We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”
Review of The Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sands Resort
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have a tip for the front desk, if your hotel is virutally empty, why put the only guests on top or next door to each otheer?
Also, a larger piece of soap would be nice and maybe an extra towel? The kitchen needs a sponge.

Room Tip: ask for top floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayrtuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesandsresort, General Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

We regret that your stay here was not as pleasant as it could have been. We do honor special requests for rooms which sometimes results in guests being grouped together even when the hotel is not at capacity. We have instructed our front desk agents to consider this when checking in guests and offer alternate rooms in the future. Extra towels, pillows and blankets are available on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for The Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days. It was very relaxing and we really enjoyed the privacy and our time alone. The front desk was very helpful in calling the quinault shuttle to get us back and forth to the casino...where, I might add Jake won us $500!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the non-water side of the resort
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeandsherry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Its Ocean Shores....not the best place to go but always a lot of fun. We go here every year on the annual MC ride in. The Sands is right in the middle of everything. Great location to walk to all of the events, stores etc. On the beach, Indoor and Outdoor pool. Rooms are average + but the staff really gears up for the MC event and makes all of us feel more than welcome. We only stay here when we go or we dont go.

Room Tip: 3rd floor for the view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cigars-in-Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is the second Thanksgiving we have spent at The Sands. The kitchen is very small, and yet I was able to make a full turkey dinner! The kitchen has the basics, (I brought some extras from home, baking dishes, siverware and knives) We love the cabin decor, the cozy living room, and especially the fire place! The kids loved the game room and the pool. The place isn't fancy, but clean, comfortable, and pet & family friendly. The perfect place to make memories!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a fire place!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annezk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

When we arrived we went to the wrong office as they have more than one. We were pointed in the right direction to the office by the pool. Every staff person we encountered couldn't have been nicer. The price was definitely right for us. Tax included it was less than
$75.00 a night. We were 4 senior ladies who needed to have no stairs and were accomodated with side by side first floor rooms, for 2 nights, across from the office which made it easy to get around, The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable, The bathroom had been all refurbished with tiled shower/tub and counter space. We did not eat breakfast there tho we did have coffee from the office several times. There was a microwave, coffee maker and a very small fridge in the room. I'm sorry there was no WiFi as that would make a difference if I stayed there again. It has been several years since my husband and I stayed at The Sands during clam season and the rooms seem to be nicer than they were then. We hit a beautiful 2 weekdays and one of the joys of Ocean Shores is that you can drive onto the beach which we did. Another plus with Ocean shores is that the casino has a shuttle which within a few minutes of the office calling for you they arrived and brought you back whenever you had had enough of the casino. Since it was the middle of October and not many people in Ocean Shores we ate at 2 different restaurants and shopped without the crowds of summer. Don't let winter keep you away. And don't be shy about staying at The Sands.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loanne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Of all 3 past visits to The Sands, this was the best! Not that they have control of the weather, but even that was wonderful! The room was given an off season discount and we weren't charged for bringing our furry son (dog). Rooms are always clean, which is important, though we never spend much time in the motel...we are there for the beach, shopping food and, of course, drinks! We did spend time in the indoor pool and jacuzzi this time which helped in our relaxation. Cannot wait to go back to visit. Thank you staff of The Sands.

Room Tip: Second and third floors will afford you an ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesandsresort, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I and our 3 kids stayed here for our first time and will definetly be coming back soon. It was our best vacation of the year. The room was cozy with a real beach feel to it. We stayed in a room with a full kitchen which was very functional with the kids. The kids really enjoyed the indoor swimming pool. The game room was really fun for all of us, they kids played a round of air hocky while my husband and I played a game of pool. Overall this is a really neat place to stay with good prices. When my son was asked to draw a picture at school, he drew the Sands Resort with our family standing in front and said it was the best vacation ever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores
Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores
#5 of 14 in Ocean Shores
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Address: 801 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Price Range: £65 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort has accommodations for groups and families of every budget, we offer a fun and easy getaway at an unbeatable value! Enjoy our breathtaking ocean views, take a relaxing sunset stroll along the beach, play in the indoor and outdoor pools, and unwind in our hot tubs. We offer pet friendly rooms and a free daily Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Ocean Shores
Sands Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing