Property: Shakti Cove Cottages
Address: 25301 Park Ave, Post Office Box 385, Ocean Park, WA 98640-4007
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Park
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ocean Park
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shakti Cove Cottages we have 11 separate cottages set in a semi-circle, nestled in a groove of trees. Each cottages has a kitchen with dishes and cookware.Located in the small town of Ocean Park on Washington’s beautiful Long Beach Peninsula, Shakti Cove is a little slice of Pacific paradise. Your relaxed retreat begins as soon as you drive onto the grounds. You can hear the surf from our secluded 3-acre grounds and the beach is an easy stroll across the coastal dune. The property is bordered by a quiet stream that looks more like a lake, frequented by ducks, heron and other birds. We have eleven separate cottage set in a semicircle and nestled in a grove of trees. Each rustic cottage from the 1940s has its own kitchen with dishes and cookware, cable TV and free wireless internet access. Floor plans include studio, one bedroom units and suites, and two-bed cabins that can accommodate up to six people. Pets are also welcome for an additional fee ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing