We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a face lift”

Murphy's Homemade Ice Cream & Fudge
Ranked #4 of 10 Shopping in Ocean Shores
Attraction details
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs a face lift”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Prime location in ocean shores but needs a face lift or at least clean it!!! My coffee ice cream was great but had mint in it from the scooper. The cases were filthy. It could be SO CUTE in there. Also dumb pricing to sell by the ounce.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AIRBICHEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    9
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good, but pricy”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The ice cream was delicious and is advertised as being made onsite which was nice. I was a bit confused by their pricing model, which is by weight as opposed to scoops. A double scoop waffle cone ran between $5-6 which seems a bit high, but wasn't a deal breaker.

The location is very close to the beach and was pleasant to take and enjoy while walking around town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
237 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream, Horrible Service - Kids tired of their job”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The ice cream from Murphys is very good and high quality Home-made Ice cream.
They have pretty good variety and selection. Why I am giving 3 stars is because of the service, There is no organization behind the counter - everyone is taking customers and the whole store looks very chaotic.
The kids that are serving the ice cream are looking very rude and unprofessional. They all were puffing and muffing - like we are not paying for the icecream.
I am not sure why there was no Manager in charge to straighten those kids up.
This is the only option for ice cream in the area and I believe this is the main reason this guys are still in business. People will not going to come back if the service continuous to be like this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jani_Vladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
394 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Way over priced!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Taffy and ice cream prices are way over priced for the tourists that visit Ocean Shores. This is not the best way to earn repeat customers. What a shame when people feel its necessary to take advantage of people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank USN_Seabee_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“WAY overpriced, rude employees better fudge and taffy elsewhere”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This place used to be pretty good! Now however, they seem to be no where near worth going to. Seems as if they interview their employees and only select those who can be as rude as possible. We felt like we were interrupting their social life. The most expensive ice cream in the state! Go to the local store and buy your ice cream there. You can get a 1/2 gallon of the premium stuff for the same amount as two scoops here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TheREALgregma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Homemade Ice Cream & Fudge also viewed

Ocean Shores, WA
Ocean Shores, WA
 

Been to Murphy's Homemade Ice Cream & Fudge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing