We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, food, and friends afloat!”

Ocean Shores Electric Boat Company
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun, food, and friends afloat!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Take your picnic aboard one of these charming boats and tour the inland waterways and lakes in Ocean Shores. As other reviewers have said, you can skipper these efficient boats or hire a captain. Do the former-tho boats are easy to drive and the waterways are well-charted. We've had a vacation home in OS for a decade, but still see new things every time we rent an electric boat. This is perfect for picnics-we potluck a wine-and-snacks meal and really enjoy time with friends. The boats are comfy, clean, quiet, and eco-friendly. Water and washrooms are available at the office before you cast off. There is plenty of room aboard for all your picnic things, and a long table-ish thing runs down the middle for setting up the snacks. If you prorate the cost, it's a very very good deal for a unique experience. We usually rent for 2 hours and have a blast. Do this!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank poetsrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Terrific Relaxing Experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nancy and Tom are the nicest and most accommodating people you will likely meet. They also happen to be the owners of Ocean Shores Electric Boat Company and we encourage you to take advantage of their electric touring boats. Our family of four (college-aged children), all enjoyed taking turns at the helm of our boat, motoring along the freshwater canals and duck lake. The boat itself is simple to drive (no boating experience needed, though helpful of course), very comfortable and seats many more than 4 (guessing 8-10). The boat is covered, but you can keep all sides open to the elements or close down panels as desired. There are tables so you can bring food/drink and picnic while you cruise. We saw plenty of wildlife and throughly enjoyed the start of a wonderful week on the Olympic Peninsula. We hope that this business will stick around for many years to come!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank worldexplorer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A beautiful way to see the canals”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My friend and I found Ocean Shores Electric Boat Company online and found the experience a refreshing way to spend a sunny afternoon. The owners, Tom and Nancy Kizmey could not have been sweeter. Because it was a holiday weekend, we could not rent one of their electric touring boats, but they set us up with a fishing boat that did the job for us. We enjoyed our hour on the canal and Duck Lake, then Tom was able to take us out for a few minutes on one of their tour boats. We would like to recommend this attraction to anyone spending time in Ocean Shores.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, California, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun little outing to do in Ocean Shores!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Called in the morning and got the last slot for the day to rent the electric boat. I opted to pilot the boat myself but you can also hire a captain for your tour. For one hour it was $80. The boat seats up to ten people, it is fully covered, padded seats, music, and is very smooth. Top speed is 7 knots so you can't go too fast, but fast enough to have a good time. It's pretty easy to operate yourself with no real experience. Kids enjoy "driving" the boat as well! Owners were present, helpful, and very attentive to their customers. I defiantly recommend this to all, they even offer electric paddle boats if you don't want the bigger boats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lakeside83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Outing”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We found a sunny afternoon in May and scheduled a boat rental with Tom. We also hired captain Chris (suggested by Tom) and enjoyed an hour on the canal and lake. Chris shared a lot of information about the area and taught the four kids how to drive the boat. Tom and Nancy are the nicest couple. We stayed and talked with them for quite awhile after our boat trip. Nancy and Chris shared other things we could do on our trip to Washington State. It was a reasonably priced excursion (80/hr) plus $20/hr for the driver. There were 8 of us plus our captain. We had plenty of room to move around. You can bring CDs to listen to and food to eat. The boat see through covering to keep out wind and rain if needed. Pretty views and scenery. The kids were excited getting to see a bald eagle.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Shores Electric Boat Company also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Shores Electric Boat Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing