We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner expereince” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berry Patch

Berry Patch
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Ocean Park
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great dinner expereince”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Recently while staying at Long Beach we stopped in for dinner. The waitress was very friendly and had a good handle on running the restaurant.

The menu is basic and that is all we really wanted was simple comfort food and we found it there. The meatloaf was sooo good and my husband's haddock was breaded lightly and not greasy.

The only drawback was that there was no credit..luckily we had enough cash to pay but if not there is an ATM machine that can be used.

Would return again and recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pattertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A disapointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

On a recent trip to the Washington coast, my wife and I stopped by the Berry Patch for dinner. The service was good for only having one waitress. We ordered the combination seafood plate to share. We also had dinner salads and ice tea. The seafood was OK, but tasted more like the heavy breading than seafood. After dinner we were surprised to learn that they didn't accept credit cards. We had to use their ATM machine which added on to the bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crbVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“If you love mom & pop cafe's then get your nostalgia on at the Berry Patch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

The Berry Patch isn't a five star restaurant but it is a cute hometown spot. Decorated with 50s memorabilia you will be surrounded by locals who frequent the place for a quick bite or a cup of coffee and conversation. The menu features a variety of seafood local to the area as well as American classic dishes. On my visit I tried the soup of the day, the kielbasa with cheese and tartar sauce, and a side of their home cut fries (which I highly recomend.) The food was excellent and the service staff possessed small town hospitality and friendliness. Restaurant is family friendly so if you have little ones they will be welcomed with stacks of coloring books and special treats. But make sue you carry cash when you visit The Berry Patch as they do not take credit or debit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brandinm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed with some friends in Ocean Park for the holiday weekend. Went to The Berry Patch for breakfast. For a family of 4is the cost was 50$,and that included a tip.the service was slow to be brought menus and water.The waitress was the only one there, but she was friendly and laughed along with our group. The food was cooked fast and was large portions. The homeade jam that came with the toast was delish!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most people are right - home style diner friendly great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Being an oyster fan - return for the oyster omelette and fried oysters and oyster burger. People who complain about $10 - $12 for a seafood meal like the oyster omelette have no appreciation for opening half a dozen oysters to clean prep and cook in an omelette. Comes with hash-browns and toast with homemade jam. For those that think that isn't a $10+ meal - give me the name of a place to try and compare the prices to the quality. Been there when it was busy or virtually empty. Family has a cottage 3 blocks away on the beach - eaten there by myself or entire family every meal of the day - had most of their food. Usually something involving fresh oysters. Been there 50+ times and have never seen anybody send something back and never seen the staff anything but friendly and timely.

Sure, every restaurant gets busy and a waitress forgets your slice of lemon or side of cocktail sauce. But all in a nut shell and over 10 years of eating here on a monthly average - it is well above par for a good diner. Small, cozy, friendly, not to loud even when busy, and they have homemade things like pies and jams.

It is like the mom and pop stores we use to have before walmart and mcdonalds where we have adapted and accepted nobody cares about you anymore.

The Berry Patch - its a small family diner and they make you feel that way when you walk in - like you belong.

They'll take care of ya - and you won't leave hungry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berry Patch also viewed

 

Been to Berry Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing